An Appliance’s Holiday Intuition: Friday’s “What the frak?” moment

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

My Refrigerator’s Holiday Intuition: Because It Knows. It knows today is one of the worst days of the year to decide to simply quit working because it falls in The Holiday Window: a period of time where you are guaranteed to not even have a repair person answer the phone for the next three days.

That’s right.  My house missed me so much while on vacation that it decided to throw me a little party.

And since today is “What the Frak Friday”, it concluded the very least it could do was provide me with blogging material while doing it.

Today was The Fridge’s day to shine.

It waited.  Patiently.

It waited until I fully stocked up on groceries after two weeks of being away.  Multiple gallons of milk. Yogurt. Eggs. Lots of meat. Fruit drawers packed to the brim.

Then, with no warning, no fanfare, it sprung its surprise on me.

This morning I reached into The Fridge and grabbed my son’s two Eggo’s – because that is what Mothers of the Year feed their kids for breakfast every day.

I found them. Completely thawed.

I kept a cool, level head (i.e. I nearly curled into a ball and cried while simultaneously cursing The Fridge).

I grabbed any groceries still remotely salvageable and raced over to my mother-in-laws to put them in her fridge.

CG confirmed the compressor was not turning on.

I called all but one repair place (whose reviews consistently mentioned how horrible they were).

I have yet to talk to anything other than voice mail.

Because this is A Holiday. Before A Holiday Weekend.

Unless you work for CG’s employer who observes New Years on Monday.

Which does not help me in my fridge repair issue.

I’m going to have to buy a mini-fridge.  Because I cannot be denied access to milk for two children under 4 years old.

I don’t even want to think of how I could buy a plane ticket with the money I just threw out in groceries.

How is it, that The Fridge not only knew I had just fully stocked it, but that it was A Holiday – cementing the evilness of its surprise gift???

Seriously… What the frak…?!?!

Have you had a “What the frak..?” moment lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to An Appliance’s Holiday Intuition: Friday’s “What the frak?” moment

  1. Paige Morgan says:

    Ugh!!! It sounds like your fridge also picked nighttime to die so that you would have no hopes of salvaging the other food or throwing a New Years Eve milks and eggs soiree!

    • Kelly K says:

      It was the meat that got me. You can’t risk bad meat and we had a lot in our freezer and fridge… And it was working fine the night before.

      I swear, your appliances know these things….

  2. educlaytion says:

    All I can say is that I feel for you. I’ve had more unnatural disasters than most people and they never get any easier to figure. Just think of something better and have a great New Years! Glad I started reading you in 2010.

    • Kelly K says:

      I’m trying to relish in the fact that no fridge space means no cooking dinner…

      Meanwhile waiting for the third shoe to drop while praying it won’t: toilets, refrigerator, and….?

      Awww.. thanks for the comments and reading my blog. I’m glad it gives you some enjoyment. 🙂 I’m glad I found yours too, even if I did help in the take down of It’s a Wonderful Life…

  3. Do you have an extended warranty on the fridge? They usually will cover any lost food too.

    But damn, your appliances hate you, eh? LOL

    • Kelly K says:

      Sadly no. The fridge is ten years old and I doubt any part of it is under warranty.

      Yes, sometimes it feels like the house is out to get me.. Especially on Fridays… Or holidays.

      I wish we had coverage for lost food… That’s was the part that made me want to cry.

      Cost of mini fridge (I could not go 3 days without milk for the kids), $75 in parts and a considerable amount of time from Computer God aka Mr. I Can Fix Anything If I’m Not at Work , and he claims it is fixed.

      Let’s hope.

      Thanks for reading!

  4. Ironic Mom says:

    Seriously? How horrible! Our freezer did something similar a few years ago (we inherited it with the house – it was bigger than most coffins. We paid someone to remove it.

    May 2011 – starting in a few hours – offer you better things!

    • Kelly K says:

      Yeah.. Not how I expected to ring in the New Year…

      Why would you need a freezer that big in Canada. Can’t you use your back yard as a freezer 75% of the year?? 🙂

      Oh the positive side, I don’t have Failure as a Mother Feelings for not cooking dinner because there is no place for ingredients… or leftovers.

  5. Ilana says:

    Oh, that SUX. Worse would be if you went away for the week and something happened to the fridge while you were gone and you came back to a completely melted freezer etc. and it stank to high heaven the second you opened the door. I wish I could say I didn’t know what THAT felt like.

    • Kelly K says:

      I have heard that whole “coming back from vacation and finding rotten food” really is the worst thing ever, so I should be grateful it waited the three days for us to return and stock up on groceries. I’d hope my neighbor – who was kind enough to feed the cats for us – would notice the stench and tell us…. but it’s all in the timing.

      Yes, I do not think that is every a smell I wish to inhale…

      I think it’s fixed now.. The repair people were all on vacation until today, and that gave the husband time to take it apart, diagnose the problem, and finally get a part for it today.

      Whether it remains “fixed”…

      Thanks for reading!

  6. Pingback: Regression Fail or Too Emotionally Attached: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moments | Dances with Chaos

  7. Pingback: Junior Mr. Fix-It: Tacklerism Tuesday | Dances with Chaos

Leave a comment