Paint by the Numbers Mother’s Day

"Mommy, I love pool time."

Mother’s Day was awesome.

Not the best ever – those involve actually seeing my mother and family on this day… and sticky rolls – but pretty darn good.

I tried to think of how to write about it last night, when boom.

The Wall.

Suddenly my eyes no longer wished to be open and all brain power ceased.

Luckily, as I woke up this morning, my dear Canadian counterpart, Leanne over at Ironic Mom, brainstormed the perfect sum up of how to talk about Mother’s Day.

I’m totally ripping it off her Mother’s Day By the Numbers, only with my numbers.

2: kids greeting me with smiles as I walked down the stairs.

1: effusive “Happy Mother’s Day” from my 4 year old

1: bowl of Frosted Flakes consumed for breakfast

1: batch of Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls missed that my sister baked for the rest of my family in KC

He could have easily gone another hour...

2: loads of laundry done because we really needed towels and clean sheets

80: minutes my husband took the kids to the park in the morning

1: blog post written but not posted because I need more photos

1: lunchtime meltdown from my Lil Diva as nap time hit early

3: blissful hours of nap for her

7: games of Candyland between my son and husband

0: material gifts received – none were expected

1: homemade card my son made at “school”

97: degrees Fahrenheit reached for the high

1: fabulous hour of family time at an outside pool

57:estimated times I threw dive torpedoes for my son

"If I can't swim anymore, I'd like your iPod."

6: times my 19 month old Lil Diva held my hands and “jumped” into the pool

1: Toy Story bucket Lil Diva really wanted to commandeer from another child

1: plastic fish that never left her hand

30: minutes to shower all of us

2: places called to check wait times for dinner

1: Italian place attended by the four of us and my mother-in-law

15: minutes spent waiting to be seated

A photo of me and He Who Would Become The Tackler four years ago on my 1st Mother's Day

3: loaves of hot bread I consumed on my own

0: meltdowns or children outbursts during dinner

1: forklift required to lift me out of my seat

1: new word taught to Lil Diva – “Happy” – to say to my mother and grandmother

45: minutes spent Facetiming with my mother, dad, and brother on my iPod

21: minutes spent Skyping with my grandparents

20+: hugs received from daughter

3: hugs received from son

44: minutes late to put my daughter to sleep

0: photos taken of me on Mother’s Day

10: PM when my body said “GO TO SLEEP!”

1: wet nightshirt discovered rolled up in the middle of the sheets as we made the bed

1: hour later, after my shirt was dried, I passed out – uncharacteristically early for me

I hope everyone else enjoyed their Mother’s Day as much as I did.

Now check out Ironic Mom’s post.

—–

Did you do anything special or have a favorite moment yesterday?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Paint by the Numbers Mother’s Day

  1. educlaytion says:

    Candyland AND water torpedoes? Fantastic. We used a forklift too.

    • My son loves the little water torpedoes. He’s getting quite good and swimming to bottom (in water up to his eyeballs) to grab them.

      Chutes and Ladders also might have been played…

      I could barely move after dinner…

  2. John says:

    Sounds like an absolutely lovely Mother’s Day, glad to hear it!

  3. I love the details. I can almost taste that bread. Making me hungry now. This may be the first time in recorded history you went to bed before me. No wonder I could find you on Google chat!

    Thanks for the shout. Glad you had a great day.

  4. Annie says:

    0 meltdowns is the best. Glad you had an awesome day!

  5. Kelsey says:

    Zero meltdowns with all that you accomplished? I’m in awe that your kids got on board for that one!

    I woke up and gave the little ones a heads up that it was my very special day, which they listened to in appreciation. But, this was too soon forgotten as we headed downstairs for breakfast and they both wanted me to poke the straw for the juice box first… As least the tragedy was justifiable…

    • Ah, the tiny battles that turn into a full on war…

      My kids were angels for me – not sure how they were for the husband during my absence. It helps when one slept for 3 hours and they both love the pool.

      Distraction is key…

  6. Ilana says:

    Ah… hugs and frosted flakes. Can it really get any better than that? Love that picture from your 1st mother’s day. And just be glad for that 3 hour nap. mazzy slept for 45 minutes while we were at lunch. So no real childfree relaxing time AT ALL.

    Happy Mother’s Day, friend:)

  7. Jessica says:

    97 degrees and the pool? That is crazy. I would have liked to been where you lived. We had snow today.

  8. kir says:

    Such a good day!!!!! So happy u enjoyed it, minus the sticky buns!

  9. Sounds like a darn good Mother’s Day! Zero meltdowns and hot bread = perfect day for me.

  10. Anastasia says:

    I’m glad you had such a great Mother’s Day! I want some sticky rolls too. ;(

  11. Sounds like a wonderful day. Glad you had so much fun!!

  12. Bruna says:

    You have the cutest darn kids ever! Mother’s Day is all those things and more for me too!

  13. Frelle says:

    loved the numerical peek into your day!! and a sweet bunch of pictures too!

Leave a Reply

