Where is a Hand Jacket When You Need One?

Monday I pulled the winter jackets out of the guest closet where they rest eleven months of the year.

Thankfully, I bought the jackets (and snow boots) just big enough last year for our trip to Iowa and to Colorado they still fit both kids.

My children protested, wondering why their arms refused to rest at their sides.

My son whined because his car seat harness needed loosening to fit over the jacket’s bulk.

We reached our destination and climbed out of the van as the breezy north wind whipped our southern acclimated skin.

The Tackler turned to me.

“Mommy, I need a jacket for my hands.”

This from the child who ditches his hoodie jacket at every opportunity.

“Those are called gloves. I’ll dig them out later.”

If I can find them.

My almost four year helps build a snow fort at Christmas - his first.

It has been almost a year since he's had to even think about wearing a hand jacket...

What has your child said that made you smile?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where is a Hand Jacket When You Need One?

  1. Bwahaha. Love that. Love that he didn’t know “gloves”!

    • I think your children would be equally confused by three months of weather over 100 degrees….

      Most years I don’t even buy them gloves – unless trekking to Colorado or Iowa – because it just isn’t worth it for the seven days it’s cold enough to wear them.

      The only reason my kids have winter coats, snow pants, and gloves are those two states.

  2. John says:

    Hey, I think “hand jacket” is a legitimate term – I mean, what occasion, at home, would the tackler ever have to wear gloves?

    I give him an A+ for creativity 🙂

  3. I agree with John. Hand jacket is extremely appropriate!

  4. I love the term “hand jacket” – brilliant.

    To this day, my favorite phrase that Jack used was when he was about the same age as the Tackler. He was suffering from yet another ear infection, although I didn’t know it until he said this:

    “Mommy. I’m not talking in my ears again.”

    Poor guy. We still refer to that statement when someone is feeling sick around here.
    “But are you still talking in your ears? Good.”

    XO

Leave a Reply

