I’m Sorry, We Interrupt Tuesday’s Post to Bring You…

…. why I haven’t posted today.

The disaster of my kitchen at the midway pantry clean out point.

Midway through the clean out process.

I have a corner pantry that has not been re-organized since I was pregnant with Lil Diva. To say this was overdue, would be an exaggeration.

I used every bit of “free” time today while the kids were at school to work on it.

I’m still not quite done.

I can almost see my counters again.

I want nothing more than to re-establish my butt imprint on my couch, because my legs and feet are killing me.

So I need you all to hold me accountable to finishing.

Be sure to check in Wednesday for an update on the pantry (did I finish? did I crap out?) and photos of what happens when I try to make Lil Diva look girlie.

They’re hilarious.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I’m Sorry, We Interrupt Tuesday’s Post to Bring You…

  1. Oh this is one of those projects that always has to get WORSE before it gets better.
    So hang in there. I think I can see the light at the end of the pantry…

    I always laugh at what I find in the back of mine.

    How many cans of kidney beans did I think I needed, exactly?
    And that dry mix for bacon/ranch veggie dip that expired in 2003.

    Yum. Good times.

    • I filled two trash bags with stuff expired in the pantry – and that was what didn’t go in the garbage disposal or the recycle bin.

      I should create a soup dispenser that looks like a soda dispenser – where you load the top and the oldest one pops out the bottom. The soups were all ones we eat, but had gotten buried by newer items as we fought to find space…

      And baby food. Lil Diva hasn’t had any in year, and we still had tons – some of it still good I’ll have to pass on.

      I think we had kidney beans too.

      We’ve never eaten kidney beans. I blame my mother.

  2. Fingers crossed that you’ll finish.

  3. Any half-empty boxes of Frosted Flakes lurking in the corner? 🙂

    Good luck!

  4. I did my pantry/shithole last month. So glad it’s over!!

  5. Sparky says:

    Hey, I did that once when my daughter was four….found 2 cans of baby food, some formula, and a box of rice cereal! …and a Marky Mark CD. Scary.

  6. Liz McLennan says:

    That you’re even ATTEMPTING this is amazing and I bow down to you. Me, I just toss stuff in and slam the door hard and fast, hoping nothing topples out.

    • I’ve been doing that for the last year.

      With the kids at MDO for several hours, I actually have a window with them out of the house, which is a requirement to avoid breaking glass and “Oh, I want to eat that expired snack and I will pitch a fit if you don’t let me have it!” syndrome.

      I have a huge checklist of things like this that haven’t been done since Lil Diva was born. Once my house is organized I can hopefully focus on writing.

      Maybe by February at this rate. Just in time to have to redo everything…

  7. John says:

    I’m just reading this on a Wednesday, so I’m eager with anticipation.

    My mother-in-law retired this year, and spends a fair amount of time at the house either babysitting or just playing with the babies. The last time she was there, she didn’t have any craft projects that she was working on, and the babies fell asleep, so she did this to our pantry. It freaking rocks (even if I now can’t find anything because I knew I left the tuna just to the left of the bag of stale tortilla chips, and now there are no stale tortilla chips carefully balanced on top of the dog treats that the dogs don’t like that fall to the floor every time I open the pantry door)

    • Wow. That’s just amazing.

      Stale tortilla chips are the perfect marker in a pantry.

      Funny, at our house it was cans of wet cat food my MiL gave me that kept falling to the floor. My cats only eat dry food so they did that for about a year…

Leave a Reply

