What was 2011?

What did 2011 bring?

June 2011

July 2011

August 2011 - US version

August 2011 - Canadian version

September 2011

October 2011

November 2011

December 2011

I’m sure 2012 will be just as interesting…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, random thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to What was 2011?

  1. John says:

    I somehow missed you dressing up as both a pirate AND a zombie . . . but I lost this recap of the year!

  2. Gin says:

    First time visitor via the link up. Great recap and I love your 5 steps of surviving motherhood. Not getting mad is still on the works but all the other steps are easy to follow. Wish your 2012 is just as colorful as this recap.

    • Sorry, I had to fish you out of the spam folder.

      The five steps are quite vital, and taking the photo creates a buffer from the time between when you discover an incident and wish to strangle the kids to realizing it would make a great blog post.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      May your 2012 be wonderful and contain many photos for the 5 step program. 🙂

  3. Amber says:

    Cute pictures!

    Happy New Year!

  4. What a cute family you have! What a wonderful year!

    • It was a wonderful year, although if I’d discovered a boot camp for three year olds in January 2011, I would have totally sent The Tackler.

      Thank god he dramatically improved in February when he turned four, or I don’t know what I would’ve done.

  5. Annie says:

    Great pictures! Can’t believe the year is ending. Went fast.

  6. Your entire family is simply gorgeous.
    But if I had to pick, I think my favorite picture is of Lil Diva with the sprinkler.

    It’s a perfect metaphor for the joyful life you’re giving them. Each and every dayl.

    So cheers to 2011 and to an even more beautiful 2012, my friend.
    XOXO

    • Thank you, my friend.

      Is it so very wrong I simply couldn’t choose 12 photos, but had to do 12 photo collages instead?

      Lil Diva firmly believed every sprinkler was just a creative drinking fountain. I tried to tell myself it was bacteria resistance training… The hot summer meant many fountains and sprinklers (and pools) and the kids loved every minute.

      The year improved as it passed, so here’s hoping 2012 continues the pattern.

      A happy New Year and best wishes to you for 2012!

  7. Jen says:

    Oh, I love this. What great photos of a wonderful year.

    • Thank you, Jen!

      I don’t often make it to comment on your blog because it is usually read on my iPod, but your posts typically show up right as I’m going to bed, and almost always put a smile on my face (often with motherhood commiseration).

      It was a roller coaster year, but with the highs increasing the further away my son was from the Terrible Threes.

      I try to capture it all with my words and the camera, but this mommy brain won’t remember….

      Happy new year!

  8. What a great look back at the year, I’m sorry but I have to say one of my favorite shots is the toilet overflowing with toilet paper :).

    • That was a frequent occurrence during the first quarter, the hazard of the older child potty trained but not vigilant in bathroom door closing, and the younger fascinated with toilet paper.

      I had to include it.

      Hope you don’t mind me stretching the challenge to 12 collage photos versus 12 total photos. Twelve photos would have not accurately encompassed 2011, and toilet paper shot would not have made the cut.. 🙂

  9. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    Great pics, my friend! I wish you all the best in 2012!!

  10. Love all the pictures! Hope you have a great 2012!

  11. mellisarock says:

    Love that you had so many memories to share that you needed a collage for every month! 🙂 Your children’s smiles are so adorable!

    • You have no idea how much editing went into a few of the months because I wanted to share so many photos you can barely see them. A few months were sparse because my camera died and we took forever to get it fixed (until I finally told DH, “get it fixed now, or I’m buying a new one tomorrow.”).

      So many milestones, trials, and wonderful things happened in 2011 – I wanted an accurate portrayal.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment and stop by!

  12. Jackie says:

    Some how I think that the toilet paper pic is the result of a very busy little girl….

    Here’s hoping that the New Year is wonderful for you and your family!

  13. Sparky says:

    What a great idea for an end-of-year post! I may just have to steal it from ya! 😉

    Great photos, beautiful family!!!

    • Totally not my idea, but the link ups. Feel free to add yours. I’d love to see what the minions were up to all year.

      I think photos work much better than trying to sum up a year in words.

      Of course, I easily could’ve shared twice as many, given my “don’t get mad, take a photo and blog about it” philosophy.

      I refrained. Barely.

      May your 2012 be blessed!

  14. Galit Breen says:

    Your year has been FULL! Here’s to all of the very best in 2012! Happy New Year to you and yours!

  15. Love the fab photos, you talented woman, you! (Sidenote: I have wireless in my RV – for the moment!). Hugs. And sending you warmest wishes ever for a great 2012!

  16. I hope 2012 is filled with as many shennanigans as 2011. Let the wild rumpus begin. 😉

Leave a Reply

