I’m Turning Canadian, Eh?

I am grateful.

To my husband for accepting I needed to get away.

To mother nature, for so far blessing me with the most perfect blue skies and refreshing breezes.

But most of all, right now I am grateful to the three women who “get me”. Who accept me for who I am. Who share and listen and are real.

Who brought me into their group.

Elena. Leanne. Trish. Three awesome women who welcomed me into their homes and lives.

My Canadian sistahs.

Elena. Leanne. Trish.

You welcomed me with open arms.

We talked. We laughed. We cried. We wrote. We got very wet.

We did things I won’t mention until a future blog post….

Thank you for making this the best girl’s weekend I could ask for.

And turning me Canadian.

Eh?

I will miss these three so much when I have to leave.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’m Turning Canadian, Eh?

  1. livinglearningeating says:

    I’m so excited for my fall abroad! seems like we’re possibly doing similar things? I love fiction writing, too, and am currently trying self publishing a middle grade novel ( https://www.createspace.com/3651515 ). Wish me luck, I’ll need it!

  2. Love that you’re an inaugural Canadian now – though I have to say very few Canadians say eh – unless of course they’re a beer drinking 20-something male re-enacting an epic beer commercial 🙂

  3. Trish L says:

    So sweet! We loved having you! This has been a fantastic weekend so far. And it’s not over yet, eh?

    • I miss you already, my siamese-separated-at-birth-yet-somehow-tall-and-blond twin.

      Leanne and I are on her deck, in the shade of an umbrella, enjoying the last few silent moments before Thing 1 and 2 descend.

      I hope your travel was safe and Murphy free.

  4. Elena Aitken says:

    AH, you made me tear up! 🙂
    It was such a great weekend! I’m so glad you came to visit and it worked out so well to spend time at all of our homes. And now…you’ve seen my lake. 🙂

    • I completely “get” you and your lake. Every time I glimpse the mountains I told Leanne “I want to go back to Elena’s cabin.”

      It was wonderful to get to know you – I had no idea how much we shared in common.

      I cannot wait until my next visit. Already counting down…

  5. Mandi says:

    Nice gratitude post!

  6. Love the picture of the WordBitches at work. Glad you enjoyed your Canadian blogging convention with el chicas.

    Lucky bitch. Word. 😉

    • While I admit the photo was slightly staged so they would all fit into a single shot, it was based in truth. The three of them would often sit at the table, Elena at 12 o’clock, Leanne at 3 o’clock, and Trish at 6 o’clock.

      Me, instead of joining them at 9 o’clock, went to my own Texas branch – the super comfy leather chair that reclined with footrest, looking out the huge windows at the lake. At home I write most often on my couch in a similar position, using my laptop on top of my lap.

      And the view was so beautiful I didn’t want to look away for a second.

      There was something so peaceful with the only sound the clicking away of the keys and the occasional random question.

      It was amazing.

      Word. 🙂

  7. Do you have to claim these Canadian posts when you come back through customs?

    Looks like a great time. Good for your four.

    • Damn, I didn’t think of that.

      I wonder what the duty is on a post.

      By the way – we looked up the driving route from Austin to Calgary. I believe it takes us right by you. So you know… in about five years when I’m insane enough to drive to Canada for the summer, we might have to have combine the broods for a mass chaos visit.

  8. Liz McLennan says:

    Love the photo. So happy for you that you were able to get away, recharge AND hang with such incredible women. Elena’s lake sounds/looks like paradise – and good friends, wine and beautiful sunsets are the best way to refill your soul.

    • I couldn’t have said it better myself.

      I am only sad meeting you was not possible.

      Mountains, water, and sunsets have always put me at peace. All three plus the friends… there are no words for how amazing it was.

      I am certain to cry when Leanne drops me at the airport tomorrow…

  9. Annie says:

    Really awesome. So happy for you! I agree with Liz. The perfect way to recharge your spirit.

    • It was so needed.

      Now if only I could bottle this weather and pack the wordbitches to bring home with me…. or somehow inherit millions of dollars, buy a place on that lake, and live here with my family for the summer.

      You know, not asking for much.

  10. educlaytion says:

    I’m trying to think of a funny Canadian version of Charlie’s Angels but I think I used all my Canuck jokes up in Friday’s guest post for Leanne. Enjoy the recharge.

  11. Such a fab weekend, even if sleep wasn’t in abundance! Love ya!

  12. I’ve been buried in school and family commitments and have barely come up for air for almost a solid month. So glad I caught this lovely post and saw what fun you all had together. SO, so good for the soul to connect with good women friends – nothing quite like it, is there? And then, of course – it makes coming home sweeter somehow. Everybody needs a break in the routine – so glad you all got yours.

    • Thank you for those words. What a beautiful comment.

      It was actually my first girls weekend away. Ever.

      It was the first time I have gone 24 hours of not seeing my children.

      I could not have picked more fabulous people to have it with.

      An epic weekend of soul recharging.

      I am ready to hug my babies again, I just wish it wasn’t 105 degrees where I had to hug them…

  13. Great stuff! Glad you had a fab time! 🙂

  14. TheKirCorner says:

    How awesome and amazing…so glad you had such a great trip!

Leave a Reply

