Five Things That Make Me Smile

I love my sparkling bathroom.

Happy sighs and smiles.

1.  A clean house. I feared it would never happen again. Ever. Then I took the plunge and hired a service to clean my house. Now every other week three women spend almost two hours cleaning my house until it sparkles like a Twilight vampire. I consider this bi-monthly occurrence vital to my sanity and the best gift you could give any parent.

2.  The things my children imagine.Whether it’s a random game where my daughter calls “good-bye” to me every thirty seconds then runs in three circles before saying good-bye again, or how my son had an entire conversation with his Halloween pumpkin – I cannot get enough of seeing what their imaginations come up with next. As long as it isn’t beating each other with the stuffed duck or blunt objects.

Something about mountain beauty always soothes me.

I'm smiling under the gator mask.

3.  The mountains. I grew up in land about as flat as it gets, but I fell in love with mountains at first sight. I breathe in the air and the silence at over 10,000 feet. I inhale the beauty, whether snow covered, or dusty and dry. It doesn’t matter if it’s in Colorado or Canada, when am in the mountains, I am at peace. And I smile.

How can I not smile?

4.  The five minutes my children play together in perfect harmony. Even better, the days this happens frequently. I smile, and bask in their shared laughter.

5.  Writing. I live for the moments of bringing joy, commiseration, laughter, entertainment, or understanding to others through my writing.

Thank you to all who listen.

Note: When I asked my friend, “What makes me happy?” she told me: brownies, Lil Diva taking three hour naps, Zumba, showering, and Canada. She would also be right.

* * *

This post was inspired by this week’s Just Be Enough prompt.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Five Things That Make Me Smile

  1. TheKirCorner says:

    yes, yes, yes….to all of it. Plus that picture of the the kiddos made ME SMILE!!!!! I know how much all of these things mean to you and I love that you have such a fantastic list!

  2. I forgot how amazing it can be when someone else cleans your house. I had that service when I was in graduate school. Loved coming home every other Friday! Someday, I’ll have it again….yes, someday!

  3. This could be my list too. Especially the 5 minutes of the kids playing in perfect harmony… and the clean house of course (especially if I didn’t have to clean it!)

  4. Katie says:

    Cleaning services are awesome. Without it, I’d be living in a pig sty.

  5. Wow – someone to clean the house – I dream of such a thing, but as Kimberly reminded me in her post this week, a messy house is memories being made – I’m sticking with that for the moment. Totally with you on the Mountains – I lived in the French Alps for 4 years skiing and had the time of my life…. will take the kids when they’re a little older!

    • Wow, the French Alps? I am so very jealous right now.

      A part of me would love to live in the mountains and become a ski bum with my children. The other part cringes over the idea of hats/gloves/boots/snowpants/scarves/de-icing/shoveling/cold weather and a host of other things while raising young children.

      Often the only thing you need here is a light jacket. Playground weather is more in winter versus summer.

      I love that part.

      But I wish I had my mountains.

  6. I listed the beach, but the mountains are another favorite! I grew up camping with my family and with Girl Scouts….even hiked my first glacier when I was five! (Though, that’s not something I could do now.) Loved the line about your house sparkling like a Twilight Vampire….if I get a minute (not many available today as I’ve got a sick wee girl home with me), I’ll check out what you wrote on that topic. :>

  7. angela says:

    Thanks for linking up with JBE!

    Your list is great 🙂 I would LOVE a cleaning service. I want a house sparkling like a Twilight vampire 🙂

  8. John says:

    You get occasional three hour naps?!

    I love a clean house, but I’ve completely given up on the concept. Just like I’d like a pet dragon.

  9. Oh, I remember three hour naps.

    Why didn’t I work on my book then?

    Duh. 😉

  10. I need your bathtub. It looks spacious.

Leave a Reply

