Space Ranger Monkeys – Tacklerism Tuesday

The sun dipped low in the sky as the perfect warn breeze caressed my arms, a blessed change from the blustery cold that had plagued us for weeks.

"Eeeeeee!"

I hunched forward, my index finger gripped tightly by Lil Diva’s tiny hand as she slid down the slide.

Moooooooommy! Look at meeeeeeeeee!” The Tackler’s voice cut through din of chaos on the playground as my eyes and neck went Exorcist to located him.

My heart did a small twist as I found him.

Perched precariously on top of the highest railing, he towered over everyone. The largest slide connected three feet beneath him – to break his neck should he fall.

His expression displayed none of the danger – or perhaps all of it.  His mouth was stretched in the widest Look at What I Can Accomplish grin – lighting the playground with his proud glow.

“I’m big Buzz Lightyear, Mommy. I need to climb up really really high.”

A different day and lower position - the Tackler still demonstrates he's part monkey as he climbs on the exterior of the railings...

The Talk followed – about all of the consequences that could occur should he fall.

I’m not sure much of it sunk in.

I swear I gave birth to two monkeys….

I wouldn’t trade my little primates for anything.

Did your child/ren do anything to scare you this week or make you believe you’d given birth to monkeys?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Space Ranger Monkeys – Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Leigh Ann says:

    I caught one of my girls climbing on boxes I had next to the couch, then moving onto the rocking horses that were lined up in between the couch and the wall. This is my daughter who trips over air, so I’m really lucky she didn’t fall much less break a limb.

  2. Katie says:

    Jake likes to take his little trike and stand on the seat to get into the kitchen drawers. He has a perfectly good (and stationary) stool right there in the kitchen, but I guess that’s not exciting enough.

  3. educlaytion says:

    That reminds me of the opening to that Superman movie when they are at Niagara Falls. Now, I know you weren’t allowed to watch just about anything, but neither was I and Superman movies were in play.
    Anyway, the kid climbs over the railing at the Falls and plays around with one hand grabbing the rail at a time. He falls. But Superman saves him. Buzz Lightyear would’ve done the same.

  4. Oh man… my kids are monkeys too!! They climb and jump and freak me out! Once my son throught he could fly right into the side of a bounce house… yanno, from the outside… he ran with both arms outstretched in front of him and he did this flying jump superman thingy of doom right into it. He was perplexed why he found himself laid out on his back! ha! I couldn’t help but laugh.

  5. Pingback: High Crawling Daredevil Mixed with Early Evolved Environmentalist: Tacklerism Tuesday | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

