The Difference of a Year

If you’re visiting from Bees With Honey, welcome! If you’re curious about what I write about, some of my popular posts are: Top 10 Things Never to Say to a SAHM, Are Online Friends Real, Top 10 (Insane) Reasons to Want Another Baby, and The Surprises of Traveling with Children: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moments.

* * *

What a difference a year makes.

This year Texas is in a severe drought. We have been besieged by fires since Labor Day weekend when we finally received a break of having 80 days over 100 degrees.

Texas really needs a rain maker like Hermine this year.

As I read an article about the fires, Hermine was mentioned – the tropical storm/hurricane from last year, not to be confused with Harry Potter’s BFF.

I remembered writing a post about Hermine and reread it.

I was floored.

The dramatic difference is almost astronomical.

I recalled almost none of what happened, blotted from my brain.

I’d totally forgotten it occurred on CG’s birthday (Happy birthday!).

I’m so glad I blogged it.

Today, I enjoyed another day with my children, following the awesome day of Tuesday.

Where I rejoiced in every minute of being a parent.

Rereading about last year only made me savor this year much more.

Most of you didn’t read my blog then.

I think many of you might relate to the post: Hermine and the Banshee.

Because last year, it wasn’t pretty. Or fun.

Here’s to CG having a much happier birthday this year.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Difference of a Year

  1. We forget so much, it amazes me! Glad you are off to a better year. May CG have a happier birthday this year. I hope you are nowhere near those wildfires.

    You aren’t, right?

    • The fires have popped up all around me, but the worst is about 45 minutes away.

      Wednesday morning the air was a haze of smoke, from lack of wind and inversion of the atmosphere. It was like standing in campfire smoke.

      I have never been scared of a fires in the city before. Until now. Trees are wilting like flowers, leaves are turning brown (leaves don’t change here until Nov/Dec), the grass is perfect kindling.

      We’re at the point where flooding would almost be welcomed, because the ground and lakes need it so badly.

  2. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    Happy Bday to CG!

  3. Annie says:

    It is amazing how we forget certain things.

    Happy birthday CG!

  4. Shoot, I’m ALWAYS forgetting something and it’s usually right after I think about it! HA! I won’t admit to how long it takes me to get out of the house because I keep going back in for something I forgot!

    Happy Birthday CG!

Leave a comment