Top 10 Swimming Pool Games

We live in Texas.

This is pretty much what our forecast has looked like since early June:

I'm pretty sure meteorologists use a dartboard to add in temperature variance of a few degrees, because it has been the same since early June.

To cope with an outdoors loving 22 month old and an active kamikaze almost four and half year old, you seek out water.

Typically, this water is the pool; just last weekend we went for two hours Saturday evening, another two hours around lunch time on Sunday, and ninety minutes following my strength class today.

I had to drag my daughter away.

It’s amazing what children fixate on and enjoy doing…..

Top 10 Swimming Pool Games

10.   The I’m-Not-Going-To-Use-My-Arms-To-Swim-At-All-Even-Though-I-Can-I-Will-Just-Glide-Like-Superman-Or-Jump –> After huge improvements in his swim lessons, suddenly The Tackler has no wish to use his arms to swim. Instead, he prefers to go from Point A to Point B via “Superman Glide”: he pushes off of the wall/floor and shoots like a torpedo through the pool, arms resting comfortably against his sides.

When in water too deep to stand, he simply hops up and down, grabbing a breath when his head surfaces, before plunging beneath the water and jumping again. He can cross twenty to thirty feet of water this way in the deeper end of the outside pool (which I think is 3 feet 8 inches deep in the swim area).

9.    Diving for: Torpedoes, Lightning McQueen, Mater, rings, & other things that sink –> The only time The Tackler will use his arms is to dive beneath the surface to retrieve items on the bottom. He is quite adept at this and looks like a tiny snorkeler as he glides and dives across the pool.

8.    Freak Out Mommy –> This game is very popular when I am alone with the two children at the pool and wish like hell I had eyes in the back of my head. I try to spy my son every thirty seconds while wrangling my daughter. However, he is often submerged and I get that brief “Oh, shit! My son is drowning!” moment before he resurfaces. Luckily the pool is not usually crowded during the times I take them alone.

7.    Fly with CG/Daddy –> This is your typical “Fling child high into the air as you throw them, then make them swim back to you” game for The Tackler. Lil Diva still gets the “Throw child high in the air and catch, ending with a splash in the pool” version. Both children giggle and cackle, in Daddy heaven.

6.    Splash Unsuspecting Person –> A favorite of The Tackler, using foam water shooters or a bucket, he swims underwater to the person, rising from behind. Then he nails them. And laughs. Maniacally.

5. Bubble Blowing/Spitting –> I’ve been working with Lil Diva on the early skills they tried to teach The Tackler, like bubble blowing. She already loves to spit out her milk or water, so I figured she take to it – and she did. She loves to blow bubbles not only in the pool, but on the side of the pool – where water has spilled over (gross!) – leaning over so she nearly topples into the pool, and while she dumps a full bucket of water into her own face.

4.    Kamikaze Pool Jumping –> The Tackler loves to jump into the pool in a way to scare the crap out of me. Luckily, he checks the water first to make sure he doesn’t land on anyone. Lil Diva does her own version where she holds my thumbs before jumping, and goes underwater while doing so, before resurfacing.

3.   The Not-Quite Splash Attack + Assurance –> Lil Diva can splash just fine when she smacks her hands into the water, but lately she prefers the method of bringing her hands up out of the water to toss it at me. Typically, only a few droplets actually spray me, though I pretend she sent a tidal wave my way.

She became concerned at my reaction and now, after each Not-Quite-Splash-Attack, she will ask, “Okay? Okay?” and brush the water droplets off my upper body, before repeating the attack and inquiry again. Sometimes a bear hug is tossed in.

2.    The Bolt –>This is diminishing a bit – helped by hot pavement and a removal of pool shoes – but sometimes the old habit emerges and she flees for somewhere Not The Pool. Perhaps a ball rolling in the far corner called to her, or a water doll toy demanded she snatch it. Whatever the reason, she sprints to the location, forcing me to chase. This is slightly terrifying when the location is the much deeper lap lanes because she wants a kick board…

1.    Stomp/Run Through the Fountains –> Our pools (indoor and outdoor) both have six jets of water forming a fountain in a few inches of water. My children love to stomp on them, particularly after either I or CG have blocked off a few of them, sending the water far above their heads.

The Tackler shows off his stomping skills - from July 2009, when I was still incubating Lil Diva...

Lil Diva also enjoys drinking from them – a chlorinated drinking fountain on steroids.

Another reason I taught her to spit…

And finally, a game CG unwillingly played last weekend: Chicken with the Pool.

In a match of "chicken": CG versus the Pool = the pool won.

The pool won.

What games do your children (or child) like to play at the pool?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top 10 Swimming Pool Games

  1. Annie says:

    Our kids are so alike. Taz, tackler, and dictator would be a scary trio! If you read my last two blogs, you know I have had a few scares. 😉
    Poor CG! It’s all fun and games until someone gets hurt.

  2. I promise you Ignore-Mommy-And-Try-To-Look-Cool-With-Friends is coming. That is a delightful game. I am really enjoying it.

  3. CG says:

    I tried to break the pool edge with my face. I failed this time, but I’m persistent.

  4. Does we-will-just-splash-uncontrollably-until-there-is-no-water-in-the-pool game count?

    Poor CG, that does look like it hurts a ton!

  5. Okay – I’m not being creepy but your husband has very nice eyes.
    (and I mean this in a totally innocent, blog-compliment kind of way.)

    And also spitting rules!
    (or something like that.)

  6. Kate says:

    Love these and the photos. I keep thinking about you in the hot zone this summer, Kelly. I’m in SE MI and we have had numerous 90+ days. When I hear myself start to complain, I think about you and your crew.

  7. Paige Morgan says:

    My son likes to take off his swim trunks and swim naked. Thank goodness the pool is in our backyard! I am also a huge “fan” of cannon ball contests between my husband and son that drench me while I am trying to read…

Leave a Reply

