The Hunger Games: Gone to the Vampires

Rarely do I get excited about movies anymore. So many are rehashed, unoriginal, or sequelled to death when they should have been left alone.

And a movie based upon a book I love? I typically run in fear. Hollywood has shown time after time they will ruin a fabulous book by turning it into a movie.

The Hunger Games defies the odds, and I cannot wait to see it.

However, I hold no illusions about this being a date movie with my husband, even though he might enjoy it.

He doesn’t read fiction. Like, ever. He has no idea what The Hunger Games even means.

Nothing demonstrates this more perfectly than this conversation:

CG (the husband):Prometheous looks awesome!”

Me: “What is that again?”

CG: “Ridley Scott, the prequel that isn’t a prequel to Aliens.”

Me: “Oh yeah, right. It will either be awesomely spectacular or a hideous failure with great special effects. I really want to see The Hunger Games.”

(insert pause)

Me: “You know, The Hunger Games? The books are incredible.”

CG: “It’s about vampires, right?”

(insert my hysterical laughter)

My husband's idea of The Hunger Games.

My husband's idea of "The Hunger Games". Does anyone else's husband live completely clueless?

Anyone need a date to see the Hunger Games?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Hunger Games: Gone to the Vampires

  1. I believe I have seen a trailer. Isn’t it Lost meets Big Brother meets Darwin?

    • Um.. not quite. Think post-apocalyptic ruler of colonies demands each colony sacrifice a boy and girl (Lottery style) to fight to the death in a location of their choosing, while the entire world watches.

      So not Lost, but Big Brother + Gladiator + MadMax perhaps (a la Thunderdome…).

  2. My daughter is officially obsessed.

    She’s been making her own trailers and film clips from all three books every weekend with her friends for months.

    We’ve had tickets for the midnight showing on the 23rd for weeks.

    She has posters of Peeta and Gale hanging in her room.

    Bottom line: she’s a groupie. So I can only be so enthusiastic without looking (to my almost 13-year-old daughter) like I’m trying too hard.

    (But I can’t wait to take her and Jack to see the movie. Once-in-a-lifetime good stuff, I think.)

  3. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    Can’t wait to see The Hunger Games. I’m also looking forward to Prometheus, the Avengers and MIB 3. Yup love all the movies that are even remotely geeky.
    I’ll probably drag my husband to HG just to keep him current. He’d rather go listen to jazz. Can u believe it? 🙂

    • Yeah, never been a jazz fan.

      Give me sci-fi any day.

      It will be weird not having Ripley – I hope Scott has a new strong female in the movie.

      MIB 3 – really? I admit, MIB 2 is one I don’t think should’ve been made. They took an original concept, gave it an end, then totally changed the end (sort of like Alien 3 – just wrong).

      I do wish they’d make another Firefly movie… or bring it back to TV….

      • Trish Loye Elliott says:

        Yes! Serenity deserves a sequel!
        I loved the original MIB and sort of blacked out the sequel. I’m hoping number 3 is much better.

  4. My DH read The Hunger Games and wants to see the movie. However, he hurled the book across the room when finished. We both read it just after it came out. Neither of us knew it had a sequel, let alone a trilogy. He felt cheated when it didn’t completely end…

    • I think I would’ve done the same. I purposefully waited until all three were out for that very reason.

      As it was I couldn’t fall asleep after reading the first one, because I so badly wanted to start the second.

      My dream: I write something that addictive someday.

  5. John says:

    Oh, I love that photoshop — I’m stupidly excited for The Hunger Games movie. I think I’m going to try to find a babysitter Saturday afternoon for a matinee.

    • Why thank you – I did that photoshop myself. 🙂

      I might be desperate enough to catch a matinee while the kids are at mother’s day out… if the timing is right.

      It means I will likely go alone.

      But I don’t know if I can wait….

  6. lexy3587 says:

    hah – i don’t know, I bet the hunger games version of vampires would be way cooler than the sparkly variety 🙂

  7. I’m cautiously optimistic that the movie will be as good as the book. I hope it is.

    • It will be a challenge, given everything who has picked up the book was instantly sucked in and forced to read the entire thing while ignoring all else.

      Ahem.

      But I have hope. I think Katniss will be amazing, it is the rest of the cast I am not sure of .

  8. Katie says:

    These have been on my list but haven’t read them yet. Sci-fi, post-apocalyptic — definitely my kind of thing. Maybe they need to move up the list!

  9. We have two voracious readers in this house that are up on all the Young Adult fiction, so my husband is well informed. And of course he is married to me – he has been forced to watch all of the Twilight movies and we will probably go see the Hunger Games as a family…well, minus the youngest.

    • My husband never reads fiction. Like ever.

      If ever there was a series I might get him to read… it would be this one.

      Alas, another friend has taken pity on me and I have a date tonight to see the movie with her!

      I read Twilight – I did not see the movies. The acting clips I saw made me want to hurl…..

  10. Hahaha. Yes, that conversation could have been my husband and me. He refuses to read the books, but is going to the movie b/c it has action and death.

    • My husband hears “YA” and “Popular” and thinks “Twilight”. Which he would hate.

      Sadly it taints all.

      But that’s okay – I get to out with a friend tonight while he stays at home with the kids to see it!

      I don’t even need a baby-sitter… 🙂

  11. Love it! Sounds like exactly something my husband think and say.

  12. tulpen says:

    My sister is my date. I tried to get my husband to read it. He doesn’t read fiction either. After bugging and bugging him he asked;

    “Well. Is it about HUNTING? Because if its not about HUNTING, then I’m not interested.”

    Yes. I told him is was indeed about hunting. And he’s still not interested. But he might see the movie, ’cause there’s a hot chick in it.

  13. Boy saw it last night and said it was very true to the book.

    And that is to say, no vampires. 😉

    • It wasn’t too bad as far as book adapted into a movie goes – but some changes definitely bothered me.

      My biggest complaint is it has way too much “shaky camera” in the movie. I get it for action scenes to skim over the violence to get their PG-13 rating, but many scenes had no reason for it. Just because you can show 6 camera angles of one scene doesn’t mean you should.

      But no vampires..

  14. Pingback: The Hunger Games does not disappoint! Whew! Thank goodness! « nediunedited

  15. I went to see this last Friday and loved it. I haven’t read the books yet. You would think that if I start hearing a lot of ruckus about a series of books I would just go down and buy it. I did with Harry Potter and then it wasn’t until Twilight was on video that I said, “Alright let’s see what all the fuss is about.” and of course loved it. This is the first that I watched the movie first and now I am going to get the books.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Peace,
    Morgan (Dances with Shadow) 😀

    • I held off on reading the books (mostly) until I had a large block of reading time – forewarned it would totally suck me in (and it did).

      And now? I’m re-reading the books. I had to after seeing the movie. I just meant to reread the first book, but when you read that one, you have to reread the second… and..

      No wonder I haven’t been posting lately….

  16. Pingback: Stumble Saturdays #1 | Cirquedumot

Leave a Reply

