Time To Hide the TV

It has begun.

Tuesday I fumbled down the stairs in search of my morning caffeine and I saw this:

Total déjà vu .

Something is very familiar...

It gave me an extreme case of déjà vu.

I had a memory of this happening on February 19th:

I knew I had seen this scene before.

Photographic proof I was not losing my mind.... or still asleep.

I looked at my phone. It was in fact March and I had not traveled back in time.

I glanced at my husband, noticing the smile in his eyes, the twinkle of pride – and it was not for my bed-head hair.

“Why are you putting the easel together again?” I asked my son.

“Because I took it apart, Mommy. I wanted to see how it worked.”

My husband practically beamed, shots of light shooting out of his ears – though it might have been the glare of the too-bright overhead lights forcing my eyes to squint.

I shook my head, stumbling to the fridge for my caffeine intake.

I tried not to think about which items in my house needed to be locked away before my son attempted to dismantle them.

My husband found me after the reassembly was completed and told me, “You aren’t allowed to get mad.”

“Did I act mad? Nooooo…” We’d already has this discussion years before, my husband sharing his childhood of taking apart everything he could get his hands on – rebuilding car engines with his dad at the age of five. “But if he takes the TV or my laptop apart, all bets are off.”

If only there was someplace to hide the TV….

* * *

Has your child (or did you) ever deconstruct a beloved object? Did they (or you) get into trouble for it?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Time To Hide the TV

  1. I cannot think of even one thing I ever took apart. That might also be the reason I have to try real hard when changing a light bulb.

    • I can manage light bulbs just fine, but also never took anything apart.

      My husband however…. he was helping fix arcade games at the age of 16 while I stood by and wondered how the heck he knew what the parts were doing.

      I think my son might have inherited a bit of that. Word is still out on if Lil Diva did as well.

  2. lexy3587 says:

    My parents gave each of me and my sisters our own toolboxes when we were little – not plastic tools, but actual hammers and wrenches and measuring tapes, all with our initials painted on in some way. Surprisingly, we preferred hammering scrap wood together (or, the oh-so-entertaining yanking nails out once we’d hammered them in), and didn’t dismantle anything particularly important in the house. I’d rack your son’s dismantling as ‘creativity’ 🙂

    • That sounds like a great idea! Your parents were brilliant!

      I think we will do that once Lil Diva is past the “Ohhh.. shiny bolt/nail. I think I shall put it in my mouth and taste it” phase. She is much more oral than my son (who stopped mouthing things at age two, and I’d hoped to be past it by now.

      He is crazy creative. There is something magical about a child’s imagination. Bits of my own childhood are coming back to and I wonder when I forgot to really imagine – minus the characters that live in my brain.

  3. ocdtalk says:

    I still remember when I was around ten years old I received a pretty green and blue alarm clock as a gift. I took the whole thing apart because I wanted to see how it worked. My parents yelled at me for breaking the clock and told me to never take anything apart again………..and I didn’t. Good for you, for letting your kids figure out what makes things tick (pun intended 🙂 )

    • My husband made it clear before we ever reproduced we would be the “let the kids figure out what makes it tick” kind – mostly because it summed up his childhood.

      I do plan on instituting boundaries for it, especially as he gets older….

      Nice pun. 🙂

  4. Elena Aitken says:

    My boy takes EVERYTHING apart! He’s nine now, and it’s only getting worse. However, we do make a point of saving electronics or really anything for him to disassemble. Friends and family now do this as well.
    He has drawers and drawers of ‘parts’.
    I’m told my husband did this as a child too and now he’s a pretty successful computer nerd, SO…I’ll nurture.

    • We already have a garage full of that stuff, but my son will likely need a drawer too.

      You know, once his sister doesn’t eat small objects anymore….

      My husband also turned into a successful computer nerd with side of Mr. Fix-It – so I figure it is for a good cause.

  5. My son is the DISASSEMBLER.

    HIDE YOUR PHONES!

  6. My 8 year old grandson is the same way. Love the post! Stopping by from WOE

  7. Megan says:

    I love your blog! Found you through the Write on Edge weekend linkup. I will be going through past posts to catch up. My daughter is only 2 and my son 5 months, so we haven’t had to deal with anything being taken apart. Yet! 🙂

  8. My brother used to take EVERYTHING apart. He hated toys that didn’t have screws and therefore couldn’t be disassembled.

  9. That is so awesome! What a great shared moment for your husband and son. The stories that DW tells me about his childhood – building and creating with his brother and father – those are the moments that he carries with him and so will your son.

    • I feel a bit of a failure. When something breaks I will fall upon the oft used line “Maybe Daddy can fix it when he gets home.”

      Not that I can’t fix it. I probably could. My husband is just better.

      Besides, I have laundry to do… I don’t need to add to my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

