I Think I Love My New Pediatrician

I think I may love our new pediatrician.

We recently switched branches because our old location merged with another and I hate the new location.

Not only is my new one closer, but it’s practically next door to where the kids attend Mother’s Day Out.

The coolest thing by far, is the new doctor we have.

This does not do his infectious grin justice.

We visited him twice in the last two days. Monday, because The Tackler complained about ear pain (his ears looked perfect), and Tuesday for Lil Diva’s two year well check. And shots.

Complete with the well check comes a stack of paperwork for you to fill out, mostly questions about things your child does and does not do.

The last page was about your child’s diet, asking you to estimate how many servings of this that and a pile of other things about your two year old’s eating habits.

I had no idea what to write. Some days she lives off of cereal and cheese, other days she inhales fruit. Sometimes she grazes and barely touches her food, other days she out eats her brother. Vegetables that are not carrots are almost unheard of. And could I could peanut butter as a meat?

I informed the front desk we were in a hurry because the kids had school in thirty minutes, but if they ran “on time” we should make it no problem. Miracle of miracles, we were ushered in quickly. The nurse measured my daughter (she’s pretty much 50% for everything across the board) and told me the doctor would be right in.

I’ve heard that song and dance before.

But Lil Diva had only been undressed about twenty seconds when the doctor entered. I had not even completed the final form about eating.

He grinned, putting the kids at ease, high fiving them and shaking my hand.

I handed him the clip board.

“I didn’t get a chance to complete the last form.” I said, preparing myself for the lecture on how unbalanced her diet was at this age.

He shook his head, ripped the form from the stack and crumpled it into a little ball. “Don’t bother. I have no idea why they have you fill these out for two year olds. It’s way too young.”

He could not have shocked me more if he’d offered free medical care.

Because most doctors don’t say things like that.

Then he smiled when The Tackler somehow removed one of the blood pressure cuffs off the wall and ripped the paper from the exam table – not a hint of irritation to be found.

Yeah, I think I love our new pediatrician, who knows that kids are kids.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Think I Love My New Pediatrician

  1. Katie says:

    Sounds like our pediatrician, who I also love! Ours has 5 kids of his own (and is also pretty young–for a doctor). That *must* help them to have that understanding of little kids.

  2. John says:

    Wow, that’s pretty awesome.
    And the filling out of that form sounds like my own private hell.

  3. TheKirCorner says:

    oooh he’s adorable too. We have a peditrician in our practice that is older but I totally have a crush on him, because he calls the boys “The dynamic Duo” and is always talks to me like I’m a mom and not a moron.

    So glad you have a great Dr. *hubba hubba* LOL

  4. Oh I know that feeling. My best friend and I used the same pediatrician for our four (combined) kids. He was about our age, super-tall, and the father of five girls.

    Also, he was cute. But really? When a grown man can reassure you that your child is healthy and/or offer a prescription and directions to make your child healthy again in the event that he’s not?

    You start to fantasize about having one of those at home.
    “We should have married pediatricians,” my friend said. I did not disagree.

    I remember the first time we met and I introduced him to my son. He said, “Lord help me, I can’t make one of those.”

    I said, “One of what?”

    He said, “A boy. But I sure do love my girls, though. All FIVE of them.” Then he winked.
    Yep. I had a crush for sure…

    XO

    • I wish I had a pediatrician family member/friend that lived in my city. Do you have any idea how much I’d have saved in copays if I’d only had someone able to look in my children’s ears for ear infections?

      And we have good insurance. If we did not, we’d probably have a second mortgage from the cost of just those visits.

      I think I would still have a crush if it was a female who behaved the same way and be equally in love with them. I absolutely adore The Tackler’s preschool teacher and daydream about bringing her home with me to get him to behave. She also has the perfect personality to deal with children, even the difficult ones. *cough cough^

  5. Leigh Ann says:

    Ha ha ha! Christian and I attend that clinic for ourselves, but our kids go somewhere else. I had a few twin mom friends who recommended this guy, but we went with our current doc and love her. I think their reason was that he was great and also very cute. And that he is!

  6. I looove and adore my paed too!
    He totally understands kids and knows exactly how to handle them. He is brilliant and I swear I shall never leave him! lol! Yeah, totally aware I now sound kinda like a stalker. 😉

  7. It is so nice to have one that you and the kids like.

Leave a Reply

