Top 10 Reasons The Characters in My Head Stopped Talking

Writing fiction is my true love. My dream career.

Normally there are voices in my head. Characters battling it out for the right to have their story told next.

I ignored them for months as life got in the way.

And now? I sit down, fingers ready, only to be greeted by silence.

Naturally I wondered why….

Top 10 (Possible) Reasons the Characters in My Head Stopped Talking Top 10 reasons my characters aren't talking.

10.  They couldn’t take the constant screeches of my children anymore and relocated to a cantankerous old man who lives in a quiet nursing home. They are trying to get him diagnosed with a case of Tourette syndrome.

9.  The majority are emotionally immature thanks to all of the young adult characters. They are pissed off (at being ignored) and giving me the silent treatment. I am also unfriended on facebook.

8.  It’s winter. They’re vacationing in Tahiti.

7.  They petitioned for shorter “working” hours and now only work during the hours of 3 AM to 7 AM.My inner voice sounds just like him.

6.  My inner critic is so loud they are forced to wear ear plugs while blasting music through their headphones to blot him out (he sounds a lot like R. Lee Ermey in Full Metal Jacket).

5.  A charismatic, psychopathic character convinced everyone to drink the Kool-Aid.

4.  A few characters were hungry, transforming the rest into vampires. The non-sparkling kind. They have to sleep during the day.

3. They found a portal to another dimension and were greeted by a rabid group of hungry hippos. Who promptly devoured them for lunch.

Classic.

When vampires were cool.

2.  They signed up for Hulu Plus and are working their way through all the seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel.

1.  They are huge football fans and will be unreachable until after the Superbowl.

* * *

Why do the characters in your head stop talking? Or am I the only one who has (or did have) characters living in their head…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Top 10 List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Top 10 Reasons The Characters in My Head Stopped Talking

  1. Kate says:

    My characters are hiding out from the authorities. So, keeping a low profile helps with staying out of prison.

  2. Annie says:

    Fed up with hectic modern society, my characters moved to a deserted island and are now living in a tree house they built from drift wood.

    Seriously, it’s been hard to write here at the circus. Do you suppose this is a communicable condition?

  3. John says:

    You know, spending countless hours working through Buffy & Angel episodes sounds like a pretty awesome way to spend time.

    I have a theory, it might be bunnies . . .

    Wait, no, I actually have a theory. The voices speak, most loudly, to me, when I’m not able to do anything with them. When I can actually sit down & write? They disappear. Obviously, they’re assholes.

    • I used to have the same problem. When they still talked.

      I had to make sure all the idea were plausible, so I went to Hulu to see if you really could watch Buffy…. and season 1 was free. I may or may not have had to watch the episode where Buffy realizes Angel is a vampire and Darla goes to dust…

  4. Kim says:

    omg… I can relate. If I stand in the shower long enough they usually start jabbering again!

    • I was just thinking I wasn’t taking long enough showers. Most of mine are at the gym and in January, the water runs a bit cooler than usual – hastening the time spent in them.

      That is also the primary place characters talk to me. The key is remembering it until I get to a place I can write it down.

  5. Mine too keep unsociable hours and as you say, it’s remembering it all until you get somewhere where you can write it all down. 🙂

Leave a Reply

