Aliens Have Taken Over My Body

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………. 

Aliens who have taken over my body: It is the only possible explanation.

* * *

I had every intention of writing last night. The kids were asleep. The husband was busy working. I had zero distractions.

Why didn't my husband tell me I had something in my hair?

So I thought.

Unbeknownst to me, aliens had taken over my body, their presence releasing sleep agents – oxytocin and whatever that chemical is in NyQuil that knocks you into a coma – into my blood stream.

It was 9:15 PM.

I went to bed.

ME.

The Nocturnal One.

Even more eerie, I actually fell asleep – almost instantly.

What the frak, y’all?

I’m sure it has nothing to do with my laryngitis or the subsequent ongoing visit of The Evil Cough causing poor sleep all week.

Nope. It’s the alien possession.

Hopefully they are done probing and will return home so I can return to my irresponsible – yet conducive to writing – night owl schedule.

Now if only I could figure out how to summon them when insomnia hits.

* * *

What moment made you go “What the frak?” this week?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Aliens Have Taken Over My Body

  1. Katie says:

    Sounds like your body was telling you something 🙂

    Hope you feel better. I’ve had the same Evil Cough for the last two week (though thankfully without the laryngitis). It sucks.

  2. Dear Earth Girl,

    You need more sleep.

    Love,

    The Alien Queen. (Or princess. Or serf. One of those.)

  3. Kate says:

    Nyquil knocks me out, too. I have to give myself a minimum of 8 hours to sleep it off; or I pay in the morning. I hope you’re feeling better, soon.

  4. Oh my. My entire family, including me, came down with influenza this week. Truly I will spare you the details. It’s been crazy, not wanting to run or walk or even write much. So that was my “WTF” moment, when the full force of the flu hit me the other night at 11 p.m.

  5. But did you manage to sleep all night and if so, what’s that like? hope you feel better soon.

  6. edrevets says:

    Check to see if your nasal cavities are sore—sometimes they probe up there too.

  7. Kelly! You need more rest! What happened to finding babysitters? You are on the fast train to Sickville. I just got back doing what you’ve been doing. I’m done with that now.

    Yikes.

    Sending you love. And a scrip to find sitters. Stat.

Leave a Reply

