House of Sickness Part 2: Stomach Virus Addition

Last weekend was a three-day holiday for us.

Which means something different now that my son attends school.

It means instead of having a few hours to myself on Friday, I had to find a way to entertain both children in a way that doesn’t bring the urge to lock myself in the bathroom.

Which I totally did. Find something to do, that is. Not lock myself in the bathroom. And I plan to blog about it.

Along with the tons of stuff we did on Saturday and Sunday (although really, it’s almost identical to THIS, only add one year to their age and update the photos).

The thing is, I can’t write about it. Not yet. It requires photo uploads and time to write. Something I don’t have because…

We are The House of Sickness Part 2: Stomach Virus Addition.

Lil Diva nailed two sets of sheets last night before midnight (and thus all of the waterproof padding) and spent the rest of the night camped on a pile of towels on the bathroom floor. The first incident required use of The Emergency Shower at 11 PM.

She punctuated the night with more regurgitation, this time thankfully strategically placed in the large plastic bowl that I refuse to allow further than five feet away.

All she downed at breakfast was juice.

Then she puked again, several hours later.

She ran a fever and napped, my only respite.

In between when she was awake, she’d scream how her tummy hurt. Or her leg.

I finally got her to take Tylenol, she’s perkier, and she’s eaten about six crackers that I gave her about every five minutes in hopes of increasing the chance they stay down.

Knock on wood.

Naturally, this comes after I made an after hours doctor’s appointment because the regular office was full because SHE WOULDN’T STOP SCREAMING.

Poor baby.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to keep The Tackler separate, because he’s been running a low-grade fever…

Bite me, stomach virus.

The Tackler hangs out on the couch with Pango the Penguin

No puking. Yet.

Please send good vibes my way, although at this rate, it seems like I only get a moment to blog when the kids are sick…

Stayed tuned for shenanigan tales. Hopefully soon.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

