Prolific Procrastination Leads to Accolades – How I Inconceivably Won Awards for “Style”

You like me! You really like me!

Those that know me in person, are laughing right now. I’m not talking a halfhearted tiny chuckle either, but full blown “you’re going to make me pee my pants” hysterics.

 

Style is not my middle name, and if it was, I’m pretty sure some government branch would demand I change it for false advertising. Or sue me.

Still, three other bloggers were kind enough to boost my self-esteem and award me the Stylish Blogger Award over the last several weeks: Thirsty Magnolia, Amy from Life in the Trenches, and Marianne at Comedy of Errors. I should also mention that while I was on vacation, My Pajama Days also mentioned my blog in an as-of-yet unnamed award where she was supposed to list 10 bloggers she enjoyed that week.

I’m pretty sure it would’ve stopped at one award, but my prolific procrastination at “paying it forward” was aided by the first award appearing on the eve of leaving for our ski vacation, followed by an avalanche of “what the frak” blogs after two weeks of stomach virus, The Cough, and other cold symptoms plagued my household.

The good news is, the light is at the end of the tunnel. I think.

Please check out these fabulous women who are kind enough to read and comment on my journey with chaos.  They not only make me want to be a better writer, but: provide encouragement toward mommyhood survival and write excellent blogs of their own.

In accepting the SBA (in my t-shirt and that day’s pajama bottoms), I am supposed to write seven things you might not know about me.

1. I am a theatre geek and love performing onstage. I lacked “The Amazing” gene, but shined in two roles: The Wicked Witch of the West in Beanie and the Bamboozling Book Machine not the Wizard of Oz, and as Yasmin in Pentecost. This means I rock the “evil” or “holding people hostage” roles, and suck at “nice” characters. I’m not sure what this means about my actual character. The closest I’ve come to acting in recent years is attending a play last fall about boxing – and getting accolades from the director and writer of the play for my audience participation in chanting/jeering/cheering for the underdog of the play during an actual boxing-in-a-ring-no-winner-set scene – thus setting off a reaction in the rest of the audience. It was like touching the magic again, and I suddenly had dreams of going back to college – just so I could perform in a non-mommy capacity again.

2. I have only been intoxicated on Pixie sticks and Mountain Dew. I rarely drink alcohol: I hate beer, never acquired the taste for wine, and find excellent mixed drinks highway robbery. Alcohol makes me sleepy, not loopy, so I only have more than a single drink if I’m out dancing – and then I chase it with water so I don’t pass out. However, once in college I consumed two giant pixie sticks and rinsed them down with a Mountain Dew. The resulting sugar/caffeine overload caused me to: laugh uncontrollably – often falling to the floor in a heap gasping for air, and lurch about more than That Drunk Dude in License to Drive Who Stole the Caddy.

3. I love scuba diving, in spite of living for 26 years in an area as geographically far away from any ocean as you could get.  I was certified on my honeymoon in Jamaica – almost eight years ago. I haven’t been since, because Texas might as well be Iowa where “good scuba water” is concerned.

4. The only thing I think I have ever randomly won in my life – as in “our lucky winner of this drawing is…” – was a Terence Trent D’arby tape, for being the 10th caller at a local radio station. I credit speed dial.

5. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and brownies, enjoy most chocolate, but have never cared for any type of chocolate ice cream.

6. If I could only choose one teen movie – if stranded on a desert island with a DVD player, a TV, and power – I would pick 10 Things I Hate About You – overthrowing Sixteen Candles, License to Drive, and all other teen movies from the 1980’s. Why? Because its dialogue is wittier than most, I love the Taming of the Shrew story, the dad’s lines still make me laugh, and Heath Ledger is damn fine in that movie. It was the movie I watched at 11: 55 PM, 2:40 AM, and 5 AM when my newborn Diva wanted to nurse and nurse and nurse in the hospital.

7. My parents gave my sister and me an Atari 2600 when I was 7 years old. They declared this purchase was suitable to last me the rest of my life. I watched, envious, as every one of my friends received the initial Nintendo followed by all of its offspring. I finally “graduated” to the PS2 in college – thanks to CG and my love for Dance Dance Revolution and Grand Theft Auto.

In order to continue to pay it forward, I must nominate six bloggers for this award, ten if I follow the guidelines passed on from My Pajama Days.

In order to truly show the love, I am disqualifying any blog that has won this specific award within the last month to save them the hassle of writing yet another acceptance speech and an creating an additional spot on the mantle for proper display (it should be noted, this eliminated a huge pool of excellent blogs). Please click on the links of those that nominated me, because chances are, I’m a huge fan of not only them, but the blogs I shared the nomination with.

Here are my nominations for the Stylish Blogger Award:

  • Twinsanity – One of the first bloggers I ever “found” we bonded instantly over some of the more “you want to tear your hair out” motherhood moments. Her twins + 1 make creating blogging time a challenge, but it’s worth it when she let’s loose. She faced miscarriages and loss, and her three part series on finally becoming a mother is a must read: I’d like to return these babies please.
  • Slight Off-Balance – A full-time working mother of two, Paige’s daughter and mine are somehow twins separated at birth – despite my Lil Diva being several years younger. Reading her blog is like seeing into my future, as she writes about all the up and downs of parenting. She also hula hoops.
  • The Ten Minute Missive – Kristina is the least “mommy” blogger of the bunch topic wise – which can range from Valentine’s Day guilt, to wine for dummies, and farts, to educating the teens she taught about how great babies are.
  • The Twin Spin – A local blogger, I’ve actually had the pleasure to meet in person – she juggles twins + 1 with great sense of humor and is currently in the middle of blogging about 32 Rules that Sustain a (Mostly) Balanced Mom, based on a book of the same name.
  • A Day in Motherhood – She juggles three little ones and totally understands the meaning of motherhood chaos. She makes me laugh. She makes me cry. She has tons of giveaways.
  • A Daddy Blog – A fantastic view “from the other side” of parenting. Somehow he manages the perfect blend of poignant humor.
  • Maija’s Mommy Moments – One of the first blogs I discovered when I moved to WordPress, she shares the working mom’s perspective while raising her sister and her three little ones.

I know, that’s seven, but because I technically was named in a “You are supposed to name 10 blogs you enjoyed this week” as well, I’m adding an additional three nominees to the The Stylish Blogger Award.  Below are all blogs I have recently discovered and can’t wait to read more of.

  • Four Plus an Angel: I discovered her blog through The Red Dress Club two days ago and I’m already sucked into her world. She is blessed with a teenager, two triplets, one angel, and a rainbow baby. Reading this post gave me a whole new outlook on dinnertime chaos.
  • The Little Mumma – A newly discovered gem, thanks to Paige, she writes hilariously renditions of the more frustrating moments of being a mother. She probably covers more topics, but I’ve only been reading her for a week and I’m hooked.
  • Mommy Shorts – If I could grow up and be a blogger, I’d be her. Her blog is gorgeous, her stories can cause Mountain Dew to shoot from your nose (if you’re dumb enough to drink while reading), and the photos are priceless. Her recent post on what to do if a one year old has a temper tantrum really hit home.

The rules passed on to me say to accept this award you are:

  1. Supposed to link back to who nominated you.
  2. List seven things we might not know about you.
  3. Share the “love” and pay it forward by naming six other blogs you enjoy (or do ten like my other “award”).

Happy reading all, and thanks again to those bloggers who made my days by nominating me.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Prolific Procrastination Leads to Accolades – How I Inconceivably Won Awards for “Style”

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow, I am so honored, I’m so glad our worlds met this week. I can’t wait to read more and more from you.

  2. Leigh Ann says:

    *getting out list of who to thank*….I’d like to thank my pajamas, my hair that I washed last night and then slept on, and of course, my flip flops. I would be nowhere without my flip flops. Oh, and Kelly! Thank you Kelly!

  3. Aren’t you sweet. Thank you so much, Kelly! I’m honored. And I love your “things you might not know about me”. We have a bit in common. As it happens I’ve done something like (have to check my dive log) 90ish scuba dives from Saba in the Caribbean to Palau in Micronesia. And my wife has a degree in theater and acted quite a bit before moving to TV stuff behind the camera. I love Shakespeare… in fact saw Taming of the Shrew performed in the woods at the Buena Vista Carneros Winery one night (in Sonoma, CA)… well and at the Dallas Shakespeare in the Park, too. Oh, and my wife got high tasting cakes before our wedding, so I totally know what you mean. LOL. Thanks again, and have a great night!

    • I know people try to say the “sugar high” is a myth, but if you consume enough of it in it’s pure form, it’s worse than alcohol.

      And the crash two hours later – you’re lucky if you can walk.

      Thank you so much for sharing, it’s amazing how much you can find out you have in common.

      Totally jealous of all of those scuba dives, by the way.

  4. educlaytion says:

    Our childhoods have been tracking, but I can at least say that I moved onto Nintendo from Atari. I did have a paper route and bought the thing myself on layaway, but I didn’t have to wait until PS2 to make the jump.

    • Alas, no paper route for me: considered “too high risk” for my parents, much like the kissing scene in Top Gun.

      I used my baby-sitting money when I was 13 to pay for half of my school trip to France instead.

      Nintendo did not join my family, until I moved to TX and we bought an old Nintendo 64 from my future brother-in-law – solely to play Tetris.

  5. Awwww… Thanks Kelly! I L-O-V-E reading your blog and thoroughly enjoy the humour you bring to the chaos of motherhood.

    THANK YOU!!!

  6. bobbijaye says:

    Yeah, not much on that list I didn’t know. Then again, I’ve been at this getting to know you thing for awhile.

    If I ever get around to it, you’ll have another mention. Or maybe your writing blog. You’ve got good stuff there.

    Love you doll!

  7. Ilana says:

    Thank you so much for the extremely generous shout-out!

    I also feel compelled to tell you that I was a theater geek in high school, I’ve never understood beer (although I REALLY understand wine), I prefer all my ice cream flavors to be vanilla-based and the best (and only) thing I’ve ever won was a Star Wars action figure from a scratch-off card buried in a canister of QUIK. If it wasn’t for 10 Things I hate About You (which I thoroughly enjoyed but in NO WAY does it beat Sixteen Candles), I’d say we’d get along splendidly.

    • Agreed on vanilla based ice cream.

      Star Wars action figure totally trumps Terence Trent D’arby tape – I don’t think I ever listened to it once….

      Sixteen Candles is probably #2, so if we were both stranded together and each got to pick one movie, we’d be set.

      Maybe you can teach me about the wine thing.

      Thank you for making me laugh. Lord knows us mothers need it – some days more than others.

  8. Pingback: I’m Stylish?! « Slightly Off-Balance

Leave a Reply

