Melted Mommy-Goo

My son (The Tackler) mashes his face into my arm.

“What are you doing?” I ask.

“I’m trying to snuggle.”

“That’s not how you snuggle. Why don’t you lay on my lap?”

“Mommy, this is how I like to snuggle because I love you the best.”

My 4.5 year washing the car.

Since I cannot photograph us snuggling, here is another thing that turned me to goo - my 4.5 year old doing an amazing job of scrubbing the splattered bugs off my car.

My heart melts into mushy goo because I am never the “chosen one”.

“Sometimes I don’t like daddy because he’s doing naughty things to me.”

“What naughty things does he do?”

He gives me an earnest look. “He let me go in time-out. That’s a bad thing. And sending me upstairs for a long time is naughty.”

I bite my lips to keep from laughing at Daddy’s “bad things” which I frequently have to do as well.

“And I like you the best, cuz I like you. I got you first.”

Insert more melted Mommy-Goo.

This moment fuels me for the more… challenging days of mother hood.

I hold it close because tomorrow, I am likely to be “out” again.

What things has your child send to you that transform you into melted goo?

Or what creative and sneaky ways do they blame you for their actions?

Just Be Enough button

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Melted Mommy-Goo

  1. Oh, Kelly. I want to go pull my boy out of school and hug him right now.

    But he’d probably get mad.
    Because he’s 14 and that would be embarrassing.

    How come I’M not too old for Mommy Goo but he is?
    DANG it.

    XO

    • Let’s see, he’s 14…

      He would probably love some goo of the slimey green variety…

      Maybe you can have a bonding moment after school doing…. what do 14 year old boys do? Or do I not want to know?

      I hope you had a great birthday last week!

  2. Annie says:

    Aw, so sweet. Taz tells me I look like a princess a lot. It melts me.

  3. Pingback: Hot for Teachers | Dances with Chaos

  4. Li’l D can’t do much blaming with words yet, but he sure does have a way of accusing his daddy of something/everything every time said daddy opens his arms wide for a swap. The look on his face is priceless in those moments!

    What makes me melt these days is when he’s feeling under the weather and says, “Mama, baby,” which means he wants me to pick him up and rock him the way I used to when he was a baby. In those moments, I feel less sadness for how quickly the time just keeps plowing by us.

    • I think I know that look. The “what the frak do you think you’re doing trying to take me out of these arms I am currently in?!” look.

      Ok.. I think I just melted into goo again reading about “mama, baby.”

      I actually had a snuggle pile with both kids shortly after I wrote this post. Of course, no photos exist because I was the only one at home with them.

  5. Aw, so funny! I love it when they call stuff like that “bad”. We got “I’m angry because you gave me a time out” once. So hard not to laugh.

    My melty goo is when he wanders up to me and asks to come up, then sits in my lap and puts his head on my shoulder. Sigh.

    Thanks for linking up with us. Love this one. 🙂

    • Oh, I get the “Mommy I’m very upset with you because you gave me a time-out and put my toys on top of the fridge. You shouldn’t do that.” A lot.

      Which is why I found this so funny, because for once my husband was the one “naughty”, not me.

  6. Melted Mommy Goo. It can be the new OMG…MMG! I love it. My melted mommy goo is when all the hard work you do with your kids comes together… Cleaning up without being asked, saying they need instead of whinning, watching my two play together with out fighting. My 4yr old takes her “punishments” pretty well. Although she is in this wonderful kicking and screaming phase when she is mad. Now my 6yr old has gone to whole different place… Mommy you know when “you”… or her news “your a mean mommy. I don’t like you anymore . “. At least she is direct and to the point. I LOVE the mommy goo idea! -Laverne visiting from Just.Be.Enough. And congrats to see you as the Sunday Spotlight!!

  7. dianne says:

    So sweet! Definitely worth those “other” parenting moments. Off to hug my kids now (rather they want me to or not).

  8. Pingback: 5 Things That Make Me Smile | Just.Be.Enough.

Leave a Reply

