Junior Mr. Fix-It: Tacklerism Tuesday

It’s no secret that my house has been up to no good lately – from busted toilets to  refrigerators that stop chilling the freezer but start freezing in the produce drawer.

I’ve been waiting for The Third Thing – because these things always come in threes.

CG educated The Tackler on the inner workings of a fridge.

Yesterday morning, my garage door ceased to work – the motor would spin but the chain refused to move.

The part is not something the store carries, it must be ordered online.

However, the SAME THING happened to CG’s side of the garage door a few months ago. After putting it off for months, he finally ordered the part after Christmas. It was delivered last week.

By then, the parts to his garage door motor were either eaten or maliciously hidden by the garage itself – preventing CG from actually fixing it.

Or maybe, the garage just likes me better and instead used its psychic powers to hide CG’s opener so the part would be available to repair my side.

Either way, Garage Opener Repairman has been added to Computer Guru’s ever growing list of Sh*t that Broke That Daddy Fixed (the toilet, the refrigerator, the ice maker, my mother’s stove top and oven, and the garage door) all within the last month.

The Tackler has closely observed CG’s actions and has even “helped” him repair some items.  He is fascinated that things Can Be Taken Apart.

Just this morning he was hunched over the toy vacuum cleaner, taking the various compartments apart with his tools.

The Tackler prepares to Operate on the vacuum.

Lil Diva tried to get her hands on his wrench.

Tackler: “No man, that’s my job.  You can look but you can’t touch!”

Me: “What are you doing with the vacuum cleaner?”

Tackler: “I need to take this apart.”

Me: “What wrong with it?”

Tackler: “It won’t turn on. I need to fix it and make it turn on.”

Me: “I don’t think it’s supposed to turn on sweetie.” – It does take batteries, we’ve just never communicated that factoid to him….

So much like his dad… only with more hair.

Some time passed as he muttered gibberish similar to what people do under their breath, but in a much more enthusiastic tone rather than the traditional unintelligible curses.

Tackler: (heavy sigh) “I don’t know how to fix it.”

Me: “That’s ok. It’s time to run errands anyway. You can finish fixing it later.”

While I love his interest in how things work, it does instill a small sense of foreboding.

Some day, I’m going to walk into my kitchen and find my microwave taken apart.

Or the TV.

Lord help me.

Has your child mimicked you or done something funny recently?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Junior Mr. Fix-It: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. marinasleeps says:

    My baby boy is his father’s splitting image. If his dad does it, then he does it. If my hubby is getting mad at the girls, then far behind you hear our son getting mad at them too in his baby gibberish talk.

    • Kelly K says:

      Tell me about it. I can almost hear my husband’s voice when my son is upset with me….

      I’m pretty sure my husband did take apart things at his house too… I know at age 5 he helped his dad rebuild car engines…

      I’m so screwed.

      • CG says:

        I took everything apart. Most of it got put back together, mostly…

        You are not allowed to get mad at him. Even if he breaks something because he is curious how it works (unless he throws it or uses other destructive force). Encourage him to wait until Daddy can help, or help him do it yourself. Learn together, don’t lose the pieces.

        • Kelly K says:

          It’s okay. I can get mad at you until you help him fix whatever he took apart. 🙂

          We will have to stress the We Only Take Apart Things That Are Broken and Only With Daddy’s Help rules.

          I’m sure you can find some broken electronics in the garage to work on…

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Junior Mr. Fix-It: Tacklerism Tuesday | Dances with Chaos -- Topsy.com

  3. CG is kickin’ ass. Well done.

    If Tackler can get some “plumber’s crack” workin’, that would be sweet. He’ll be able to fix anything then.

    Besides scratching themselves, nose picking, and swearing, my kids don’t really mimick any of my actions. Oh, and smoking.

    • Kelly K says:

      You have KAW, I have KAH.

      I’m not sure where that leaves us

      Now that you mention it, The Tackler does support some impressive “crack” if I neglect to aid him in the Pulling Up of Pants following a bathroom break….

  4. Tell me about all the chaos in my house and things I need to tackle. Your son is adorable with that can-fix attitude.

    Blessing
    info@workingmomjournal.com

    • Kelly K says:

      He did the same thing again tonight for CG when he got home from work. Such a proud father….

      Do even get me started on my To Do List. It’s scary.

      Thanks for reading!

  5. Elena Aitken says:

    So cute.
    My DS was the same at that age and he now at 8, has actually progressed to fixing things. Mostly they’re his own toys, but I’m holding out hope that he may progress to his father’s Honey-Do list soon.
    But the taking apart phase never seems to grow old. I actually save broken appliances for him to take apart.
    🙂

    • Kelly K says:

      Not bad for age 8… I sense much future potential.

      I am certain our broken appliances will meet with a similar fate – given CG’s reply to this post. 🙂

      It would be great to have another person working on the Honey-Do list…

  6. educlaytion says:

    Thinks to apply theory of disassembly to: DVD player, computer printer, actual computer, little sister. I’ve seen the pattern followed before.

    • Kelly K says:

      No disassemble….

      I do foresee many things taken apart in the future…. I just hope they’re broken before disassembled.

      I’m pretty sure he’s tried it on his sister…. Luckily she wears a super suit just like the baby in The Incredibles that is nearly impervious to …. everything.

      Either that, or she’s supremely stubborn.

  7. Pingback: Regression Fail or Too Emotionally Attached: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moments | Dances with Chaos

  8. Pingback: My Appliances Are Out to Get Me | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

