Five Minute Friday: Here

Here the morning is perfect: bright sun, cool air, the barest hint of breeze on my skin as I walk outside. I savor it, knowing mornings like this will vanish for six months of summer. I want to pull out a chair and sit in a beam of sunlight, eyes closed and letting my mind drift where it may.

The silence reminds me of the too short window I have while my children are away. I see stuffed animals strewn on the floor and imagine my daughter’s smile, even though she hasn’t been gone an hour.

Less than three left.

Laundry. Dishes. Cooking. Forms.

Here piles of paper remind of bills to be paid, paperwork to fill out. I see the stacks and worry about my son and the following year of school. I am frustrated with the public school system—it knows it is broken but instead of seeking fix, it insists on doing the same each year. My son and the system are at odds and I worry.

Here a mountain of tissues rests at my side, reminding me I cannot inhale this morning or taste it—just see it. I long for the ability to smell again.

Here I grab these five minutes before heeding the call of Things to Be Done.

And in a blink, they are over.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Here

  1. Kelly K, I am following you back HERE from 5 minute Friday. What did I find HERE? — and adorable, fun blog.. Thanks for visiting me and leaving a comment..

  2. Katie says:

    Great piece. You make those 5 minutes sound so relaxing. Sadly, my morning was 40 degrees still when I left for work, but we don’t have 6 months of blazing hot summer either 🙂 Enjoy your few minutes of peace!

    • It’s supposed to be 93 today. I’m not ready for 93 yet. Or ever really.

      But “winter” was lovely…

      Friday morning is typically my one relaxing period, which it hadn’t been in weeks, with both kids off for Good Friday, then The Tackler home sick on the following one. When I get that five minutes, I have such a hard time decided where to start, so I find I really love this prompt to just get me to write, just a little.

  3. Oh yeah, this is a great snapshot of life. Totally true. I like your thought process on this one. Personal, yet I could relate. Thanks for sharing this with us at FMF.

  4. This is your forte, Kel. Keep writing for 5 minutes each week. You’re getting your groove back, girl.

    “My son and the system are at odds and I worry.”

    Newsflash: You will worry even when everything is going fine. That’s what momma’s do. 😉 Love you!

Leave a Reply

