Fun + Murphy = Exhaustion

I want to curl into a ball and pass out.

It’s only 9:45 PM.

I’m cratering fifteen entire minutes later than last night.

Me. The Night Owl rarely in bed before midnight.

You see… Lil Diva has The Cough again.

Friday, she napped for fifteen entire minutes – broken up by The Cough.

Saturday she passed out whenever the cough was quiet for a bit.

Don’t get me started on what the nights have been like.

As I type this, I hear coughs over the monitor and wonder if I will be needed. Again.

Today, she finally, blessedly slept for three hours for her nap.

Thank God.

I don’t think I could’ve dealt with another day.

Not that I’ve taken to hiding indoors and cowering.

My sister and I schlepped to the Iowa State Fair with both kids on Saturday – despite the possibility of utter failure because of a cranky Lil Diva.

I think we had more issues with The Tackler.

She was in awe of all the people and things to watch.

I’ll have a post about it.

Some day. When I don’t have my bed screaming at me to join it before the next hacking fit.

I can barely keep my eyes open.

I’m too tired to attach a photo.

I don’t see this pattern altering before CG joins us.

Anyone have a guest post waiting to be shared?

Not that I’ll have the time to read it.

Damn catch-22.

Fun is being had, don’t get me wrong. Too much to list in my current state of incoherence. I just don’t have time to recover from all of the fun thanks to The Cough. Or blog.

Just warning you.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Iowa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fun + Murphy = Exhaustion

  1. John says:

    Oh, Kelly – that sounds truly horrible. My daughter seems to have my lungs, and, therefore, gets The Cough every few months. Fortunately, she manages to kick it after a day or two . . . but, twice now, she has given it to the boy, who gave it right back to her . . . and those times lead to weeks of crankiness.

    I hope all are feeling better soon – and I do hope to hear about the Iowa state fair! I hear there was corn there.

    • Ohh.. The Cough Loop is the worst! It is what happened at Christmas time when we visited here and was evil.

      I’m doing better today… My sweet mother took the kiddos so I could sleep in. My nights of sleep are punctuated by interruptions, so even if I’m “asleep” for eight hours, I haven’t felt rested, my body finally weaned off the newborn/pregnancy sleep pattern.

      Lil Diva didn’t wake me from coughing past 10, but The Tackler had a nightmare at 4 AM, so I crawled into his bed and listened to his tale of the nightmare.

      I’m missing how smoothly everything was last May, when I flew solo with the kids, lulling me into the “it’s easy, you can take it even without your luggage” attitude.

      I hate The Cough. I now have multiple blog posts about how much I despise it.

      Luckily The Tackler is doing pretty well, and I think Lil Diva is slowly getting better. Maybe.

      I don’t want to jinx it.

      But I feel your pain, when you get it.

  2. I HATE the cough. When my daughter gets it I find myself litterally cringing. Hope the Diva makes a speedy recovery and doesn’t just pass it along.

    • I do the same.

      Because I know what I’m in for.

      I do not believe this form of The Cough is contagious, but the evil resulting from teething two year molars: the drool drainage irritating the throat, the cough beginning, and then (eventually) the ear infection following.

      I’ll probably take her to the doctor tomorrow, because between the plane flight and the drainage, the odds her she will have one by then.

      I’ll take The Tackler too. Because he gets one 90% of the time when we fly.

      Oy.

  3. Annie says:

    Man, I feel your pain! We are having quite a week, aren’t we? My DD had The Cough constantly as a tot. It wasn’t until kindergarten that things settled out. I thought I might actually die from lack of sleep. Now I’m barely sleeping because of The Toe. It’s getting better though.

    Hang in there, my friend!

    • The way I see it, you probably haven’t had sleep since you first procreated. That’s what, twelve years?

      Your week blows mine out of the water. Send good thoughts CG’s way as he drives from Texas to Iowa next week by himself.

      I bent my toenail in half once. It hurt crazy bad. I can only imagine what the loss of the entire nail does.

      I’m cringing.

      Take care of yourself and get Doc to take over a bit so you can rest.

      You need it.

      Wish we could meet up this trip.

      Hugs, my friend.

      • Annie says:

        I wish I could meet up with you this trip, too! If my brother ends up canceling his plans I will totally try to make it happen. 🙂

        I will be praying for CG.

        Your thoughts, virtual hugs, and kind words mean so much! Thanks – hugs back at ya.

  4. Sorry Kelly! This would be a good time to send people to one of your other blogs! Hint hint. Where you have great posts. And one in the queue. Hope Li’l Diva feels better soon. You don’t have to post. No one will abandon you.

    • I am still so out of it, I was quite confused if you meant my other blogs, as I have three (none of which I posted anything at – thank you for reminder), or your blog.

      Which I’m certain everyone but those I’m related to read already.

      If you don’t, you should. Renee is hilarious.

      Just saying.

      Shameless plug for her over.

      I’ll be guest posting for her… sometime. In September… I think.

      I really miss my brain, which had the best memory before I had kids….

  5. Liz McLennan says:

    Hugs to you, sweet friend. The Cough is brutal. When The Reds contracted the H1N1 flu awhile back, I thought I would lose my everloving mind. Thankfully, blogging about it helped me hold it together. Hope you get some rest – real, honest-to-goodness rest – and will be back to regaling us with stories!

  6. Kate says:

    I feel for you on the lack of sleep when children are sick. My son, Riff, gets sick easiest and takes the longest to get well. I’ve been to the doctor’s office at least once a week since the end of July. I’m glad you were still able to enjoy lots of summer fun.

  7. Oh, poor baby…
    (That’s for both of you, by the way.)

    I hope you both get some relief soon.
    I’m sending sleepy, peaceful thoughts your way.
    (Not that this will make a difference, but…)

    Love and rest to you.

    • Lil Diva has been better last few nights and napped finally during the days.

      Naturally my son has had nightmares those nights, so my sleep is still interrupted, but it’s easier here where I can crawl into the next bed (we’re staying in side by side twins right now) compared to at home where I’d have to twist into a bunk bed and then have difficulty extricating myself.

      I can feel the thoughts from here. Keep them coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

