Top 4 Lessons My Husband Learned at Six Flags

This post is courtesy of me ripping off my husband’s facebook status.

Sunday CG undertook a task, that when learned of, heaped copious amounts of effusive praise upon his head. One friend even dubbed him an honorary knight for his chivalry.

What could possibly cause such an outpouring of love?

My husband took my four and half year old and two year old to Six Flags. 

Alone.

For the day.

I wanted to go. So bad.

But I hadn’t showered in two days.

My house was in “exploded” mode because I just bought new furniture and fitting it into our already full house proved challenging.

Clothing was everywhere because Lil Diva’s clothes greatly outnumbered the space to house to them and have been living via time share in laundry baskets and empty diaper boxes.

My kitchen counters were covered because I bought more groceries than were designed to fit into my “organized but not to house food for cooking meals” pantry.

The guest bed is buried in stuff but must be slept in over Thanksgiving.

To say I had a lot to do that is difficult with children around is an understatement.

So I stayed while he took both children to Six Flags.

I cleaned and organized for ten hours.

Can I be knighted to?

Because between that, grocery shopping, and cooking five meals for six hours on Saturday, I did nothing “for fun” all weekend.

But my house is significantly more organized.

I need a weekend to recover from my weekend.

End of whine.

Here is what my husband learned on Sunday:

Top 4 Lessons Learned at Six Flags

1. My daughter needs a leash.
2. My son is more proficient with a park map than I am.
3. Park height rules are there to maximize disappointment, not safety.
4.Funnel cake can power you for a surprising amount of time (I never had lunch, and only shared a little from my kids).

The funnel cake was devoured.

CG had stroke of brilliance to load children up on funnel cake power the very first thing - helping Lil Diva over the nap time hump.

What lessons have amusement parks taught you?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Computer God, Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 4 Lessons My Husband Learned at Six Flags

  1. He made a rookie mistake with #3! Should have checked the website BEFORE going 😉 Otherwise – high fives for your hubby! But MAJOR high fives for you!

    • CG says:

      I expected my daughter to have to sit out a lot. Getting her out was more of an exercise in giving Kelly all the space she could possibly need. But they wouldn’t let her go on the frickin’ airplanes (you know which ones I’m talking about – the ones you rode when you were two), Even with me. She was less than an inch under, with her father. The curbs in the park are more of a threat to her safety than that ride.

      The 100 ft Ferris wheel that had no seat belt and she could simply just stumble out of? No problem!

      The “race” car track that she tried to electrocute herself on? No problem!

      But those airplanes – we can’t have that. She might have too much fun…

  2. Katie says:

    Way to go CG! And you 🙂

    I guess I’m kind of a dork. When my house is a disaster, cleaning, organizing, cooking and shopping IS fun for me!

  3. John says:

    The whole “fitting the furniture in” is why I’m almost entirely opposed to buying new furniture. If we don’t like the way things look, we’ll just let the kids push things around until things are different.

    And is it possible that girls clothing just multiplies after a time? Because I swear, if I turn my back, the kids’ room is just filled with Leila’s stuff.

  4. Jackie says:

    He is brave. I haven’t taken my kids to an amusement park like that…. of course there isn’t one all that close to me either.

  5. I live mighty close to Disneyland, so I’d say the principle lesson I’ve learned is that no matter how much they jack up the annual pass prices, I will keep forking out the money. And not really regretting it, because my son’s delight in it is a gift itself–on top of just how much I love some of the DCA rides!

Leave a Reply

