Change in the Chaos

I need a clone.

Or a house elf.

I could really use one of these...

I’m not picky.

Sadly I have neither, which necessitates a change for summer.

Those who subscribe here shall see Dances with Chaos in your inbox a bit less until fall.

I think.

I’m not going away (except to Canada in three weeks! Booyah!), or even on hiatus. I’ll just be cutting down the posts to around three times a week.

Unless I feel chatty. Or need to vent. Or have something super cute I just have to share with everyone.

I’m fickle like that.

The goal is to enjoy more time with my kids, get my house a bit more organized, and perhaps turn some fictional characters from Writing with Chaos into something more… like a book.

Maybe.

I also might be changing Dances with Chaos to Dancing with Chaos and switching to self-hosted during this time. I’m working out the kinks at WwC first before I take the plunge a second time.

Again. Maybe.

Yeah, am I wishy-washy much today?

I find myself floundering in the sea of change and how different this next year will be.

One of my dear local friends is transitioning from part time to full time work. Her eldest starts kindergarten this fall and her little one is two and half. Daytime play dates at her house were often a sanity saver, her conversation never failing to cheer me up.

Those wonderful day time moments? Gone, starting next week (though I am so happy she has this opportunity).

Then, August.

Her son and his other best buddy (who lives across the street) start school. Because of The Tackler’s birthday (February) he cannot until the following year.

Another play date option and day time sanity saver? Gone.

My children will both be doing Mother’s Day Out starting in September (although at a different location than The Tackler currently attends). I will have four hours with no children twice a week to do whatever I want (or errands impossible with children).

This a change I’ve been salivating over since last February.

By this time next year, my son will be of kindergarten age, and I shall have to decide if public school or home schooling is the best option for him.

How did these children get so big so quickly?

I was just cursing my first pregnancy and how I slept horribly every night. Five years and one week could not have possibly passed since the first time I heard The Tackler’s heart beat during my first sonogram.

Five years? Seriously?

A change in the chaos indeed…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Change in the Chaos

  1. Take as much time as you need to sort everything out.
    We will still be here. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Time does fly! my twins will be 3 in November and I have no idea where the time went to.
    I do however know where my sanity is going! And I’m not liking its direction. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I have said it before and I’ll say it again: those of you who post DAILY (or 4-5 times a week?) I don’t know how you do it.

    Once a week is the most I can muster.

    I know I’ll never be a HUGE blogger or get paid for my skillz (ha!)
    But I’ll hopefully still have a few loyal readers and – even better – good friends I’ve met here.

    You can count me in as someone who will stick with you through whatever changes you make, Kelly.

    Deep breaths. Big hugs.

  3. Elena Aitken says:

    Ah yes, change.
    It sounds like you have a whole lot of changes on the horizon. Embrace them lady, change is good. Even when it makes you uncomfortable. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    But I know how it can be. Don’t worry about the posting. We’ll all be waiting for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    I applaud you for knowing when it’s time to change. Like Julie, I have no idea how anyone (like you or Leanne) blogs every day! Once a week is my limit. I hope you use your spare time to let your fictional characters play. They’re awesome and I want to see more. Can’t wait to see you in 3 weeks!!!

  5. Kelly:

    I have learned much from other voices in the last weeks.

    Like Julie’s voice of sanity. And Trish’s — who made me cry because she said I made her cry.

    There are a bunch of people telling us we SHOULD be pushing out a post at least 3x per week.

    The pressure to keep up was killing me.

    You READ my cyber meltdown.

    You have a lot of changes going on. Lots of big decisions. We’re not going anywhere. No one is deleting their subscriptions to you. And no one is leaving you because you don’t tweet them. I’m pretty sure I can say that with confidence. Honestly, I feel a strange kind of relief when I get a little less blog mail. Sometimes, it’s just too much about nothing.

    So fill up yourself and do what you need to do.

    I’ll see you when you get back, Jack. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Annie says:

    You are so wise. Life ebbs and flows. It’s never the same for long. (Like when you thought your baby was in a “routine” only to have the “routine” change as soon as you figured it out.)

    3 times a week is all I can muster. It’s almost too much but so far I manage. I will look forward to the Chaos no matter how often you dose it out to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. John says:

    When I started daddyrunsalot, I fully meant to post every day. And I did. In fact, i was writing two posts a day, and just scheduling them. And then, life happened. I’ve been lucky to post once.

    We’ll love reading whatever you post – and, if you find a house elf, can you let me know where? The House Elf Emporium won’t return my phone calls.

  8. TheKirCorner says:

    I’ll always be here, looking for your words. Whenever you are ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck with finding a house elf. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

