Holy Shoots, You Have a Small Piston Cup!

A week ago, I had never heard the phrase.

Now, it’s everywhere…

The plane moves on the runway and the engine roars to life. My 4 1/2 year old yells,

“Holy shoots! Holy shoots! Holy shoots, Mommy!”

The passengers look sharply at me, expecting another phrase entirely. Giving me a look, as though I curse in front of my children all the time.

Silly people. Don’t they know I say “shnikeys” (pronounced sh-Nike’s, like the shoe brand)?

The phrase is new, somehow gleamed from the character of Mater in a video I had never seen or shown him.

It’s The Tacklers latest catch phrase, and one I like much better than the “poopy” sentences where it is a subject, verb, and adjective.

We countdown to the plane landing..

“Holy shoots!”

Riding on the sky glider across the fair grounds, rising into the sky…

“Holy shoots, we’re really high!”

I lost count of how many "holy shoots" this ride elicited.

I’m taking bets on how long until Lil Diva picks up the phrase.

* * *

My sister’s birthday was a week ago. Lil Diva’s is in several weeks.

Naturally this equaled the perfect excuse to bake cupcakes while my brother and sister were at my mother’s house.

The Tackler assists Mimi as I take Lil Diva up for her bath, saying, “Send him up when he’s done.”

Ten minutes later he flies into the bathroom.

“Mommy! I have a buddy! It’s chocolate!”

Proof children will befriend anything...

He turns to show me the dollop of chocolate batter on the outside corner of his right eyebrow – the result of the beater coming too close during the traditional taste test.

Decorating: the fine balance of coating the frosting, but dumping enough on the foil to eat later.

He was very upset I made him wash “his buddy” away.

The next day we decorate the cupcakes, my sister slathering on the white dream whip frosting, The Tackler in charge of the various sprinkles.

As he perfects the dispersal method, many miss the frosting and fall to the foil beneath. The Tackler cries,

“Look at all my buddies. Can I eat them?”

“When we’re all done, you can eat them.”

“Okay.”

We set aside two cupcakes from the main batch, one for each child.

Lil Diva climbs onto Mimi’s lap for a front row seat to view the last of the decorating. She points at the cupcakes.

“Pan-cake!”

“Cupcakes,” I say, correcting her.

She points at the sprinkles.

“Bud-die! Bud-die!”

Guess how long it took for her to demand some "pancake" and frosting...

Proof again, how easily she will learn from her brother.

Is it any wonder I await the day “poopie poo-poo head” springs from her mouth?

* * *

Continuing the Cars theme…

My son and my mother play the newest board game, Photo Safari, and battle it out.

The Tackler wins three to Mimi’s zero.

Finally, she redeems herself, snatching the win.

Instead of his typical meltdown following an end-of-winning-streak loss, he turns to Mimi and says,

“Mimi, you have a little Piston Cup. I have a really big one.”

Because size does matter for Piston Cups. Apparently.

And it beats a meltdown.

* * ************************************************************************** * *

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Iowa, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Holy Shoots, You Have a Small Piston Cup!

  1. Duh! Everyone knows it’s the size of the piston that matters.

    He’s really growing up, eh?

    Li’l Diva, too.

    Better “buddies” than meltdowns.

  2. John says:

    I absolutely adore that picture of Lil’ Diva trying to drink the sprinkles.

    It looks like the Tackler is actually turning out to be a pretty good little helper in the kitchen when sweets are involved 🙂

    • Helping bake in the kitchen is the one time The Tackler is a total angel – holding out for the beaters at the end. If I could bake with him all the time, I would.

      But Lil Diva gets mad, because she wants to help and isn’t quite big enough.

      And my oven is still broken at home.

      Lil Diva really wanted those sprinklers.

      Stay tuned for the shot of her inhaling the cupcake.

  3. Annie says:

    I love that Lil Diva is licking the sprinkle container, while taking mental note of Tackler’s beater licking skills. 🙂

    My ten-year-old thinks it’s hilarious to insert poopie-poo into any song lyrics. Apparently anything with “poo” in it is a riot when your a boy.

    • My husband gets soooo annoyed with the “poopie” talk whereas I know this is truly a “boy” thing. I was the oldest of (mostly) many male cousins. I am aware of the fascination.

      I just don’t want Lil Diva to follow with her own fascination.

  4. Katie says:

    Can’t believe you haven’t seen Cars! It beats Nemo by a mile (in my opinion). As you may guess, Cars was Jake’s obsession after Nemo. And before Thomas.

    • Sorry, I should rephrase.

      I have seen Cars. Too many times to count.

      I can quote Cars.

      It was The Tackler’s favorite movie for over a year.

      So I am pretty sure the phrase “Holy shoots” is nowhere in the original Cars movie.

      It may be in one of Mater’s Tall Tales or in a preview for the new movie (which we haven’t seen). Or in a book. None of which I’ve viewed/read.

      That was what I was in reference to.

      My favorite Pixar is Monsters Inc, or Toy Story 2 (the latter less so since I’ve had to listen to it over 50 times)..

      My son is dying to see all of The Incredibles, thanks to previews on DVDs and the gym child care (which I’ve scolded for showing the more violent animated films).

      Neither cares for Ratatouille. At all.

      • Katie says:

        I think Mater says it once in the original, but I’m trying to remember the exact line. We’re off of Disney/Pixar for the moment and on to Thomas and Friends and a Chinese cartoon character called Pororo. Neither of which I mind.

        • Yeah.. Thomas and Friends cartoons make me want to stab my eye…. I try to avoid showing them shows that give me that feeling. It just seems wise. 🙂

          Never heard of Pororo.

        • Katie says:

          I have the same policy:) I actually don’t mind Thomas though. Not surprised you haven’t heard of Pororo. He’s a little penguin. Jake’s cousin loves Pororo so Albert’s dad copied the disks and sent them to Jake. Your kids will probably be introduced when you’re through here in a couple of weeks!

        • You have me intrigued about Pororo now. I like penguins.

  5. I have a buddy. It’s chocolate! Oh my ~ the Tackler and I have friends in sweet places…

    And for the record, I think Holy shoots! is adorable…no matter what size anyone’s piston cup is.

    This post made me smile.
    And I’m not even eating any chocolates.

    So it’s serious.

  6. Once again, I have to tell you how cute your kids are! I love the “Holy Shoots”! Mighty catchy saying.

  7. These pictures are just precious and capture your life perfectly. I think chocolate is my buddy too. Be thankful that “holy shoots” is the only thing that escapes his lips. Once when my mom was visiting, The Tortoise spilled something on the dinner table and shouted ” Oh Sh*t”. When we all looked at her in shock, she said, “What? Isn’t that how Daddy says it?”. You are an amazing mom and your kids are going to remember all of these wonderful memories. And what an added bonus that you are documenting everything just in case they forget.

  8. Hillary says:

    Way cute! Chocolate is totally my bff so he’s got good taste 😉 The pictures are so sweet!

  9. Anastasia says:

    Adorable! I love the picture of them both licking the supplies.

  10. Kathleen says:

    So cute. My (current) youngest is just going crazy with speech…much of which requires great thought to interpret. Kid talk is one of the greatest miracles of parenthood.

  11. Jackie says:

    “Oh my Gosh! Oh my Gosh! Oh my Gosh!” has recently overtaken my 3yr old’s vocabulary. I think at this age, they develop their own catchphrases for a while, and just like any fad, drop it and move on to the next.
    For your sake, I’m hoping the Diva avoids “holy shoots” and anything related to “poopy”!

  12. Galit Breen says:

    Oh my, yes. You did capture your ‘lil loves!

    Your words are lovely, Kelly!

  13. I have chocolate buddies too 🙂

    Your children are just adorable!

Leave a Reply

