True Cause of Hiccups, How to Eat Nasty Medicine, & Knock Knock Jokes

We pulled out of the driveway to get dinner – the fire danger so great we didn’t dare grill for Labor Day.

I asked The Tackler, “Where do you want to eat for dinner?”

“Mommy, if you go in my mouth, I’ll get the hiccups. Cuz your head would touch the roof of my mouth.”

“Uh… That’s fascinating, but not the question I asked. I just wanted to know where we should eat for dinner.”

* * *

The Tackler was fighting another medicine dose for his ear infection, so my husband referenced Mickey Mouse’s Clubhouse and said to him, “Do we need a mouse-ka-tool?”

My son shook his head.

“No we don’t need a mouse-ka-tool, we need a Tackler-ka-tool*.”

* * *

Lil Diva grinned from the back seat.

“Knock knock!”

The gratuitous brick shot: Lil Diva at 11 bricks, The Tackler at 14 bricks.

Surprised she’d picked this up from her brother I asked, “Who’s there?”

“Diva*!” she cackled in response.

This was the first time she’s actually spoken her name.

She then repeated this format for the next five minutes, being sure to “knock knock” CG and Bobbi as well.

Getting very upset if we dared not reply “Who’s there?”

* * *

What knock knock jokes have your children told you before?

*My children spoke their real names, not their blog ones. I don’t think they know what I call them on here…. yet.

 

 

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to True Cause of Hiccups, How to Eat Nasty Medicine, & Knock Knock Jokes

  1. You don’t want to know my kids’ knock knock jokes. They have an arsenal, most of which I heard on the drive to and from Johnston Canyon in Banff National Park yesterday!

  2. Monkey has moved onto puns, sarcasm and duct tape. Just wait.

  3. I want to go drag my kids out of school immediately and line them up in front of a wall of bricks.
    This is normal right?

    Plus, I maybe want them to tell me knock knock jokes all day long now.
    Because sarcasm and duct tape have come to our neck of the woods, too.

    And I don’t like to share.

    • We’ve done brick shots since my son was 1 month old – they are just a lot more sporadic now.

      How old do your kids have to be to tie them up with duct tape?

      Because I’ve wondered…

      Oh wait… did you mean the kids play with the duct tape?

      Um.. right. Nevermind.

  4. When A-Boy was smaller, then three now seven, the punch line to knock knock jokes was the “who’s there?”. This lasted for alost a year. #autism or just “I’m a Goofy Goober!”(Sponge Bob).

  5. OH I love when little once just speak randomly! It’s so stinking cute!

    The stranges Knock Knock joke my boys told me as of lately was:
    Knock, knock…who’s there…I don’t know, who?…I don’t know who, who? I don’t know, mommy…who’s there? Ummmmm….

Leave a Reply

