The Murphy’s Law of Tires

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by……….

The Murphy’s Law of Tires: They always go flat at the most inopportune moment.

* * *

The Good News: The OCD Texas conference last Saturday was a huge success.

The Bad News: It ended at the same time as the UT game.

The Good News: Instead of fighting gridlock, Bobbi, her mother, Janet, and I grabbed dinner downtown.

The Bad News: The only place without a wait was a sports bar and it was LOUD.

The Good News: The queso was awesome.

The Bad News: Our server vanished for thirty minutes and I had to corral another one to pass on the message we needed our bill.

The Good News: It was a beautiful evening with great company and our parking was validated by the conference.

The Bad News: By the time we received our check, it was late and all we wanted to do was crawl into bed.

The Good: I offered to give Janet a ride to her hotel – it was on the way home – to save Bobbi time.

The Bad: The parking garage thought everyone had left and un-validated our tickets.

The Good: Eventually someone was summoned and showed up, setting us free without a ridiculous rate.

The Bad: It was already 9:30 PM.

The Good: I had Janet to keep me company and awake for the thirty minute drive.

The Bad: About 200 feet from my exit ramp, I felt a bump and my front right tire went flat. I pulled over.Flat tire

The Good: I saw Janet’s hotel from the car.

The Bad: She would probably be hit by a car driving 70 mph if she tried to walk to it.

The Good: I know how to change a tire. In theory. My husband is almost a pro.

The Bad: I was dressed up in one of my few nice outfits for the conference. My husband had to stay home with two sleeping children.

The Good:Janet had AAA. I did not. She called them.

My first experience with AAA.

Hint: you should begin your conversation with AAA by telling them which state you are currently in.

The Bad: It took forever to get information to the right dispatcher because she was from out of state.

The Good: They said it would be 25 minutes. Then someone flashing lights appeared behind us.

The Bad: It was not our AAA person, but another guy who did not work with them. He wanted to charge us to change the tire. We explained someone would be there soon. He left.

We called again to verify the time, and were told 45 minutes this time.

What the frak?!?!

We wished we had just paid the $20.

The Good: The real AAA guy showed up about 30 minutes after we’d made the first call. Fifteen minutes later we were on our way.

The Bad: It was almost 11 PM and I was a zombie because I’d been awake since 6:15.

The Good: I had a great chat with Janet I wouldn’t have had otherwise.

The Bad: Sunday was spent replacing two tires on the car and left my husband without a vehicle but with two children while I went to another OCD event.

The tires were not cheap.

The Good: The tires were fixed before the work week.

The Bad: Or so we thought.

The Good: My husband had the car and was supposed to meet us for dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant on Monday night.

The Bad: He walked to his car and noticed one tire was flat. A new one.

What. The. Frak.

The Good: His work uniform is casual because he’s in R&D: jeans and t-shirts. And he knows how to change a tire. He returned to the tire place, getting it repaired (it was a bad valve) at no charge.

The Bad: This left me alone, dining with my two children.

The Good: My children miraculously were on some of their best behavior. The hot fresh unlimited supply of bread helped.

The Bad: I keep waiting for something else to go wrong with the tires.

The Good: So far it hasn’t. Knock on wood….

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Murphy’s Law of Tires

  1. Paige Morgan says:

    That damn Murphy really gives you the business!

  2. ocdtalk says:

    Wow! I didn’t know about that second flat tire!

    I thoroughly enjoyed our time together, Kelly. Next time let’s do it away from speeding vehicles 🙂

  3. ocdtalk says:

    Wow! I didn’t know about that second flat tire!

    I thoroughly enjoyed our time together, Kelly. Next time let’s do it away from speeding vehicles 🙂

  4. That’s a lot of tire damage! I’ve had two happen close together, too. It was when I had just learned to drive, too. After that, my dad refused to let me drive until I knew who to change a tire.

    • My dad loved it when I tried to drive home about 5 AM and got a flat. I couldn’t change it because the spare was locked up and I didn’t have the key.

      After that I stopped driving home so early and just crashed on friend’s couches.

  5. John says:

    Just one great big pile of “what the frack?”

    Glad the craziness appears to have settled a little bit.

    • Yes, Murphy stayed away and I managed NOT to light my house on fire as we explored how to broil beef. First time I have ever used a broiler. Well, technically, my husband, because I was flinging asparagus all over the stove top because I suck at tossing food in a skillet.

      I could really use a Murphy vacation for a while.

      And at least the kids cooperated at dinner that night, or it would have been very, very bad.

  6. Phyllis says:

    Yikes!

  7. I’m glad that all the bads had goods! Crazy tire changing! (I know how to change one too. In theory.)

  8. Pingback: Murphy’s Law of Travel – Don’t Borrow Your Spouse’s Car | Dances with Chaos

  9. Pingback: From Flat to Fixed | Mcgrath Honda Blog

Leave a Reply

