Regression Fail or Too Emotionally Attached: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moments

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

The Regression of Refrigerator Design: I bought my first appliance, my refrigerator, in 2000. It is now 2011. Basic math indicates almost 11  years have passed since I signed those papers, leading one to believe progress should have been made. The fridges of today should waste their 11 year old counterparts. Instead, it appears to have gone BACKWARDS.

So maybe this is my unnatural emotional attachment to an inanimate object talking but…

In August of 2000 I bought my first house, frustrated with the renting policies in my college town. It lacked one thing: a refrigerator.

I hunted for weeks, looking for just the right one, spending more in one place than I ever had before.

It was exactly what I wanted.

Fast forward to New Years Eve, 2010. THIS HAPPENS, providing me with perfect “what the frak” Friday material.

CG, the magic Mr. Fix-It Husband managed to fix it several days later – all the repair people “on holiday” for the long weekend.

Then we move forward to June.

I open my fridge.

I notice my ice cream is soupy, the pop ice is completely liquid, and the Eggos aren’t blocks of ice.

The freezer is only slightly colder than the fridge side – only pure water will freeze.

I call the most awesome appliance repair person ever (if you live in Austin area, I HIGHLY recommend him).

The news isn’t good.

“Your compressor is dying. You should just buy a new fridge.”

“But…. but… I LOVE this fridge. I brought this with me from Iowa, I love it so much. It has my cold milk storage!”

He makes a call.

“They will fix it for you, but you’re looking at it costing $750-$1000 to have it done, and there is no guarantee a $10 part won’t break in a few months that the manufacturer no longer carries.”

I sigh, not wanting to let go. “I’ll look at the new ones.”

I use two hours – while the awesome Bobbi stays with a sleeping Lil Diva – to haul The Tackler with me to: Lowe’s, Home Depot, Conn’s, Best Buy, and Sears.

They were quick trips.

NONE of them had one even close to what I wanted.

  • The classic “beverage chiller” (i.e. cold milk storage) which is my favorite feature? Removed from designs.
  • Split top shelving to adjust for tall or short items? Nonexistent.
  • Three drawers with a chiller (two for produce, one for meats)?Only in the designs with bottom freezers – just a BAD IDEA when you have a 20 month old who would open and remove the contents of your freezer. Otherwise the drawer I use for meat still exists, in theory, but with no ventilation, meaning the meat would be the warmest part of the fridge.

    Why I love my fridge: the cold beverage storage pictured with the opening leading from the freezer you could adjust as needed. Also: the split adjustable shelves and the three temperature controlled drawers. Emptier than usual because of predicted imminent death.

The three design features I love – no more.

What the frak?

I am left at a loss.

How is it this appliance has gone BACKWARDS?

In eleven years computer hard drives have gone from 60 GB being “huge” to over a terabyte  being “huge”.

In eleven years Blue Ray and 3-D movies showed up, and the iPod touch and smartphones changed our connectivity to the world.

And while it isn’t progress, gas has gone from UNDER a $1 in 2000 to almost $4 in 2011.

The world changes.

Usually progressing with technology advances and inflation.

Except with refrigerators.

It is impossible to locate an extra chilled compartment in a refrigerator for your milk, needed because when you don’t have one the milk tastes nasty after two days – thanks to being the most used item and thus located in the front and warmest part of the fridge.

And so I watch as my beloved appliance dies, ready to pay the exorbitant repair cost and have it with me a little while longer, praying the appliance companies pull their heads out of their a$$es before it fully dies.

Better then settling for something I’ll hate.

I’m not ready to say good-bye.

Is that weird?

Have you found technology regression anywhere else? Did you have a “what the frak?” moment this week?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Regression Fail or Too Emotionally Attached: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moments

  1. TheKirCorner says:

    Kelly, I understand. I do, there are certain things that I cannot think about not working anymore. I mean I hated when John switched us from TIVO to DirectTV, but I got over it when I realized I could DVR more shows. (that’s not a good example is it?) ..and our fridge is older than yours, it was John’s with his first wife and first house and it’s just a fridge…

    but I hate when USA cancels shows I love to watch, or Bath and Body works is full of fruity, flowery smells and they refuse to carry a COCONUT scented body butter all year long. I can’t stand when I go to pick up a shampoo or hair product that I loved the smell of and they have discontinued it…so yes I so, feel your pain.

    hope your new fridge makes you happy…eventually. 😉

  2. Leigh Ann says:

    Not sure if it helps, but when we were shopping for a fridge, we were told that the top shelf is the coldet and best place for beverages. So that’s where we keep all our drinks! But I’m no expert. You are definitely in tune with your fridge. i just put stuff in mine.

  3. While it’s not what I’d do, I wouldn’t say it’s odd! It’s nice to have consistent, reliable things around us, and we grow accustomed to having exactly those things on hand. It’s hard to think of replacing them even when the prospective replacements have about the same specs. So when you have to deviate even further than that? Yuck!

    • Yes, deviation from what you expect can be bad.

      A regression? even worse.

      I just don’t want to go back to a world with milk that doesn’t taste right – which describes my entire life before that lovely beverage chiller.

      I have found a fridge online with this feature, but it’s slightly different and I’m not sure how it works. No store here carries it and I won’t pay over $1000 for a product I need to see to tell if it will work.

      The hunt continues…

  4. Your attachment is not weird at all. Actually, quite a lot of manufacturers do this – install features on their products to suck us in, but then deciding they aren’t cost effective enough to retain in newer models. My first car actually TALKED to me to say “fuel level is low,” “door is ajar,” “parking break is on,” and so on. Funny how two decades later I can still hear that slightly disembodied female voice ever so clearly. As a newbie car owner, those clear directions were much more effective than the easily overlooked warning lights and irritating ding-ding sounds emitted by my current vehicle.

  5. Kid Id says:

    What a great post. This totally reminds me of my 1982 Datsun that died on me on a highway in 2003. I literally cried in the dealership office as I was signing the new lease. I replaced it with a Nissan. Nissan used to be Datsun, so it’s the same damn car. But it’s NOT THE SAME THING!!! I still miss it 8 years later. Best car I’ve ever owned.

  6. Liz says:

    It’s so hard to have something that works perfectly and then have to replace it. And it’s not like you can try before you buy….Good luck with the fridge hunt – hopefully one has everything you’re looking for. In the meantime, if you happen upon the perfect dishwasher that actually cleans, please let me know. 🙂

    • I do like my dishwasher, but I always rinse off the plates first… Otherwise we don’t dirty enough dishes it would get very nasty between running it.

      I had to buy a new dishwasher (even though old one worked) when a piece of silverware fell onto the button, got hot on the “heated dry” cycle, and melted a hole in the bottom of the washer. It didn’t go fully through, but it meant standing water you couldn’t remove.

      No way to fix a hole like that… So… new dishwasher.

  7. Oh Kelly, I wish you luck. Because the truth is this: new appliances are crap.

    Our old refrigerator (purchased 17 years ago when we first moved in together) is still in our garage and works perfectly. But the new HIGH END DIGITAL ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES fridge? Has already had to be repaired. After less than two years and also AFTER the warranty expired. Duh.

    Our washer/dryer set (also 17 years old) worked just fine. But for Valentines Day (yes, pick your jaw up) four years ago, my husband bought me a BRAND NEW MOST EXPENSIVE EVER HIGH EFFICIENCY set. We gave our old set away and it still works. Our new set? Has had to be repaired. More than once. Both the washer and the dryer.

    Then we remodeled our kitchen. When the guy showed up to install our BRAND NEW DOUBLE OVENS HOORAY, he glanced at our 20-year-old ovens (which looked like they came from the stone age) and said, “Your original ovens are better. All this digital stuff is so fragile. The more these appliances can do, the easier they break.”

    Amen.

    So sorry, sister. Really.

  8. Pingback: My Appliances Are Out to Get Me | Dances with Chaos

  9. Pingback: I am a Stay At Home Parent Failure | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

