Monday, it isn’t just you…

Dear Monday,

I hate Mondays

It's not just you.

I know your life is not an easy one.

Your mornings bring cursing from many as the alarm clocks sound, signaling the beginning of the work week. Your greeting means an end to weekend fun, the possibility of sleeping in, or the chance to actually make a dent in the encroaching laundry piles.

You are are the whip cracker, bringing the reality back to us all from the fantasy of the weekend.

I’m pretty sure you want to beat your cousins Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

I have tried not to hold all of these things against you.

I hate Tuesdays Garfield image

I despise any day allowing my children to rise before the sun.

However, when you deem it okay to allow my daughter to awake before 7 AM, the sun still hidden, then talk loud enough she disturbs my son, who then must rush to our room and insist we get out of bed….

It really pisses me off.

So knock it off.

And warn all of your cousins.

And your great grandfather, Daylight Savings Ends.

Because I predict we are going to have a few words in the coming weeks if this year is anything like last year. And the year before.

No one is safe.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday, it isn’t just you…

  1. DST makes me crazy! Two weeks – at least – for us to get reoriented!

  2. Katie says:

    I guess it’s kind of hard for me to relate to this one. Both my kids are almost always up before 7 am. Sometimes before 6 am.

  3. Daylight Savings time is a big flip off to mother’s everywhere.

    And pet owners.

    (Because you can’t explain time change to dogs OR toddlers. And sometimes husbands.)

    XO

  4. DST is awful.

    Especial on Sundays.

    Because hanging out waiting for religious school to start is the way I want to start my Sundays. 😉

  5. Jackie says:

    Ugg… Monday. I still stand by the thought that Monday should be part of the weekend. At least for us moms and everyone else goes to work.

  6. HA HA HA HA! I LOVE THIS! I hope Monday took your warning because it’s really starting to piss me off to! DLST just SUCKS! Plain and simple!

  7. 7am is way too early. I prefer my children to rise around 9am so I can do the same.

  8. John says:

    Daylight savings time, I believe, is just something set to make me crazy. When the kids & pets actually start sleeping later? I have to wake up earlier. Then, when I can actually get an extra hour . . . the kids & pets don’t know the difference.

    We have a rule that we put the kids down in their nursery at the beginning of the night, but as the night progresses, if they wake up, we get them, give them milk, and they spend the rest of the night with us. This means that however wakes first gets to test his or her abilities.

    Usually, it’s our Drama Pixie, Leila – and, if I’m in bed, she’ll come over to me and play with my beard. She’ll do that until I’m awake, and therefore boring, and then go to smack her brother until he’s awake. So, I need to try to wake up, get her diaper changed, and find something to entertain her so that the waking of the Imp doesn’t happen. Because CJ is a lovely boy . . . CJ without sleep is an imp.

Leave a Reply

