I Need a Weekend to Recover from Easter Weekend

I need a weekend to recover from my weekend.

Easter Weekend By the Numbers

The kids re-supply our dwindling candy inventory.

2 – Outdoor Easter Egg Hunts – That’s right, not one, but two egg hunts were had on Saturday. The first one was at their preschool, the second at the park a few blocks from our house.

28+  Eggs Found –I didn’t get an exact count. Each one carrying sugary goodness, reminding me we still have Halloween and Valentine’s candy to eat….

Only popcorn was able to temporarily distract Lil Diva (and The Tackler) from the new candy stash.

2 – Bags of Popcorn – The first hunt supplied snacks and the kids proved they are definitely my biological offspring by devouring popcorn. I may have “helped”.

4 – Eggs Given to Another Child in Heart Warming Moment – The Tackler, in a completely un-Tackler-like move, noticed a child only had a single egg (I believe they arrived late). Without prodding or even a nudge, and completely of his own volition, he gave four of his eggs to the other boy.

I missed witnessing this, as I was with Lil Diva’s toddler egg hunting division, but to say my heart warmed and melted into mommy goo when I heard about his actions would be an understatement.

2 – Cheeks Face-Painted –Lil Diva just barely sat still long enough to receive a butterfly, while The Tackler went for an old favorite – the rocket ship. Neither survived the rest of the day’s shenanigans.

Face painting should be renamed "Stuff that ends up anywhere but the face". Still, the kids approved.

2 – Bouncy Apparatuses of Craziness –The second egg hunt also supplied two bounce “houses”. The kids completely ignored the playground and went jumping crazy.

When asked what his favorite part was, The Tackler replied, "The bouncing things!"

1 – Free Lunch – The second egg hunt also supplied free hot dogs, burgers, and side dishes for all who attended. The kids stopped bouncing just long enough to eat…. then it was straight back to jumping.

1 – Easter Bunny –Sure most people get the creeps from giant bunnies, but my kids shocked me by seeking him out and actually hugging the bunny. Lil Diva even went back for seconds an hour later.

The Tackler normally eschews adult costumed creatures, so his smile and hug for the Easter Bunny was shocking. Lil Diva's love? Not so much.

2 – Exhausted Parents – CG and I wanted nothing more than to nap following three hours outside. The Tackler remained energized and Lil Diva only slept 90 minutes.

1 – Failed movie attempt – I wanted to relax after the crazy day with pizza and a movie, but the kids refused to pick up until it was too late, eliminating the movie option.

1 – At Home Egg Hunt – The kids each had twelve (empty) plastic eggs. The Tackler hid them in one room for Lil Diva, while she hid hers in another for him. They loved finding the eggs, although each one (especially Lil Diva) wanted to show the other their secret hiding spaces.

And that was just Saturday.

Sunday was another story entirely.

1 – Family Bike Ride – The four of us hit a trail not too far from our house. Thanks to me sleeping in a bit and logistics of getting out of the house, it was 10:30 before we left. Forty-five minutes later, we reached one of our parks and let the kids run loose. We wisely anticipated the slightly-uphill mostly-un-shaded-trek in the full noon sun close to naptime would not be a good choice.

I biked home alone with the baby trailer in tow – the trek still taking me thirty minutes – and returned with the van.

11 – Painted Eggs – I found a “Volcano Easter Egg Dying” post and could not think of a more perfect way to decorate eggs with The Tackler. We took our baking soda paint, coated the eggs, and then poured vinegar all over them.

If Picasso decorated eggs... they still wouldn't like my children's recreations. But his wouldn't foam either...

So. Much. Fun.

I think we will paint eggs in the future, as opposed to my previous method of using dyes – it allows the kids to be more creative and even Lil Diva was very focused and into it.

2 – #Failed Peelings of Decorated Eggs – I didn’t buy my eggs early enough, so each egg peeled was not pretty. In fact, the only egg peeled to date without a hitch was the missing #12 – which cracked during boiling. I left it in the pot with the others, it cooked perfectly, and peeled like a dream.

Is it wrong I’m thinking about poking holes in my egg shells in the future?

1 – Silly Hose and Wading Pool –The afternoon was hot so we pulled out the spray hose and the wading pool. At first it was calm, then The Tackler’s buddy RT came over and crazy, giggling chaos ensued.

This was the tame portion of water play. The camera was not outside when RT came over and some serious water battles began.

6 – Homemade French Dips – Your traditional Easter fare it is not, but Bobbi was craving them, and suddenly, I could not think of anything more delicious. I’m pretty sure I moaned in ecstasy after dunking the sandwich into the au jus and then sinking my teeth into savory goodness.

Yes, they are that good when paired with Bobbi’s au jus sauce. Even Lil Diva ate most of hers. Though The Tackler first whined “I don’t want this,” once dipped into the au jus, I didn’t hear a single peep as he inhaled his sandwich.

3 – More In-House Egg Hunts – We had another hunt like the night before, followed by the kids hiding them for Bobbi and I, then Bobbi and I hiding them for the kids.

By the third round, the kids were wired, running crazy, re-hiding eggs, and the decibel level had raised several notches.

It was a wonderful weekend.

But I could really use a nap.

**Note** – I was not showing favoritism with the photos even though Lil Diva is more heavily featured. The egg hunts were by age and the kids rarely were in the same place at the same time when outside, so I was usually off with Lil Diva (and the camera) while my husband was with The Tackler.

* * *

How did you celebrate Easter weekend?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Need a Weekend to Recover from Easter Weekend

  1. You’ve got a lot of numbers. I attended one church service, went out once and spend my days in comfy clothes. Only yesterday I realized I didn’t even eat one egg.

    • In the years between college and having kids, that pretty much sums up the routine.

      That must be what a “relaxing weekend” is like. It has been so long, I’ve forgotten.

      I wouldn’t trade it though – shenanigans, giggles, and those smiles are so worth a few days recovering from exhaustion.

      But really.. not even a chocolate egg? There should always be some chocolate.

      • I know, it weirded me out too. I never had a year without any eggs. I can imagine it can be fulfilling to share those moments maybe even more than having a weekend with absolutely no outcome.

  2. Katie says:

    I don’t think I ate a single Easter egg either, and the kids were both sick so they didn’t either. Little Man usually loves chocolate eggs, but he took one bite and then declared that he didn’t like it. Because of the illness, I didn’t bother with egg dying this year either. But we did do an Easter egg hunt accompanied by a 45-minute train ride. I think that MORE than made up for the lack of other festivities.

    Hopefully next year we’ll be healthier and can partake in more of the traditional activities. But I think the train ride may become a tradition 🙂

    Glad you guys had a good holiday!

  3. Annie says:

    As you know, I had sick kids like Katie. Princess has pneumonia. It’s turning into quite a week.

    Love the picture of Lil Diva in her swimsuit defying gravity!

  4. To recovery weekends, I have this to say:
    Amen.

    Also, that story about the Tackler’s unprompted generosity? Spectacular.
    Good job, mama. (Because you know it’s because of you.)

  5. HOORAY, you! Love your photos and your words the creative way you recapped here! Love!

  6. I’m exhausted just reading this, no wonder you need a weekend to recover!!

    So much fun and joy!

  7. Pingback: House of Sickness Part 2: Stomach Virus Addition | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

