What Happened to September?

Life has been a bit… crazy lately.

Here is a quick sum up of why I haven’t been blogging, reading blogs, responding to comments, or hanging out on Twitter lately.

And if you know me, by quick, I mean under 700 words…

Birthday Bombardment: It happens every September, a month so completely flooded with birthdays I know multiple people celebrating on almost every day. In my house alone, three out of our small group of four have birthdays.

That’s a lot of cake baking, present wrapping, party planning, and devouring of way too much sugar.

My phone rang off the hook with birthday wishes on Monday and my voice grew more and more hoarse – a side effect from roller coaster screaming the day before.

Bobbi even brought me some gifts (love you dear).

I highlighted in pink the obvious search bomb "gifts" from my birthday.

To my shock, I had some online presents this year as well. Thank you to those who search bombed me on my birthday – you made my day. For those who don’t know what search bombing is, check out this post by Leanne Shirtliffe (aka Ironic Mom). And join us in the search bombing madness….

Must. Get. Stuff. Done: I’m finally knocking off items on my To Do List while my children are off at “preschool”. Some days it means running errands to places they would destroy, shopping, or madly organizing the house. No matter the option, I am unable to be online while in “accomplishing” mode.

It’s Molar Time: Lil Diva has three molars left and we are done with teething. One of her two year molars is in (yes!) which means its mate should be appearing any day now. We are plagued by too short naps, night waking, and transformations from laughing to screaming Banshee in half a second.

I miss my happy girl and would like these teeth hurry up and appear. Please?

Roller Coasters, Kiddie Rides, & The Raft Riding Record: CG, The Tackler and I schlepped off to Six Flags Fiesta Texas again this year – courtesy of his company’s “family day”. Lil Diva stayed behind with Bobbi (who despises amusement parks) and we drove the two hours to San Antonio for the park’s opening at 10 AM.

CG and I did roller coasters and water rides. The Tackler rode the kid trucks, airplanes, teacups, and chickened out on the kid roller coaster. We all rode the train and carousels. I convinced The Tackler to try the enclosed ferris wheel – which he enjoyed once he discovered how smooth it was.

And we all rode the river raft ride. CG rode with us several times before vanishing with Dawn to hit more roller coasters.

Then The Tackler, O (my friend Dawn’s daughter), and I rode it again. And again.

Ten times total for me.

In a row.

It was awesome.

We left eight and half hours after arriving and had a two hour drive ahead of us.

Did I mention I was awake at 5:30 AM that morning and couldn’t fall back to sleep?

Sleeping: I can usually function with little sleep. Lately, I’m exhausted all of the time. I’m too tired to write, to think, to do anything other than stare mindlessly at the TV shows I’ve recorded.

It isn’t even 10 PM as I write this and I’m ready to pass out….

Holy Swim Lessons, Batman: We missed every single scheduled day of swim lessons in August. Either the teacher, the other student, or we were out of town every Saturday for the entire month. This meant we’ve had two make up lessons every week since we returned from our trip, on top of our normal slot. It pretty much shoots the whole night away.

Crisis Overload: A friend of mine has had a very, very rough month and we’ve spent hours talking about it.

Because that’s what friends do.

So I apologize for my seeming absence, typo-ridden dull posts because I fall asleep while typing, and my lack of returned comment love.

If it makes you feel any better, my laundry has been equally ignored and is reaching crisis levels…

What sucked your time away in September?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Happened to September?

  1. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    I’m so with you. This month has been crazy. Both of my girls have their bdays this month and with school starting… Somehow it’s only now just starting to settle down. Hope you get more energy and more writing soon!

    • Having birthdays really does suck the time. You’d think school would help, but I have found having “free” time makes the hours even more filled with my To Do List tasks.

      Writing… Some day I will be able to do that during free time, once my house is no longer a disaster.

      Right?

  2. Maybe we’ve started something knew with you. The Birthday SearchBomb. Clay and I had talked about that. Now I just have to learn everyone’s birthday…

  3. Annie says:

    Happy Birthday!!

    I’m so glad your absence has been because of happy times. 🙂 (other than the friend in crisis…hope they are okay)

    Starting school has sucked my September away. With 4 kids in four different schools – four different parent nights, open houses, and all the added stuff to the schedule that goes with the older kid’s extra-curriculars – it’s been insane.

  4. HOLY COW! You have been busy!!

    Soccer! Soccer has sucked away our September, and will suck away our October and November as well.

    • I love soccer. I’ve considered enrolling The Tackler in martial arts or soccer.

      Then I forget about it as I think of the times and wrangling Lil Diva while he’s at class.

      So far our thing is swim lessons, because living in Texas with the long summers, it is the one most likely to preserve my future sanity…

    • Annie says:

      Ditto! At least all my kids play on Saturday and practice on Tues/Fri. At least we are all going to the same place at the same time. 🙂

  5. I sent you the “What the Frak” bomb. And a whole bunch of other ones that didn’t seem to make it. Maybe there were more that you didn’t put on the bloggie. 😉 Glad you enjoyed the stealth-mode plan.

    And I have learned that your family “gets busy” in December.

    Good to know.

  6. Pingback: Smooth operator « Belle Essentials

Leave a Reply

