So What if My Son Has a Pink Rubber Band In His Hair…. In Public

What one child does, so must the other.

This is how Sunday arrived and my children ran amok.

No more than usual, except for one thing.

All my samurai son is missing is the killer sword.

He really wanted a fourth one...

Their hair.

They went Samurai again.

Sort of.

Both children cackled at their “pretties”, not caring I lacked the small comb needed to actually pull their hair back neatly.

Then my husband took The Tackler to the grocery store with his hair still “styled”.

“I think the person at the deli counter called him “ma’am,” he said.

I sighed but honestly didn’t care.

If my son wants to run around with his thick, too long hair pulled back because I haven’t gotten around to scheduling his hair cut – because he’s just so darn adorable with it uncut – so be it.

My 2 year old finally leaves her hair up for more than a few seconds.

We set a new record: about forty-five minutes before Lil Diva pulled our her rubber bands.

If he wants to do it at age thirteen…. I’m cool with that too.

As long as he bathes and does his chores, I don’t care.

For me, it’s all about the joy on his face as he enjoys something different.

Screw society norms.

Plus, it entices his sister to leave her hair styled for more than six seconds.

Win win in my book.

The Samurai siblings enjoy their new hairdos and take a break from havoc to read.

I really need work on my toddler hair styling skills....

What is the craziest thing you’ve let your children (or yourself) wear in public?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to So What if My Son Has a Pink Rubber Band In His Hair…. In Public

  1. Sparky says:

    Green capri pants. Pink tutu. Red striped long-sleeved t-shirt. Hot pink fuzzy slippers. Tiara.

    In her defense it was one of those school-wide, support-the-football-team, crazy-themed Fridays.

    But no one will know this when I use the photo in her Senior slideshow in a few years. 😉

  2. Annie says:

    When speedy was 2-3 he always wanted to wear his sister’s purple leotards to gymnastics. She wore one so he saw no reason why he shouldn’t as well. I had no problem with it. He did that for several months. He looked adorable. 🙂

    Love their hair!

    • Awww, I bet Speey rocked the purple leotard.

      My children will mimic each other without prejudice, so I have no issues either.

      It hardly seems right to say “No son, you can’t mimic your sister because she’s a girl and you’re a boy, but she can mimic you because that’s accepted.

      I hope you took a photo. 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    The Tackler could grow it out and be just like his daddy!

  4. When he was three, my son wore his Peter Pan costume from Halloween for an entire year.
    To the grocery store, the bank, the dry cleaners, friends’ houses, preschool, birthday parties.

    I had to wash it while he was in the bathtub.

    Green pants and a tunic top weren’t the most masculine of outfits to sport.
    But he smiled his ass off that year.

    And now he wears Quiksilver and jeans every day.
    So I suppose he survived.

    I still have the costume, by the way.
    I’m keeping it forever.

    • Julie –

      1) I find myself saddened by this news. It shows the great decline in costume workmanship because the costumes these days are lucky to survive more than one wearing, much less a year of it.

      2) If I gave my son the option, I’m certain he would choose his oh-so masculine Superman costume of “tights and spandex” until it disintegrated. It does pose a small issue as it is one piece and he cannot fasten it without help, which would result in him streaking every time he has to use the bathroom…

      3) I don’t know what Quicksilver is. I’d have to Google it…

      4) I don’t blame you for keeping it. I hope you took many photos of him in his uniform.

  5. John says:

    Every time I put “pretties” in my pixie’s hair (we use that term, too), my son demands the same in his afro.

    But, I’m right there with you – anything you can do to get the “pretties” in for more than 2 or 3 minutes, is worth it.

    • I swear, the whole “peer pressure/I want to do what you do” aspect is genius.

      My daughter wore her pigtails ALL morning today, even without her brother decked out – the benefits of a practice run most of the day yesterday.

      Prior to yesterday? I had about a 4.6 seconds before the hair tie was pulled out.

      So there is hope.

      Also? Take pictures.

  6. lexy3587 says:

    The little girl who got my tiny bike gloves when i outgrew them wore them nearly non-stop for about 6 months… paired with the tutu from her ballet class that she also thought was the best thing since candy and the cute little black jacket that looked kind of like a leather jacket. She looked like the littlest ballet-gang member.

  7. Kelly! When Tech Support was a 5 year old monkey, he absolutely insisted on wearing nail polish. Which he insisted on calling “nail Polish” — omigosh! I didn’t car, but the world let me know that they thought it was positively awful.

    Meh.

    The reality is that The Tackler won’t do that forever. And that will be sad. So just enjoy it while you can. 😉

    • Nail Polish? How adorable.

      I couldn’t have put nail polish on The Tackler if I tried – he won’t sit still long enough. Plus he hated being “dirty” until about two and half – which included anything that you couldn’t brush off: stamps, mud, chocolate, sauce.

      He outgrew it.

      I am a little bit sad.

      I’m trying to enjoy each phase and let him know I love him no matter what.

      And take lots of photos.

      Although really, I could do without the whole “I can hear you mommy, but I’m going to pretend I heard nothing and do what I want.”

  8. What cuties! I’ve been okay with everything my boys have wanted to wear in public… so far. 😉

    I’m sure I have a line somewhere, but I’m not sure where it is.

  9. Btw, my oldest wants to know if that is a Buzz Lightyear with his arm broken off that is in your background, below the soccer ball on the right. He is very insistent that he is right.

    • It is, in fact, a Buzz Lightyear with a broken arm.

      We have two Buzz Lightyears that are large: only one has both arms.

      We have a mid-sized Buzz (pictured there): missing arm.

      We have a mini-Buzz figure: missing hand.

      The first, my son did on purpose, to re-enact the movie and was very upset when other toys didn’t fix him like new.

      The others were a hazard of trying to position him a bit.. roughly.

      You son has very good eyes. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Not Your Typical “Being Thankful” Post | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

