Cross Dressing + Spicy = My Son

My son loves attention.

He will often act out to get it.

My son tries wearing drag.

It's amazing what he can squeeze into when not diaper logged. Also, notice the remnants of his Frankenstein "tat"?

Occasionally he will choose an impromptu performance, recreating characters from movies or those in his head, his talent for mimicry hilarious.

Sometimes, it is just out right silliness.

Twice last week, he “accidentally” grabbed his little sister’s clothes and put them on. Once it was a shirt I had no idea he could squeeze into.

Far more impressive was the 2T skirt., because he wears a size 4 or 5.

How he got it up over his hips….?

* * *

Out of the blue one day….

“You’re a pepper, Mommy,” The Tackler said.

The pepper family.

Until he said spicy, I was hoping we were the Dr. Pepper family.

“Okaaaay.”

He gave me a look, like how could I possibly not know what he spoke of.

“I call everyone food. (Points to another vehicle next to us.) They are the blueberries. We are the peppers. We are spicy.”

Yup, that’s us. Chaos with a heap of pepper on top.

As long as I don’t have to eat it, because anyone who knows me is aware I am the biggest spice wuss when it comes to food consumption.

What fashion faux pas has your child partaken of?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cross Dressing + Spicy = My Son

  1. I once dressed my little brother in my swimsuit. I think he burned that picture when he got older.

    • That is one thing my son could not fit in.. thank goodness.

      Probably can’t blame him for burning that photo. Alas, my son won’t have that option, since I was so kind to send it into cyberspace. (insert evil cackle)

      Of course, Lil Diva is already sporting many of The Tackler’s cast offs. She was thrilled about a Nemo shirt she inherited.

  2. Mediocre Mom says:

    My oldest daughter is a walking fashion disaster. I’m not talking purple shirt and red pants. I’m talking eat-your-heart-out-Punky-Brewster combinations. Rainbow floral tights with a purble/blue/green plaid skirt and a yellow shirt with sparkly roller skates. This is a daily event for her. I gave up years ago and told her that she should be who she is, mismatched and all. As long as it’s modest. 🙂

    • Does it age me because I know exactly what style you are in reference too?

      I love that your daughter is comfortable to do what she wants… within modest ranges of course. 🙂

      I am a bit anal about liking my children to match, at least if the outfit has a top and a bottom.

      I often have to say, “Daddy dressed them” by way of explanation when they leave the house with mismatched clashing clothes or somehow have them on backwards (little girl outfits are capable of confounding my engineering husband).

  3. John says:

    When I was a kid, everyone was a color . . . I often wonder why I still don’t think that way.

    My son (not quite 2) has taken to wearing the costume jewelry we have for my daughter. I have no issues with letting him . . . but, yeah, if he were putting on the girl’s clothes, I’d simply wonder about how he was fitting into them.

    • I’m sure he looks fabulous.

      My son never played with girly things… until his sister wanted them. I think it’s more of a battle over wanting what she has than actual desire for the items.

      I love that you thought of everyone as a color.

Leave a Reply

