Top 10 Reasons to Find Your Inner Scotsman

One of my favorite weekends every year is the first one of November – the weekend when the Austin Celtic Music Festival happens.

Every year it has been amazing.

Naturally, this gives me excellent fodder for a top 10 list.

Top 10 Reasons to Find Your Inner Scotsman at a Celtic Music Festival

10.  Perfect place to practice parking skills: Thousands of people show up at a place with almost no parking. You suddenly wish you’d mastered parallel parking and receive a crash course.

The view of the lake.

Such a simple thing puts me at peace.

9.  The view is fabulous: The Austin Celtic Music Festival overlooks a lake. Simply sitting on the banks, as music wafts from one of the stages, wraps you in a peace you rarely achieve at home.

8. Countless booths for shopping: Nowhere else can you find exquisite jewelry, haggis, and a plethora of kilts to choose from.

Why I don't have an videos or audio.

This little sign is why I had only an iPod camera (which sucks) to take photos.

7.  It is neigh impossible to find a band that “sucks”: Seriously, if you like celtic music, every single band and artist is entertaining to watch. Some are so incredible you wonder why they aren’t playing giant concert halls.

6.  The food: It’s not just about eating, it’s an education. It is the only place you can get a rib steak sandwich from Scottish cows (that live in Kansas no less), funnel cakes, turkey legs, haggis, bangers and mash, fish and chips, and other suspicious fare you have to ask, “Uh, what exactly is that?” before you order.

A portion of the food vendors.

All the heart attack inducing food you could want within reach.

5.  Extra calorie burning: Even if you eat junk and sit on a chair for the shows, you will burn more calories than normal. This is because it is impossible to sit still while the music is playing. Chances are you must tap your foot, sway, clap, or in my case, get up and pretend you know how to do Irish dancing.

4.  Plenty of pints to buy: Yes, they serve alcohol. Just in case you require a wee dram (or five) to shed the inhibitions so you can dance or hit on the hottie in the kilt.

The Viking

I had to get a photo with the Viking. Sadly, it is one of the most hideous photos of me... ever.

3. Accents I could listen to all day: Some are Scottish. Many are Irish. I don’t care. Simply listening to the artists tell the tale of their tune is entertainment.

2. The most concentrated collection of kilts outside of Scotland plus a few more exotic outfits: I had no idea so many people in Austin owned a kilt. Why don’t women’s skirts have accessories like the kilt for carrying things?

But it doesn’t stop there. Thanks to the “battlefield” and re-enactments showing off weapons of ancient times, you can find Vikings roaming around…

1.  It is a day to just be me: For the second year in a row I went alone. No friends. No family. Just me.

Do I wish I could have shared this experience with my family?

Yes.

Do I regret going alone?

No.

I needed the time to rejuvenate.

The first few years, CG attended. He isn’t a “huge” fan of Celtic music so the next year I went with a friend and had a great time.

We even took He-Who-Would-Become-The-Tackler one year.

After returning on a wave of reels and jigs, I planned to convince my husband to attend with the kids on day two.

Humidity and cranky children from Daylight Savings Time ending turned the tide and we didn’t go.

Instead I taught my children to play “Duck, Duck, Goose” and Lil Diva learned “Simon Says”. Sort of.

She found both games hilarious. So did my son.

I cannot regret that.

If the weather cooperates, I hope to do both days next year: one for me, one for the family.

Because these top ten things happen each year, rain or shine.

Do you have an event you like to go to alone?

Just be enough

Taming Insanity

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Top 10 Reasons to Find Your Inner Scotsman

  1. Sounds like a blast. Live music outdoors is just better.

    Chuck E. Cheese is the one place I’d rather go alone.

  2. TheKirCorner says:

    good for you sweetie. that sounds like something I would do….sometimes I just need to go out alone an experience something that is going to make ME happy all by myself. I stand in awe and respect at your ability to do it!!!

    plus it sounds, looks like you had a great time..and that’s the important part, to enjoy that time away, No guilt, no regret, just a new memory to be made. xo

  3. Dang! I’m so jealous. This is just one more reason why I really miss living in Texas. Celtic music is my all time favorite and no one understands my loving obsession with it. **sigh** I wish we had a festival like that here in Florida.

  4. ocdtalk says:

    Any time I am more excited than the rest of my family about a concert, play, museum, or any event for that matter, I prefer to go alone. That way I don’t have to feel badly about “dragging” anyone along, they don’t have to feel badly about rushing me or not really wanting to be there, and I can just do what I want at my own pace, and enjoy! We all need that time to ourselves once in a while. Glad you had a great time!

  5. I never would have imagined such a festival in Austin! Glad you had fun.

  6. And now, all I want to do with my day is find a Viking with a big stein and party with him.

    It’s good to have goals, right?

    p.s. By “stein” of course I meant a drinking mug. Sheesh.

  7. angela says:

    Thanks for linking this up 🙂

    I think it’s great that you have found a balance between doing it for yourself and then including the rest of your family. I don’t do much “alone,” and it’s something my husband and I have been talking about lately.

  8. That sounds like a great fun event for everyone both for you to go solo and with the family. 🙂

  9. That sounds like such a great time. 🙂 I love listening to people w accents, especially Scottish. So cool

  10. We just moved to this area last year so I’m still learning about all the great festivals/activities. I will definitely be putting this on my list for next year. Sounds like great fun!

  11. KLZ says:

    I’d go for the food alone. The rest is just a bonus.

  12. Wow, that looks like a lot of fun. And I have to say, I love that the cows were Kansans, too. 🙂

  13. Sounds like so much fun!I am a big fan of alone outings—I went to the Spoleto Opera festival alone when I was living in Italy—and truly cannot have imagined doing it any other way.

Leave a Reply

