The Blue-haired Visitors.

A few months ago, we had some foreign visitors.

They were a bit…. odd looking.

We took them in, giving them a temporary place to relax on their journey to their new home: Canada.

More specifically, with Leanne Shirtliffe of Ironic Mom.

Her poor Things had a bit of trouble with their stylist.

Ahem.

So one night, as she lamented yet again about their new granny hair, I Googled.

I found replacements.

Only one problem: they didn’t ship to Canada.

Thing 1 and Thing 2 loved the warmer-than-Canada weather.

So they came to Texas, basking in the beautiful weather, taking time to play with my children.

"Dude, we are so not going to Calgary. They have snow right now. Texas has palm trees."

I told them of the snow covered Calgary.

They were not impressed.

So they languished, soaking up the sun and Lil Diva drool as Leanne wondered when I’d finally get around to shipping them to her.

Then summer hit.

The Things were not a fan of 100 degree heat. They begged me to finally fly them to their new home.

The dinosaur was the last straw.

Lil Diva tries to rescue them from the evil purple dinosaur.

“How do you want me to send them again?” I asked Leanne.

“Well the Canadian post is on strike so you’ll have to use FedEx or UPS.”

Lil Diva considers sharing her snack with Thing 1 and Thing 2.

Lil Diva accompanies me to send off The Things, then loses herself in bubble wrap and other packing materials while I sign my life away on the forms.

"I will miss you."

Come on customs. They are dolls. From Burger King. Do I have to tell you they have blue hair too?

They don’t tell me the price until I complete the paperwork.

“You have to be kidding me? It’s not like they’re explosive lithium batteries!”

Lil Diva cackles maniacally (it’s hilarious and a bit scary) as she disappears down another aisle and I pray she doesn’t destroy anything.

“That’s the only option to Canada.”

"Have you met Buzz Lightyear, yet? He loves to help friends in need..."

Next day air.

“Forget it. Shipping should not cost more than the Things you’re sending.” I grab the squealing Diva and leave for the UPS store.

Again, I sign my life away on the forms, the process taking even longer because the counters are open, and Lil Diva finds it hysterical to run behind and into their back office.

I lost count of how many times I apologized.

Finally the Things relax in their cushy accommodation, I remove the packing material from Lil Diva’s claws, take her out of the back area for the fifteenth time, and with relief hear that it will be half the cost of FedEx.

And off they go.

Now my son wonders where his Thing is.

I told him he can visit it in Canada next year.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Blue-haired Visitors.

  1. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    LOL!!!! Cute pics.

  2. Clay Morgan says:

    Nice! Glad to know some backups are on their way 🙂

  3. Pingback: Disastrous School Lunches | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

  4. Elena Aitken says:

    awesome! I had no idea you were sending in reinforcements. That’s excellent.
    great pics too.

  5. If only they could collect air miles. Thanks for all your work! Truth is, I almost cried when I pulled them out of the washing machine the first time. Then I laughed. I think I instant messaged you…

    I can’t wait to get pictures of you with them in Canada!

    • LOL. I have to be in photos? I’m not near as cute as my kids.

      Maybe if I borrow your search bomb hat and glasses…

      I know you were upset about it. Why do you think I Googled in the first place? 🙂

      Glad they arrived safe!

  6. And by the way, I think they’ll miss Texas, at least LD and The Tackler!

    • I wouldn’t recommend you or your children place them in your mouths though…Lil Diva gave one of them a nice drool bath while recovering from something… I can’t remember now.

      It’s another reason I made their time limited.

  7. Annie says:

    So funny! This makes me think of the Flat Stanley project my kids do in 3rd grade. Maybe you should just mail the Things around and we will blog the travels. Leanne, you have my address. My daughters dollhouse has fresh linens and the sheets are turned down, if the Things want to come stay. 😉

  8. Pingback: Thing 1 & Thing 2′s Excellent Adventure | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

  9. What an amazing journey! 😉 I love this chronicle Kelly! Hey, can you send me… 😉

  10. mairedubhtx says:

    I selected you for the Blog Love Award. Go here to check it out. http://mairedubhtx.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/blog-love/

Leave a Reply

