Dead Mom Walking into the Pit of Despair

Dear Readers,

By the time you read this I will be in the Pit of Despair.

What do you mean you don't use nitrous for cleanings??

Again.

For the exact same reason as the linked post above.

AGAIN.

Sure, technically it is “just a cleaning”.

I know the truth.

Last August the same frakking molar felt “funny”.

After two months of living in denial, I am certain my filling came out.

AGAIN.

I hate the Pit of Despair.

I cannot watch the dentist in Finding Nemo - even he scares me.

My teeth hurt just watching...

I cannot even stand experiencing it via Finding Nemo. Whenever The Drill is turned on in the movie, I stuff my fingers into my ears and spew strange noises at top volume.

My four and half year old stares at me as if I’ve lost my mind.

I cannot even sit in the waiting room of the office without blasting music into my ears.

Yes, it is truly that bad.

I am that bad.

You want to build a Haunted House where I run screaming?

Just put it inside a dentist office.

No costumes required.

And the worst thing is, because of this missing filling, I know I have to go back.

Soon.

And they warned me last time if the filling came out again, “more extensive work” might be required.

I’m a dead mom walking.

If you think I’m nervous now, wait until that day.

My teeth hurt just thinking about it.

It was nice knowing you.

Totally freaked out,

Kelly

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Rant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dead Mom Walking into the Pit of Despair

  1. Lori Dyan says:

    Honey. You need to dust off your passport and come visit me in Ontario, because I have the dreamiest dentist to ever canal a root. I actually wrote a love letter to her on my blog. And before finding her, I often cried in the dentist’s chair. For real.

    • I read that post. Did I comment? I meant to comment.

      I was so happy for you.

      I have cried in the dentist chair.

      Do they have silent drills now? Or knock you unconscious for a filling? Because really, that’s what I need. The simple sound of the drill (even in a movie) kicks on my fight or flight response.

      The only dentist I did not want to run screaming from is my son’s. I even asked her if she “did adults”. Sadly, no.

      I doubt they take my dental insurance in Canada…. it might be worth checking out.

  2. I feel your pain. No really, I truly do. I have to go to the dentist today myself for a filling. Ack! {{{Hugs}}}

  3. John says:

    I actually have a very long comment that I just deleted because it would freak you out, and that’s a story best shared for another time.

    Let me just say, I’ve had this precise thing happen to me. I’ll be thinking of you.

    • Thank you for your words of support.

      Doesn’t it seem wrong such a thing is required for a simple cleaning?

      And yes, I will be going back in several weeks. The filling chipped but the tooth is still sealed, so I can still avoid a crown for now.

      Another tooth has a small cavity. (shudder)

      And evidently several teeth have cracking enamel thanks to the old school fillings which are harder than the tooth (this is what they tell me). Which means more crowns.

      Hold me.

      Or just shoot me now.

      Although one friend told me on facebook they have a “magic” filling that should stay forever instead of a crown. I might need to find out more.

      I also have every confidence your deleted post would’ve scared the crap out of me.

      Just talking about teeth makes my own hurt.

      Ow.

  4. So sorry for your terror. I hate the dentist on so many levels, it’s not even funny. I hope it turns out to be lees awful than you are thinking. It could happen.

    • It is less, yet more (see comment to John).

      The filling that chipped is less.

      But there is another tooth needing help. Plus cracking enamels.

      Is it wrong to wish I was a shark that just had unlimited sets of teeth?

      I agree about the hating on multiple levels.

  5. Oh, dear! Are you okay? You poor love.
    I don’t mind the dentist but possibly because I have extraordinarily good luck with cavities – by which I mean, I don’t get them.
    But shots? At the doctor? Oh, hell no! Blood tests? Please god, anything but that! Sweaty-palmed terror just thinking about it. Naturally, pregnancy is GREAT fun……

    • I hear you on shots. I got much “better” about them when I was trying to become pregnant and turned into a human pin cushion.

      I am “blessed” with deep grooves in my teeth, aka the perfect party place for food to hang out until it turns into cavities. Less than stellar dental hygiene in my late elementary years did not help.

      And yes, I do have to go back…. again.

      Thank you for the sympathy my dear.

  6. Next time, watch Finding Nemo with me.

    I’ll ignore you covering your ears when the dentist drills if you ignore my incessant singing of “Just keep swimming…just keep swimming…”

    I love that movie. And the Princess Bride. And you. So I hope you’re okay, my friend.

    • My children love Nemo.

      I think I ran from the room the first time I saw the dentist scene. Now I know when to cover my ears.

      And now that song is stuck in my head… :p

      Perhaps watching The Princess Bride (one of best movies ever) will exorcise it.

Leave a Reply

