Poopapalooza

*Disclaimer: This blog goes into detail about the aforementioned Poopapalooza from weeks back. This is not for the faint of heart, those wishing to remain in blissful ignorance about what potty training a stubborn 3 year old boy is like, or those feeling any sentence that contains the words “excrement,” “crap,” “potty,” “poop,” or any other synonym of these should never be written.  Much less read.

You were warned.

I’m almost afraid to type this, as writing these words down is certain to come back and bite me in the butt in the coming days/weeks/months.  But the hope within me is too strong.

diaper pile

If only this pile would go away…

After 9 months of potty training… The fights. The frustrations. The battles. The dirtying more diapers than he did before we started training… I’m hoping that the use of diapers during waking hours will finally be drawing to a much needed and desperately wanted close.

However, he sleeps like the dead. I fear he’ll go to college wearing a diaper, because why bother to ruin a perfectly good bout sleep to walk the strenuous 30 feet to the bathroom?

But that’s a worry for another day.

With out further ado, I give you the Poopapalooza Blog.

You may be wondering, what the hell is Poopapalooza? You’re certain it has something to do with the excretory system but what differentiates this from every day poop?  After all, Everybody Poops.

Cover of

This book forgot to cover Poopapalooza.

Poopapalooza: (n.) 1. An event that occurs when a diaper leaks and the overflowing cesspool is everywhere day AND night.

2. Necessitates a change of clothes for the perpetrator, and at least one to possibly all of the following: caregiver clothing change, carpet cleaning, bath/shower for anyone in a 5 foot radius, cleaning of all items/coverings within perpetrator’s 5 foot radius, massive cleaning required for any other locations perpetrator visited before you realized Poopapalooza occurred.

3. Most common causes in babies are: illness, exclusive breastfeeding, & teething (or any to all combined).

4. Most common causes in toddlers are: illness and potty training or (heaven help you) both.

5. This event can occur with little or no warning.  Particularly if you forgot to restock the wipes. See: Potty Training Poopapalooza.

Potty Training Poopapalooza: (n.) 1. An event that occurs due to the trainee “holding it in” for a 2-5 day time frame, until finally a storm of stinky sh*t is unleashed day AND night for the next 12 to 48 hours.

2. Most likely to occur when trainee has disappeared from view for at least 60 seconds.  Likely places for the trainee to hide include but are not limited to: a corner, their bedroom, behind the couch, and the tubes found in playground equipment.

3. Will cause trainee to poop during the night, even though they haven’t in the 2+ years since they were baby.  Often it will get EVERYWHERE in bedroom as parental units are asleep and are not warned of situation until it is too late as trainee remains very, very quiet.

4. A set back in potty training that occurs about the time you are certain trainee has finally mastered it.

There you have it.  Poopapalooza.

Our largest event took place over the week of August 15th.  I’m not entirely sure (thanks to Mommy brain) of the exact days but there were three of them, most likely the days without a blog update as I was too busy cleaning up the mess Poopapalooza leaves in its wake.

The worst Poopapalooza incident was the 4 AM Diaper Filling, that I swear was executed while The Trainee was still asleep.

Then he rolled around.  On his bed (a mattress on the floor).

On the floor.

It was not pretty.

Luckily, I blessedly slept through this incident while CG woke up and took care of it (have I mentioned yet, how much I love my husband?). I became aware of the event the next morning when I found sheets and pajamas soaking in the various sinks throughout the house and giant stain on the The Trainee’s carpet.

There were several other incidents at night, within the first two hours of The Trainee going to sleep, where he once again Pooped While Asleep.  A mess was luckily avoided thanks to one of us still being awake at the time.

One of the biggest frustrations with Potty Training Poopapalooza are the night time events (as stated Potty Training Poopapalooza #3) as before becoming a Trainee, child did NOT Poop During The Night and had not for years.

Another is the Surprise Factor.

Surprise, Surprise

By the time you know about it, it’s too late.

You never know when Poopapalooza will occur….. until it’s too late.

Lil Diva, not to be left out in spite of potty training still far in her future, decided to hold her own Poopapalooza Extravaganza (see Poopapalooza #2).  The Up The Back or Down the Legs phenomenon is much easier to contain during its typical stage (when done by infants) than when the Perpetrator is highly mobile and already likes to create pictures on the tile with her spit up.

Or plop down on her butt onto all pillow-like objects (boppy, stuffed animals), regardless of her current state of cleanliness.

I wonder if there is a Poopapalooza Support Group out there.  Have others suffered this event, repeatedly, as I have?

When, dear lord, does it end?

It does end…. right?

——

A Few Notes About This Blog:

1.  I began writing it three days after Progress Had Been Made.  This meant a possible Poopapalooza could occur at any moment. While I was in the middle of writing it, A Set Back occurred following nap time.  Luckily, as I was awake and aware of it, A Poopapalooza Event did not occur at this time.

2. Since Mimi has been here, I’ve transitioned into Underwear Except While Sleeping Pattern. The Trainee had been doing well, minus one wet incident.

Until today.  Instead of telling his teacher at the gym child care, he remained in his favorite play place tube, and filled his underwear.

While very disappointed, my biggest thought was “Thank GOD today’s dump did not resemble the sizable potty donation of yesterday morning.”

Because that would’ve been a Public Poopapalooza of Epic Proportions.

Which is another story entirely.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Poopapalooza, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Poopapalooza

  1. mc6pack says:

    Like the definitions/parts of speech. Clever writing. I hate to say it, but they just get it when they get it. Sounds like he’s almost there, though. Just keep that pack of wipes duct-taped to your forearm.

    • Kelly K says:

      Thank you for the compliments on my writing. I’m glad someone other than the family enjoys it.

      Progress is being made on The Tackler front.

      However, less than 8 hours after this was posted, Lil Diva had her Poopapalooza and nailed her Mimi, several objects, and her Daddy.

      So it won’t be leaving my house fully for a while…

      I’ve found masking tape hurts fall less when pulling it off the skin versus duct tape. 🙂

  2. Mimi says:

    I think he’s doing great. Went by himself and said “come see, come see” in the morning, oops at the gym but again went #2 when he got home. Perhaps, from a Mimi’s perspective, the flu shot he had within 24-30 hrs made it more difficult for him to hold. I know I suffer from light flu symptoms one out of three shots. Hang in there, almost there.

  3. Bobbi says:

    I, too, have been affected by Poopapalooza. I still have nightmares about it… on the floor… in his pants… on his legs… on my hands.

    But he’s getting there. No one ever goes to college in diapers. Unless they’re being hazed for a frat. But that’s a completely different conversation we’ll have to have with him later.

    Nicely written 🙂
    B

  4. CG says:

    I should note: there was only a wet spot left on the carpet after the 4 A.M. poopapalooza. Dawn Ultra cuts carpet poop stains quite well because it has very strong grease emulsifiers. Use as little as possible since it takes forever to get suds out without a wet-vac.

    • Kelly K says:

      Oddly enough until you posted this, I had no idea what tool was used to clean up the massive overflow. Dawn Ultra, huh? I’ll be sure to keep a supply on hand.

      Perhaps we should invest in a wet-vac, hon?

  5. Jess says:

    Oh dear. SO much to look forward to.

    Good luck!!

    • Kelly K says:

      Yes, this is not one of things you really look forward too. 🙂 There are many other fun things that do help make up for the Poopapaloozas, as I’m sure you’re discovering each month.

  6. Pingback: Blogging with Children | Dances with Chaos

  7. Pingback: From Poopapalooza to PBW: Transitioning to a New Era | Dances with Chaos

  8. Paige Morgan says:

    Kelly! I loved reading Poopapalooza! My husband is also a middle of the night cleaner-upper – we’re blessed! I have less run-ins with Poopapalooze since my children are 3 and 6. But I have too many brushes with Peeapalooza and my son will not only go off to college in diapers for night, but I will pass his night dipaers to his wife!

  9. Lori says:

    This is GREAT!! Well written, definitely relatable and spot on!!! Thank you for sharing! I love your blog and am so glad I found you! 😉

    • Kelly K says:

      I just had a feeling you could relate very well to the topic. 🙂

      I am happy to say the that Potty Train Poopapalooza appears to be done.. for now.

      But my Lil Diva is teething, has a double ear infection, and is now on antibiotics. Take a guess at how “fun” her diapers have been today…

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. Thank you so much for reading! I quite enjoy yours as well. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Part 1 of The Murphy’s Law of Vacations: A Special Addition of “What the frak?” Friday | Dances with Chaos

  11. Pingback: You Can’t Make This Stuff Up | Dances with Chaos

  12. Jocelyn says:

    We use cloth diapers and I have found that they generally hold in the poop better than the ‘sposies we use when we go on vacation. There have still been some doozies, but none were of the propotion of the one that happened in a ‘sposie on a plane half way through a 5 hour flight to Jamaica. The man who was entertaining him while we waited for the tiny airplane washroon was so nice…I just wish he would have refrained from bouncing up and down a poopy toddler. I suppose he got his as well. I had a change of clothes for my son, but not a clean shirt for myself… Fortunately I was able to grab a shirt from my suitcase before the 2 hour bus ride to the resort. Why is Beaches so far from the airport? I thought it was designed for families with children.

    • We went to Jamaica for our honeymoon and luckily our resort (the non-children variety) was 30 minutes from the airport. We waved at a lot of planes but no long bus rides. I had no idea Beaches was so far away.

      Following an Airplane Poopapalooza, I now always pack a shirt for myself in a carry-on in addition to spare clothes for the kids. At this point, the bathroom changing would no longer be an option, as Lil Diva barely fit on the minuscule changing table then, and now she’s almost three. I’m afraid the passengers would have to watch me change her in the aisles.. Oiy.

  13. Pingback: Bribes, Pride, and the Hypochondriac | Dances with Chaos

  14. Pingback: Hot for Teachers | Dances with Chaos

  15. Pingback: Diaper Overflowing With Poop - DaddyLibrary.com

Leave a Reply

