When Justified Impatient Stubbornness Condones Shopping

I have been known to be slightly stubborn.

My mother and husband are collapsing with laughter over the understatement.

So when I decided I wanted the ability to bike as a family, there was pretty much no stopping me.

A few hurdles had to be overcome.

Lil Diva at age two, lacks the leg length required to reach the pedals. I spent a few weeks researching bike trailers and seats, deciding to go the trailer route.

Then there was my problem: I didn’t own a bike and hadn’t for fifteen years – I’d been commandeering my husband’s bike since Christmas -making riding at the same time impossible.

I talked to a bike expert and learned what questions to ask.

I turned to the place responsible for furnishing half of my possessions, including our two vehicles: Craigslist.

After weeks of searching, I found the perfect bike trailer for Lil Diva.

A bike for me failed to appear. They were too big, too small, or souped up so much they were more expensive than buying new.

Normally I would be patient and wait, biding my time until the perfect one appeared.

Except I live in Texas.

Texas presents a small dilemma: April is equivalent to a northern June. And by June? It’s 98 to 105 degree heat for the next four months.

I wanted to be able to actually ride my bike after 10 AM.

Then last Saturday, I watched as my children “helped” CG hook up the bike trailer.

My husband's toolbox holds great allure.

You can't leave tools within reach, or they will "tune up" everything, just before the tools disappear for good.

Once completed, they loaded up and were off: the three of them riding together.

Without me.

Lil Diva was happy to finally join in, while I grabbed the camera at watched, still bikeless.

Left without a bike, I grabbed the camera... Meanwhile, my husband demonstrates the practical application of then 1980's "rolled jeans" look: it keeps the bike chain from eating your pants.

I bought my bike early that afternoon.

When Lil Diva woke up from her nap, we went to the park as a family and rode together.

Sure, she only lasted about six minutes before she wanted to run – we still had the brief perfect moment together.

I watched my son wipe out four times because kamikaze riding + gravel = OUCH.

He’s learning his way: trial and error.

I also taught him how to off-road and use the hills, which he loved.

I surprisingly enjoyed it too, now that I have a bike that fits me (CG’s frame is too big). I no longer feel like I’m going to tip over every time I turn.

And with the weather forecast for this week?

Why my impatience was justified.

Does this weather not scream, "Bike riding weather!"

I am so glad I didn’t wait the perfect one to show up on Craigslist.

Justified impatient stubbornness at its best.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, random thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Justified Impatient Stubbornness Condones Shopping

  1. John says:

    The idea of “the perfect bike” is a misnomer, anyway — I mean, as soon as I buy a bike, I’m always looking at what I’d want different, anyway.

    Enjoy riding as a family . . . we’re going to start once the weather becomes bearable up here — I have a double-trailer for the kids . . . . I’m really, really hoping we can convince them “helmets stay on, or the trip ends now.”

    • Two weeks in, and I’m loving my bike – it gets used almost every day.

      Lil Diva has decided she loves the trailer, so we often go out just the three of us while CG is at work. However, if she had to share with The Tackler, it would not be so wonderful – cramped quarters do not bring out the best in them.

      It’s been a mild year – hopefully you’ll be able to ride early this year.

  2. My bike is collecting dust in our storage unit. You’ve inspired me to dust it off this spring though! We need to get rid of the training wheels too. (Not mine … the kids’) 🙂

  3. lexy3587 says:

    sounds like a great way to spend time as a family 🙂

    • One day while out in the neighborhood it was near dinner time – so we continued to our favorite chinese restaurant.

      Now The Tackler wants to bike there every day, just because it’s cool to bike to get food.

      He’s going to love it if we bring the bikes to Iowa – there are awesome trails everywhere.

      It has proven to be a great way to spend time together.

Leave a Reply

