From Chucky to Sleeping Beauty: The Many Faces of Lil Diva

When I gave my daughter the nickname Lil Diva, it was because at a very young age she demonstrated a natural talent for turning on the drama.

My son also possesses this ability, but has failed to learn the most important lesson: the sweet, gooey smiles will get you everything.

Lil Diva is a bit more savvy, withholding the non-angelic looks for me.

Sometimes she will even perform them on command.

You might recall how last year she was in a Baby Glare-Off contest. While she didn’t win, it made one thing obvious: her glare is on par with the evil Chucky.

Lil Diva does perfect Chucky impersonation

The resemblance is… unnerving. From 2010.

With age, she has only perfected her “angry face” (as she calls it) even more, and the resemblance is downright scary.

"Step away from the chocolate."

The key to the perfect evil look is a strong brow furrow, as you can see.

This face can appear if I dare take a photo when she’s not in the mood. It can also manifest itself by:

A) refusing to give her a cheesestick.

B) telling her to share with her brother.

C) politely requesting she attempt to use the potty.

D) explaining why she needs to lay down and it is unacceptable to run around in poop.

E) refusing to give her Rice Chex, “pee-nuss” (peanuts-the one word she fails to enunciate), or whatever snack she has decided she wants.

F) suggesting it is quiet/nap time.

G) telling her to make her “angry face”.

My 2.5 year old excels at performing hilarious angry faces.

“Give me a cheesestick or I might get angry. And you don’t want to make me angry.”

Not to be pigeonholed into one look—because teachers must only see her as a paragon of angelic sweetness—she has expanded her repertoire for the appropriate target audience and situation.

For the teachers and the grandparents, there is The Angel.

Lil Diva can turn on the sweetness.

What the teachers see. Quite the contrast, eh?

For her brother there is The Pirate.

The classic winking/pirate smile.

She has the squinty pirate look down.

For playing mommy to real baby there is The Proud Momma.

My 2.5 year old was so happy to hold a real "baby".

A huge fan of her babies, Lil Diva was thrilled to “hold” a real baby.

For gathering sympathy, there is The Poor Little Girl.

Could you deny this face anything?

This face will collect a hug at light speed.

For those who doubt her climbing ability, there is The Determined.

Climbing expert at 2.5 years old.

Too small last year, she proves at 2.5 she can master “The Lava Pit of Death” on the playground.

For those who want to snatch her laptop, there is The I Dare You to Try It.

Protective of the laptop.

Like mother, like daughter. Do not mess with our computers.

For the need for speed there is The Gleeful Dare Devil.

Lil Diva loved driving the mower at top speed.

She learned the need for speed while helping her Uncle drive the lawn mower.

For those who would steal her bubbles or try to help her, there is The Don’t Even Think Abouddit.

You do not want to try to take the bubbles away from a 2.5 year old.

“MY bubbles.”

For plotting what to do when I turn my back, there is The Conniver.

The Plotter...

This face can also mean “my diaper is no longer clean.”

For when she decides to turn on the charm, there is The Jedi Grin.

The almost 3 year old smile you cannot resist.

“You don’t want to put me down for a nap. I’m not the girl you’re looking for.”

Finally, for when her face is tired but she still wants adoration, there is The Sleeping Beauty.

You don't catch her sleeping much anymore.

When a skipped nap turned into “I fell asleep in my carseat and refuse to awaken”. It is very rare to capture a photo of this phase.

I just fear the day she goes from Lil Diva to Queen Diva.

We are in so much trouble.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Lil Diva and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to From Chucky to Sleeping Beauty: The Many Faces of Lil Diva

  1. Katie says:

    Wow, you’ve gone from complete radio silence to posting like there’s no tomorrow! I’m going to have to start scheduling time in my day for “Reading Kelly’s Posts”!

    Very cute, though. Her hair is so long now!

    • Don’t worry, I fly back to Texas tomorrow. I will no longer have copious amounts of uninterrupted time to blog.

      It’s more of the dam of writers block breaking, and the 100 ideas I had while I was away, plus new ones, coming to fruition during the one time I don’t have children demanding my attention.

      It is a bit surreal.

      But it will slow down, don’t worry. 🙂 I usually take weekends off, too.

      And yes, she still hasn’t had a hair cut. She’s almost three and lot of two year olds have more hair than she does. But there is less to tangle that way.

  2. John says:

    Yes – you’re in trouble. Lots & lots of trouble.

    Leila hasn’t quite worked out any face — she has her mood, and her face matches her mood (a poker player, she is not), but the concept of actually trying to put on a face for a specific reason hasn’t quite crossed her mind yet.

    we’re in a ton of trouble when she starts – because, when she wants something, instead of the tantrum face, when she plays the “all sweet & lovey” face, I’ll be useless to say no.

  3. Bri says:

    Such an expressive little girl!!! I love all those faces 🙂 I bet Daddy is a huge sucker for her!!

  4. jackiepcross says:

    Yikes…. that angry face is kind of scary! But she is really expressive for such a little girl! I do love the angel look though.

  5. I’m glad that your time in Canada gave you time to write. Don’t worry when you can’t. Just keep journals. Write the old fashioned way. And send me an email now and then.

    That said, you are in sooooo much trouble! 🙂 Hope to meet the Li’l Diva while she is still little!

  6. Pingback: Lessons From Ants: Rebuilding After The Storm « renée a. schuls-jacobson's blog

  7. Pingback: Will Her Evil Glare Rule Them All? | Dances with Chaos

  8. Robert and Johanna says:

    OMG, she’s a sweet knob – wish we had one like her! Even if your little diva were mute, everybody would know what she wants to express at every time…
    All the best for you and your family

    Robert & Johanna

Leave a comment