A Day to Just…. Be

I was up far too late on Friday night to celebrate a friend’s birthday.

My husband was kind enough to let me sleep in late on Saturday.

The kids were squirrely by the time I poured my bowl of Frosted Flakes at 10 AM.

The outside air was chilled, especially to our thinned Texas blood. The sky was grey.

But it was dry after many days of much needed rain followed by more days of mist and fog.

My mother’s intuition screamed at me.

“Get the kids outside or it will not be a good day.”

CG took off for a run and I herded my children outside as fast as possible.

What unfolded became two and half hours of watching my children bask in the simple moments of life.

Sibling power steering - a sweet moment.

Nothing like a little sibling power steering.

We invited RT over (The Tackler’s buddy from across the street) almost instantly.

I heard the echo of Christmas music and the occasional siren in the surrounding neighborhoods.

“The firetruck is going to drive by with Santa!” I told them – a tradition our local fire station does each year before Christmas.

Lil Diva stakes her claim to watch for the firetruck.

"I can hear the siren? Where is my firetruck?"

The kids were ecstatic – all of them adore firetrucks. Lil Diva didn’t want to miss a second of it and grabbed a front row seat.

The boys passed the time another way: taking turns with a game they created that I call “Which Sponge Bob Are You?”

“Sponge Bob…. pineapple pants,” The Tackler whispered to RT.

Giggles.

“Sponge Bob silly pants,” RT replied.

The two boys were hilarious.

These two are best buds.

Laughter.

“Sponge Bob… stinky pants,” my son said.

Cackles of hilarity.

The faces boys make when being silly.

I have no idea what is up with these faces, but they had me giggling.

And on and on.

Then the fire truck finally came by, Santa tossing handfuls of candy at the giddy children.

My kids couldn't wait for this to come by.

A tradition I cursed when they cruised by at nap time, this year it was something both kids loved... especially the candy.

Seriously, we just finished our Halloween candy….

Arms and fingers bursting with their prizes, RT’s dad popped over to take his bounty home while I put my children’s away in their Halloween bags.

CG returned and declared it yard work time.

“Daddy, I want a pile of leaves,” The Tackler told him. “Please.”

Helpless to resists the polite manners and perfect distraction for the kids, CG obliged, scrounging up a small pile .

Then I had fun with my camera, because my words cannot describe the degree of joy experienced by the kids on such a simple thing.

Simple joys of tossing and jumping in leaves.

Sometimes it is the simple pleasures of life that bring the most fun.

When they finally grew tired of the leaves, we stopped for a picnic lunch in the driveway.

The kids discovered the giant box of chalk.

Sidewalk chalk is messy, but worth it.

Getting set up for driveway and sidewalk drawing.

RT drew goal posts and a football.

The Tackler drew Texas, then Oklahoma, followed by other states. The kid is getting good.

Lil Diva organized the chalk then worked on her masterpiece of multicolored, overlapping lines.

Chalk was everywhere, but they were having a blast.

The Tackler proves his Texas and state drawing skills are getting even better and Lil Diva explores color layers.

Chalk was everywhere. Including on the Tackler’s butt.

Which the boys found hysterical.

Eventually, the boys pleaded to switch to RT’s house, and after a quick call to okay it, they were off just in time for me to put Lil Diva down for nap.

The boys played outside, then inside at RT’s house until dinner time.

Lil Diva used the rare brother-less time following her nap to snuggle up with her Daddy without brotherly interruptions and have him read book after book.

Lil Diva loves to read.

Lil Diva basked in Daddy alone time, because her brother typically interrupts it.

The day was filled with perfect moments.

Book-ended between two not-so-perfect ones where The Tackler melted down in a very big way.

I’m convinced the day would have been full of the not-so-perfect episodes had I not heeded my intuition and gone outside.

It was a day I should have been productive, but I decided to just let the kids, and me… be in the moment.

And it was wonderful.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Day to Just…. Be

  1. julie says:

    Thank you for sharing your day with the little ones. Great pictures. . . The time is flying by – my “little one” is taller than me now! 🙂

  2. Wonderful pictures and what a great fire truck tradition! You definitely had your priorities right on Saturday.

    BTW, since I may well not see any snow this winter, I appreciate your thoughtful winter touch 🙂

  3. angela says:

    Such a lovely day and a lovely sentiment 🙂 I am glad you were able to enjoy the day and just let it unfold in all of its organic, unexpected beauty.

    (And thanks for linking up with JBE this week!)

  4. hanelene says:

    What a lovely day – I am inspired to follow my own instincts a little more next weekend!

  5. Pamela says:

    My mom used to say, “time to go play in the street.” She was kidding. But that meant get out of the house and run with the wild things. Lovely post.

  6. Spongebob Stinky Pants IS hilarious.

    And these memories are so sweet.

    Plus, in ten years, you won’t remember the part where the Tackler melted down.

    I promise.

Leave a Reply

