Why I Dropped Off the Face of the Earth

Wondering why it almost appears as if I’ve dropped off the face of the earh? Here’s why I haven’t been commenting or responding to so many of you lately.

Note: It took most of today to add the images. Yes. There are a lot.

Visiting the Family, by the Numbers

2.3 weeks gone from home.

1 flight to Kansas City alone with my two kids.

0 Airplane Poopapaloozas.

3.5 hour drive to Iowa on only two hours of sleep.

1.1 weeks I solo parented.

7 hours spent at Iowa State Fair with my sister and two kids.

Yeah... he doesn't like sky gliders at all (at Omaha Zoo).

3 different places where sky gliders were ridden: fair, amusement park, and Omaha Zoo.

6 total rides on sky gliders.

15 days of no workouts.

3 days in a row without a shower.

2 water parks visited – both with cold water.

Cupcakes are the preferred cake devouring medium.

1 batch of cupcakes baked and decorated by The Tackler. Consumed by both kids.

2 batches of brownies baked by The Tackler.

He's already dreaming about licking the beaters...

2 batches of brownies mostly devoured by me.

heart warming greeting for CG after kids spent over a week away.

The kids were ecstatic to see CG after a week, and charged him...

2 doctor visits: one worthless, one to get a prescription for The Tackler’s ear infection.

4.5 hours of driving in one day for round trip to Omaha Zoo.

7 hours spent at Omaha Zoo.

???Animals viewed and pointed at with excitement (too many I couldn’t even guess).

A small sampling of the animals we saw there. Notice the two turtles....

0 naps by Lil Diva at zoo.

90% of drive there was in a downpour.

0 inches of rain once we arrived.

6 carousel rides for Lil Diva (at amusement park and zoo).

Lil Diva loved the carousels, and at the zoo, had to pick different animals each time.

2 times I almost fell on butt trying to photograph kids on various carousels.

2 people water skied: CG and me.

A highlight for CG and me was finally getting to water ski again, and watch the kids watch us.

2 children fascinated watching their parents ski.

4 hours spent catching up with college girlfriend without child interruption.

3 adults who were also sick during visit.

2 days it felt hotter (heat index) in Iowa than Texas.

Grandpas hugged and played with.

The kids soaked up the extra attention.

(great) G-ma snuggled.

He wanted G-ma to "lay on his belly". Do not ask me why but it was just too cute.

(great) G-pa wrestled.

The Tackler was wrestling with G-pa so Lil Diva (naturally) wanted in on the action.

Mimi worn to exhaustion by snuggles, baking, and games.

Mimi was a baking and snuggle fiend, minus the few days she was sick....

Aunties seen.

Lil Diva shares some smooches with her auntie.

Uncle who helped them defy gravity.

One of about 20 awesome shots of my brother with the kids.... They adore their Uncle.

high school friends I reconnected with.

54+ ears of corn on the cob shucked.

Notice the Lil Diva beneath my legs. This was the Tackler first (but not last) corn shucking lesson.

13 ears of fresh Iowa sweet corn consumed by just me.

8+ times I ate my favorite soft shell taco at childhood Taco joint.

2 times ate far too many slices of pizza from favorite pizza place.

After watching The Tackler ride the tractor for 15 minutes, Lil Diva insisted on joining.

1 very long tractor ride with Grandpa.

3 days to drive back to Texas with CG and kids.

stop in Kansas City and stay with college friend.

My college friend was nice enough to let us crash at her place for a night.

1sweet adorable baby I got to hold and meet for first time.

Aww... that baby smell...

1 new boyfriend for Lil Diva.

Lil Diva and "Lil Man" totally hit it off.

KC fountain my kids completely drenched themselves in.

The kids loved this fountain.

2 kids who required full clothing changes.

1 lovely evening of playing in my aunt’s pool in Tulsa.

I love this face..

3 catastrophes avoided in her non-childproofed house.

1 paint incident stopped with the only damage to Lil Diva. And her PJs.

1 tank of fish kids went crazy over.

961+ photos taken over two weeks. On just my camera. That have been copied over so far. Does not count iPod or cell phone or ones taken by others.

2 blogging friends I missed connections with and hope to catch next time.

5 estimated pounds I probably gained over the two weeks.

57 blogs I haven’t had a chance to read because of all of the above.

15+ hours spent in the car driving back to Texas.

2 cats who wondered where the hell we went left at home to greet us.

3 days minimum needed to recover from my “vacation”.

1 Labor Day that will be spent getting groceries, doing laundry, hopefully working out, and preparing for the next day when both kids attend Mother’s Day Out for four hours.

Oh crap.

1 homework assignment due on Tuesday for The Tackler that hasn’t been started yet.

How are you spending your Labor Day (or whatever they call it for my Canadian friends)?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Iowa and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why I Dropped Off the Face of the Earth

  1. As one of those Skyping bloggers you missed, all I can say is Dang it! I sooooo want to catch up with you. But I’m glad to know you have just been busy rounding out summer! We’ll catch up soon! Glad you are home.

    You know, so you can do all that laundry. 😉

  2. HOLY CRAP!! I’m exhausted just reading this! But it sure sounds like you had a great two weeks!! Take your time, re-group. We’ll be here when you’re ready to dive back in!

    • It was crazy busy, except for the few days we spent sitting in my mom’s house b/c the heat index was so high we couldn’t play outside, my mother was sick, my brother was at college, my sister back at home, and my old friends at work.

      I wondered why I bothered those days.

      The rest made up for it, though weather tried to thwart us. Twice. And cut our days a lot shorter than planned.

      But it was awesome.

  3. Annie says:

    Man, you’ve been busy! I’ve fallen off the face of the earth, too. But for different reasons.

    Had several thoughts while reading this:
    I love skiing….those pictures are awesome. What great fun.
    The Omaha Zoo Rocks! Love that place. Glad you got to enjoy it.
    So sad I didn’t get to meet up with you in KC. It will happen one of these days!
    I’ve visited my doc a few more times than I would like…due to the accident.
    I’ve missed 3 weeks (about 15-18 days) of workouts…due to accident. Yuck. I feel fluffy.

    Hoping to have a new van by Wednesday! This whole process has taken forever.

    Sounds like you had such a great time. Hope you get a chance to rest and recover. Vacations are work! 🙂

    • Good luck on the new van.

      I can relate all too well about the fluffy feeling. I think I gained three pounds gorging on my favorite childhood foods thanks to no exercise (if only they would build one of my gyms there…).

      LOVED the zoo.

      And water skiing. It brought back many memories, because we started do that as teen (with his dad) when we were still in the flirting phase but not dating.

  4. What do you mean he has homework? Already?? I am going to get ready for bed now as you have exhausted me! Enjoy your couple of hours tomorrow.

    • Yup, he did. And Thursday a second piece of homework came home.

      It just doesn’t seem right. Until kids can do it on their own, homework shouldn’t exist. I never had homework until third or fourth grade.

      I find I like to be busy, but it was exhausting.

  5. Love the numbers. And the pictures. And the thousands of words they represent.

    Also hoping you’re all safe there in Texas, my friend.

    XO

  6. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    That looks like an amazing trip and those photos are fantastic, camera girl. My dds love the animal pics. Glad you’re home safe.

Leave a Reply

