I have a strange addiction… for kitchen gadgets.

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by……….

My infatuation with kitchen gadgets: Two weeks ago I vowed I would cease my stay-at-home-parenting failure: I would start cooking. Enter an addiction to all things kitchen related.

* * *

Those who know me are very confused right about now, because cooking and shopping are two things I used to detest.

They say admitting you have a problem is the first way to fix the issue.

I confessed a few weeks ago about how my complete lack of cooking made me a parenting failure.

I asked for help.

My readers came out in droves with recipes and suggestions. It was absolutely amazing.

So I am here to admit to a new problem.

I am a kitchen-gadget-shopaholic.

I can’t stop.

It should be noted my kitchen is already well-stocked in the cool gadget department, mostly from gifts and things required to replicate a few favorite recipes.

I still can’t stop.

Granted, I see a need for most of these things. Never mind I did not require them before.

I want to keep cooking. I want to make it a habit.

To do that, I need to make cooking as easy as possible.

I see the egg slicer and must have it. It does not matter I have yet to pick a recipe that calls for this.

Why did I buy it? Because it also says it works great for mushrooms and I really want to incorporate those into our diet.

I needed another “deep fry pan”. At least, I think that’s what they call it.

I had no idea, I just knew I needed two pans of massive size so I could simmer multiple recipes at once during my cooking marathons.

I really want a dutch oven.

I didn’t even know what one was two weeks ago.

But I want the best. The one least likely to screw up all of my hard work.

I Googled “dutch ovens”.

I found the highest rated and looked at the prices.

You have to be frakking kidding me?!

That much?

Normally my practical side kicks in about now and screams, “NO!”

It isn’t.

Because they do have a lifetime warranty.

You can serve dinner in the pot, saving use of another dish to wash.

They are supposedly awesome.

I want.

I just haven’t made it to the outlet mall that carries them yet. Barring success there, I will return to Google and order one.

My kitchen four days ago during my "free time". I emptied out most of the lower cupboards to make room for my latest addiction.

I have also acquired a huge lasagna pan, more stirring utensils unable to damage my non-stick coated pots, a really sharp knife, more baking pans so I can freeze meals in my mother-in-law’s freezer (as mine still does not work), a holder to hold these utensils, a new rice cooker, more measuring items – the list goes on.

I really want a great mixer that isn’t handheld now. And more awesome knives for prep work.

Any recommendations?

I actually had to reorganize my cupboards so I could fit everything in place.

That’s good. Right?

Still, what the frak is up with my addiction?

Have you ever found yourself addicted to something very uncharacteristic and gone, “What the frak?”

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I have a strange addiction… for kitchen gadgets.

  1. The Hobbler says:

    I understand completely. I am a stay at home mom too, and I hate to cook (see: http://wp.me/p1Cvgh-3f ). I just bought a blender, but I haven’t used it yet…I really would rather not get it messy. 😉 Good luck!

    • I received a blender for my wedding. It was used perhaps five times in five years.

      Then I had children and learned the magic of fruit smoothies.

      It suddenly was used almost every day. I cannot imagine life without the magic of my blender.

      You are so right on your top 10. 🙂

  2. Hey, look at it this way – you have lots of entertaining things for kids to get into……or maybe items to use for creating some fascinating “found objects” sculptures ( that you can then sell, and become famous, and hire someone to deal with the kitchen and cooking…..plus then you could buy even more during as you travel the world giving interviews!)

  3. Holy crap, pumpkin. As a former professional organizer, my fingers are twitching to get inside your cupboards and help you get organized. I want to ask you all the questions. You know, the ones that help you let go of things. 😉

    That said, you are reading these words from a person who loves everything Fiesta Ware and I can never, ever pass a plate or dish or bowl at a garage sale. Ever. Never. Probably.

    • I do have issues throwing stuff away. The issue is I hate throwing stuff away if it can be useful to someone else.

      That being said, my cupboards were very organized until I had children, and suddenly had to make room for nonbreakable plates, cups, and bowls.

      The drawers on the other hand, are where things get shoved so my children can’t get them, only now they sort of can, which makes most of them the epitome of “the junk drawer”.

      I own nothing Fiesta Ware.

      So there is that.

  4. Katie says:

    Dutch oven are awesome. But you know you don’t news the absolute top of the line one 🙂 We don’t have a Le Creuset or whatever you’re thinking of, and ours works great! Love it!

    My favorite kitchen gadgets are the rice cooker, my Kitchenaid stand mixer (definitely worth the investment) and our food processor. They are among the most-used items in our kitchen!

    • What kind do you have?

      I have also found a good rice cooker to be a necessity (we had a very old, cheap sort of one where I had no way to really tell when it was done) and really want a mixer too.

      Which Kitchen Aid mixer do you have?

      The food processor I’ve had since I got married and it is vital for when massive shredding is required. I remember the first time I pulled it out and my husband had no idea why we needed such a thing. Five seconds later he “got it”. My mother had one when I was growing up and I thought it was the most miraculous thing ever.

      The crockpot, the large saucepans (for pasta boiling), and the wok are also very used when we cook.

  5. Leigh Ann says:

    I LOVE my dutch oven. It’s awesome for making soups, stews, and chili. And every kitchen has to have a Kitchenaid stand mixer. It’s a must.

  6. Pingback: This future kitchen concept from 1943- Really? | Bloggo Schloggo

  7. hanelene says:

    Love my dutch oven – it is an off-brand (still made in France) version of the one you are probably drooling over sold by Costco for about $80. Awesomeness indeed. I also have a Kitchen Aid mixer (registered for that back when I got married) and a Cuisinart food processor, which I use much more often than I thought I would. I don’t have that many smaller gadgets, and find that a very good chef knife, a decent bread knife and a decent paring knife is really all I use out of the big set.

  8. Carey says:

    OK, I know I’ve never met you, but I think I love you. 🙂 I, too, am addicted to kitchen gadgets. I would totally go for the Le Creuset dutch oven- it will be an heirloom. I have my grandma’s and it is fabulous. She taught me most of what I know about cooking, so it’s a wonderful thing to have. I have a kitchen aid stand mixer- can’t live without it. I also can’t live without my electric pressure cooker. I could make a longer list, but I don’t want to post a five-page comment…

Leave a Reply

