Top 10 Reasons I’m Glad It’s Mother’s Day

Top 10 Reasons I’m Glad It’s Mother’s Day

10.  I have an excuse to avoid laundry.

9.    I can justify sleeping in and not get a guilt trip for it.

8.   I have a better reason to dine out than “I need to go to the grocery store because I forgot to meal plan again.”

7.  I might be able to go clothes shopping without having to drag a child with me.

6.  I’ll get to open my first Mother’s Day card my son made at “school”. And have lots of hugs from my children.

5.  I’m hoping to get some uninterrupted writing time.

4.  It is the day you have a Get Out of “Insert Whatever You Don’t Want to  Do HERE” by saying, “But it’s Mother’s Day!”

3.  It’s one day closer to my visit to Iowa – when I’ll get to hug my grandmother and mother in person.

2.  Chocolate. I’m sure there will be chocolate.

1.  It’s nice to finally hear and see appreciation for the Groundhog Day repetition the life of a stay-at-home mother encompasses.

—-

Share a favorite Mother’s Day gift you either gave or received.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 10 List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Top 10 Reasons I’m Glad It’s Mother’s Day

  1. Kristina says:

    Best reason? “Groundhog Day repetition” – totally describes the lives of SAHM/WFHMs. 🙂

  2. educlaytion says:

    Don’t forget the special treat of not having to do all those dishes too. They can wait until tomorrow 😉

  3. Kim Woehl says:

    Today is my son’s 16th Birthday. This is definitely a favorite gift that I have received.

  4. Annie says:

    The most interesting Mother’s Day “treat” I have received thus far is a constipated 3-yr-old. I also got a beautiful bunch of flowers and a bundle of hugs. 🙂

    How is it in all the Groundhog Day repetition there is never a dull moment? Kids rock.

    Happy Mother’s Day!!

  5. Leanne Shirtliffe (Ironic Mom) says:

    I got cold toast in bed. And I’m happy.

    Here’s to you, my southern friend!

  6. I LOVE number three.

    One step closer.

    Enjoy your day, Mama.

  7. Pingback: Do As Much As You Can… | Alison Amazed

  8. yes to #5! that would be grand wouldn’t it!

  9. Bellymonster says:

    Oh, #1 is PERFECT! What an excellent summation of what staying at home can be. Wouldn’t change it, but…

    Happy Mother’s Day, Mama!

  10. Jessica says:

    Mother’s day had better bring chocolate and lots of it.

    Happy (late) mother’s day to you. Hope you had an excellent day.

  11. Trish L says:

    I do love those homemade gifts and the numerous hugs. I love that without any guilt I let my husband do it all, yesterday. You hit the nail on the head with the Groundhog’s day comment. So true.
    Happy Belated M day to you. Hope it was great!

  12. I hope you had lots of chocolate!

Leave a comment