The Samurai Siblings

My two year old daughter often runs around looking rather…. shaggy.

You see, I refuse to cut her hair. It is still the perfect baby fine texture you just want to trace with your fingertips.

I cried when I cut my son’s. I did it as little as possible until about a week before Lil Diva was born.

My 2.5 year old boy had hair almost long enough to pull into a ponytail.

My son followed in the "long hair" tradition... for a while.

My son went from long soft locks, to coarse "big boy" hair.

These were taken on the same day.

Now his hair is coarse, no trace of the baby soft.

I vowed if I ever had a girl, I would not cut her hair unless either she or I demanded it.

Naturally, Lil Diva’s hair has so far been more fine and not near as thick as her brother’s, so until she was about 18 months old, she really didn’t need a haircut.

Because it was so thin, I never attempted any sort of style. Getting three strands of baby hair into a hair clip is no easy feat for a girl who won’t stop moving.

And she takes it out three seconds later.

Now she has just enough hair I could sort of do something with it if I tried.

“You have to style her hair young, or she won’t let you do it when she’s older,” another mother told me.

Taking her words to heart, I bought some baby rubber bands to attempt pulling Lil Diva’s hair out of her face – because if it isn’t for babies, it just slides right out of her silky hair.

“Do you want me to make your hair pretty?” I asked her one evening.

“Yeah,” she said, plopping in front of me.

This will be easy, I thought.

Was I wrong.

My 2 year old gets uneven pigtails a la Pebbles style.

Luckily my husband was around to capture the fleeting moment.

I attempted pigtails – Flintstones style – because she still doesn’t have enough hair for any other arrangement.

I would pull up the hair on one side, and while working on the other, she’d try to immediately pull the finished side out.

The result was something horribly uneven as either side sat in various states of trying to be pulled loose.

If you look closely, in almost every shot where her hand isn’t in her hair, my hand has a guest appearance.

These shots encompass several “stylings” because each style only lasted as long as I could hold her hand to keep her from pulling it out.

“I want to do it!” my son said.

I shrugged and said what the hell.

My 4.5 year old son has his hair pulled into a samurai style.

Perhaps he has a new nickname in the future: Samurai.

After all, she loves to mimic what her brother does. Maybe if he had his hair styled, she would leave hers in.

And with that, the Chaos Kids transformed into the Samurai Siblings.

My kids go for the samurai look.

They both loved sporting the same look.

I patted myself for my brilliance.

For thirty seconds.

My daughter will not leave hair bands in...

Notice her hand placement - ready to remove my formerly glorious styling.

Then I resumed my constant, “Don’t touch your hair, Lil Diva…” as her hands crept back to her head.

So what did I learn?

I’d be better off having my son with long hair and my daughter with the shaved head.

Because he’ll at least wear a style for five full minutes.

Go figure.

Also? My kids can totally rock the Samurai look.

Any tips and tricks out there for teaching your two year old to leave her hair styled?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Samurai Siblings

  1. John says:

    I swear, I could have written this post – as soon as we do anything with our Pixie’s hair, she tries to take it out. And the imp demands to have his hair done.

    • Yes, you cannot be unfair in the hair styling. After ten minutes of trying to take photos while Lil Diva yanked the hair bands out – then promptly asked for them to be put back in – The Tackler wanted a piece of the action.

      Now that he has a little boy cut, the Samurai option was really the only one that worked. It’s too short otherwise.

      But he was thrilled with it.

      While his sister pulled hers out.

      I find myself jealous every time I see a little girl who leaves her hair up.

  2. Annie says:

    I could have written this post, too! Except my son would be the littlest and my daughter the oldest. She never did leave things in her hair until about age 3 or 4.

    I have a hard time cutting my little ones hair as well. All my boys were about 2 1/2 before I could bring myself to cut it. I don’t think I cut my daughter’s hair until she was 5.

    Such a cute post. 🙂

    • My son had several haircuts prior, but then I stopped while I was pregnant and let it grow. 1) He screamed and hated having his hair cut.
      2) I really hated losing those baby locks.

      Knowing I had a girl arrive any day is the only reason I finally caved to his haircut. It hasn’t been as difficult since.

      But her? I can’t even trim the rat-tail she sports in the back because of the “baby bald spot” gap the rest of the hair had to overcome.

      So you’re saying there’s hope once she’s a bit older?

  3. LMAO. This is too funny. My daughter won’t even stay still long enough for me to get a grip on her hair much less put a rubber band around it. On a rare occasion, if I can get some one to keep her distracted, I might manage a barrette or small bow clip of some sort, but that’s about it.

    • How old is your daughter?

      The clips are removed even faster.

      She loves to have her hair done, she just instantly removes it, and asks for me to redo it.

      If I could just get her to forget the things were there, I might have a shot, but so far, no luck.

  4. Love it. The Princess is – almost – seven, and prefers to do her own hair. Which means she looks decidedly homeless. As for your diva, I’m not sure anything short of a stapler will be effective. 😉

    • I have no doubt that as soon as Lil Diva is willing to leave something in her hair, it will be about the time that she has to do it herself.

      So basically, she’s always going to sport the homeless look.

      Perhaps Princess will help it go “popular” and be all the rage.

  5. Sparky says:

    Little thin strips of duct tape in lieu of rubber bands.

    Or maybe a tiny straight jacket…

    Do they make hair gel for kids? Maybe she could sport a slicked back or slicked side-ways look.

    My daughter has hopelessly curly hair if it’s left alone. My best friend with her is BANGS…straight across at the eyebrows. Then the back can do it’s do-wop thing!

    • Trust me, she’d rip those out too, they would just involve tears.

      The straight jacket I’ve considered, more for her brother, but it has potential.

      Awww. curly hair. My children inherited my zero curl factor.

      Let’s hope we don’t have another 80’s fashion decade or she’ll get to enjoy the perm like I did…

  6. Katie says:

    Wow I’m amazed (and somewhat jealous) that your kids could go that long without a haircut. My Little Man started getting monthly haircuts at 11 months because he had so much hair and it grows like the dickens. Luckily his hair has stayed soft. Lil Sis is proving to have just ad much hair as he did. I’m hoping it stays that way for her sake!

    And LM hates having his hair done, but Albert insists on doing it anyway. He chases him around the living room with the hairbrush and this Paul Mitchell kids hair product that we found. Then LM has this pathetic wail when he’s finally caught. It’s pretty comical actually.

  7. My 11 year old asks me to do various hairstyles and always has, but lately she’s never satisfied with the outcome. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sworn I’m not going to touch her hair anmymore only to get pulled back in. It’s maddening.

  8. Oh how I wish I could give you some sage advice on making sure the hairbands stay in. Unfortunately I put the hair bands in my daughter’s hair and they dont stay there for long. Although lately I have noticed her playing with it less and less. Maybe it is just a phase and to just keep at it. However, regardless of how neat it starts out, it always ends up looking like I had not brushed her hair in like 50 years.
    I also havent cut my daughter’s hair at all. It now sits just below her shoulder blades. My sons’ seems to grow at a speed which I dont think is normal! So I am forever having to trim his.

  9. Precious! The only hairdo’s I do are uneven ones. I’m normally doing pony tails on bodies that are in constant motion. It’s a skill – one that I don’t have!

  10. Jackie says:

    I love the little pony tails! I used to do that to the girls when they were little all the time and we (the girls and I) may have tried it a couple times on my son.

  11. Jess says:

    Hmmm… maybe I won’t cut Finn’s curls JUST yet! 😉

  12. Pingback: No Officer, I Don’t Beat My Children | Dances with Chaos

  13. Amanda says:

    awesome! he can totally rock that look.. soooo adorable!

  14. Kris says:

    Ha. She’s so cute. I wouldn’t worry about it. There will be plenty of time for doing her hair later. It’s definitely not worth wrestling over!

  15. Sara Grambusch says:

    You have a multi-cultural family now!
    My only advice would be to put something else in her hands.

  16. Kathleen says:

    That is so funny!

    I was born with very, very thick, curly hair. It took me until I was 25 years old to begin to have a good handle on how to make it behave. One problem I *never* had was keeping it in a rubber band.

    Now, I have two boys and a daughter who has Down’s. Part of the package deal with the extra chromosome is super-fine, straight hair. And I find it to be the supreme irony of parenthood that even though my daughter, by virtue of Mommy’s curls and Daddy’s wiry, curly Italian hair, simply HAD to have curls…she doesn’t. NOTHING stays in her hair, and I’ve given up on braids and all the pretty things I dreamed of doing on my little girl’s hair. After all those years spent figuring out how to handle my hair, it seems so unfair! LOL

  17. Nope. No great suggestions here. Sorry! My kidlets have a lot of hair (I have really thick hair…if I see one more ‘volumizing’ hair product on the shelf, I’m gonna shave it all off….I don’t need anything that’s volumizing,that’s for sure…but, I digress) & my girl had enough hair that I had to start putting clips in it when she was a baby. Sometimes she pulled them out, sometimes they slid out (lots of hair, but it’s fine), so I must have put them back up & in her hair many dozens of times each day. Our big challenge has been finding a hair accessory that she can put in herself that would hold her hair off her face. Enter the headband. Hopefully, if you just keep putting L’il Diva’s hair up every day, she’ll eventually resign herself to it. Maybe?? :> Either way, yay for big brother gettin’ in on the action and you’ve got cute Samurai siblings! :>

  18. Frelle says:

    My 3rd daughter was the only one of my girls who allowed her hair to be styled. She is still very into having her hair done up. The other two were shaggy critters, and are still hard to keep brushed and out of eyes, and they are 11 and 8! Great pictures, and fun storytelling too 🙂

  19. Terry says:

    Oh how I remember these days…and I have plenty of Flintstone (and Samurai)pictures to remind me. Very cute post, and children. Gave me a smile.

  20. Anastasia says:

    We never did anything with my oldest’s hair, she likes it short and hates having it in ponytails or brushed. The middle wants hair like rapunzel’s and loves for me to play with it and the baby is exactly like Lil’ Diva. As soon as I put anything in her hair she’s trying to pull it out again. Sigh.

  21. Pingback: So What if My Son Has a Pink Rubber Band In His Hair…. In Public | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

