Exploding Joker Facts and the Laughter Contagion

As I return to the 107 degree heat of Texas (ugh) and my family (yeah!) from the perfect 74 degree weather of Calgary and my amazing Canadian sistahs, I am likely bawling and wondering why I can’t possibly spend the entirety of August in Canada. So please, read this uber-short post, laugh, and comment so I have something funny to read as I fly back into the oven of Texas.

* * *

Last week, as I mentioned the Tackler’s constant wish to “blow things up”, my husband added a hilarious exchange as a comment that was just too good to not share.

CG: No, Batman is going to put the Joker in jail.
T: Then he’ll just get out. And he is a “bad guy”.
CG: No, he’ll use the Bat-rope. Then the Joker can’t get away.
T: He’ll just untie it. I think Batman needs to smash him.
CG: No, Batman needs to bring him to justice.
T: Then he’ll just explode and come back as a little Joker.
CG: I don’t think it works that way.

I’m pretty sure he gained this knowledge from the New Super Mario Brothers.

* * *

As I basked at one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever stayed, my husband was busy taking videos, praying their high adorable factor would ensure my return to the ridiculous heat.

It worked.

If you’ve never watched a video before, you need to see this one. The footage is guaranteed to make you smile as my daughter proves her big brother is contagious.

I swear.

It is scary sometimes how she loves to imitate her brother.

But not this time.

This I could watch over and over, the giggles bringing a smile every time.

What have your children done to make you smile and miss them so much you are willing to leave perfect weather to return to the furnace/freezer of your home so you can hug them again?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms, Video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Exploding Joker Facts and the Laughter Contagion

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    My child is almost 37 years old, but I would do almost anything to get away from this miserable Texas heat.

  2. Elena Aitken says:

    That is the best video. I absolutely makes my heart melt.
    I wish I had a funny story for you…I got nothing. 🙂
    Safe flight. Stay cool when you get home.

  3. Monkey is in camp. Two more weeks until he is home. Each time he returns, he is taller. It freaks me out how much he grows in 3 weeks, how you notice things like that when you have a gap in time to appreciate them. He will also celebrate his 12th birthday on Sunday. He will be at camp. We get to talk for a few brief moments. He will be distracted. He will ant to be with his friends. I know, I get it. But on that day, especially, I will miss him. He will have a birthday package, but he will not have me to look at him and remind him of his birth story and tell him just how much he changed me. For the better. I hope your time away makes you return (to the heat) refreshed and ready to take on the world as one cool cucumber. 😉

    • Okay, the rapid growth would freak me out too. What do they feed them at camp???

      I did miss my children, however my homecoming was not quite what I’d planned as Murphy decided to join us, starting with my landing in Austin…

      At least he avoided Canada.

  4. Trish says:

    Such a cute video and the Batman story is hilarious. We miss u here in the North.

  5. I have to side with your son; Joker does always seem to find a way to escape. We’ll probably never be completely safe until we smash him.

Leave a Reply

