Conversations With… Pumpkins? Fire Ghosts… Above Space?

The Tackler is in full Halloween mode.

My son luckily has no idea who this guy is... yet.

The Tackler loves Halloween, but luckily has no idea about horror movies.

No, he hasn’t taken to wearing a mask and begun to kill off our neighbors in creative and unrealistic ways whenever one dares to pee by themselves.

I am hopefully several years away from him even knowing who Michael Myers is.

The imminent holiday has created some interesting, and often hilarious, observations.

Lil Diva isn’t about to be left out of the fun.

* * *

My son finds his pumpkin a great conversationalist.

To be carved today, this is a my son's pumpkin of many talents - conversation being one of them.

I sent CG to the store for dinner ingredients (more on that in future post) and The Tackler went with him to pick out a pumpkin for Halloween.

A perfect pumpkin was chosen and placed in the seat next to him in the grocery cart.

For the rest of the store visit, my son carried on a conversation with his pumpkin.

CG heard him muttering and asked, “What?”

“I’m just talking to the pumpkin, Daddy.”

The conversation was not one-sided.

The Tackler turned the pumpkin at random intervals, leaning in as if the pumpkin had whispered, and asked, “What was that, pumpkin?”

I only wish CG had captured it on video.

* * *

Every time my children see a ghost, goblin, ghoul, witch, or homicidal maniac Halloween decoration they:

  • Stop
  • Point
  • Cry a gutteral “AGHHHHHHHH! AHHHHHHHHH!”
  • Run from the decoration screaming
  • Return less than fifteen seconds later.
  • Repeat the process until I drag them away.

Lil Diva assumes, based on her brother’s actions, this a completely normal reaction to all Halloween decorations.

I wonder how she’d fair at a haunted house.

And how this will translate when she sees Santa Claus.

* * *

It began as a loud, roaring version of peek-a-boo between Bobbi and The Tackler: hiding under a blanket, yelling “boo”, the recipient releasing a scream of terror.

My son uses a musical pillow case to transform into a fire ghost.

The fire ghost: who can somehow destroy things in space, but not traverse to the attic.

Then The Tackler turned into a ghost.

Tackler: “I’m a fire ghost. I like to burn all kinds of stuff.”

Bobbi: What do fire ghosts do?

T: Fire ghosts burn stuffs with their ears (followed with serious nod from under pillow case where this entire conversation takes place).

B: Like what?

T: Well, I burn sometimes… Eggos. .. and space.

B: Like… outer space?

T: I like to destroy things above space. I need to destroy bad guys and those are all dirt, and I need to fire them.

B: Is the fire ghost friends with the water ghost?

T: No, because the water ghost lives all the way up there (points to attic) and I can’t get up that high.

You have to love four and half year old logic.

What amusing ideas does Halloween inspire in your kids? or you?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conversations With… Pumpkins? Fire Ghosts… Above Space?

  1. OH I love it!! So creative!! My boys are right now all about being Superheroes, but if they are even approached by someone with a mask on, they run for the hills. While they make adorable looking Superheroes, I wouldn’t count on them saving anything but themselves if they get spooked!

  2. John says:

    My kids still don’t get Halloween, but we were at a Halloween parade the other day, and they gave out candy, and that part they got. There was a lot of pointing at the people in costumes.

    My pixie will be a princess. The imp will be a dragon. I will be a knight in tin-foil armor. I’ll report back after we’ve had our adventures 🙂

  3. Brilliant. Our four year olds would get along famously. What with the insane imaginations…

    Seriously, can you get enough of the imagination? It just thrills me. And I note that Zig, not quite two, is already heavily into the imaginative play – most probably from observing his brother. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

