Bathroom Texts and The Crush

I’ve received some odd instant messages/texts in the past.

Last weekend one arrived from the guest bathroom.

From my husband.

And before you get all grossed out, he was not the person using it.

I’d plopped down on the couch to read a few blogs while Lil Diva napped.

This appeared on my yahoo window:

CG: Our son wants me to keep him company while he poops.
CG: But I can’t talk to him
CG: He had me sit next to him in the bathroom on the sink

There’s something the How To Parent Manual doesn’t cover….

* * *

My son has a bit of a crush on someone at his Mother’s Day Out program. I had no idea until I visited last Tuesday to watch their free play time in the gym (usually I’m at home with a napping Lil Diva, but CG had the day off).

For the first few minutes, he was a spastic ball of energy, not unlike Taz from Looney Tunes.

A flying ball of energy

Then he found Amy* hiding in canopy thingy (my technical name for it) and didn’t leave her side until play time ended.

Sometimes, he was annoying, like continually burying her in the canopy as she got free; he cackled maniacally, deeming it a fun game.

They hung upside down together.

You can see parts of her hanging beside him....

He chased her. Everywhere.

Up the mats.

Across the long trampoline.

Only one kid at a time on the trampoline, so they ran laps on this for 10 minutes.

Next to the teacher, whenever his attention crossed into the “highly annoying” category.

Peas in a pod

Sometimes she loved it, a huge grin on her face.

Sometimes, my son was just being a pestering pain.

I have never seen him quite like this before...

Always, he was by her.

It was the cutest and most disturbing thing I’ve seen.

It doesn’t bode well for the teen years….

What things have your children done/said recently that made you laugh or smile? When was their first crush?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bathroom Texts and The Crush

  1. That last photo is amazing. They’re all great, especially since they tell such an adorable story. I love this post so much!

    • I have a much better photo of the last shot, where his best buddy is standing behind him staring like “What are you doing with her? But I haven’t talked to her mom about including “Amy” on the my blog, so I had to edit or get creative if her face was visible..

      I have never seen him quite so infatuated. Usually, he prefers to be the “chased” and gets bored with following…

  2. John says:

    My daughter, the other day (she’s younger than Lil’ Diva), was fascinated with a boy . . . a 4 year old came over to visit & she just followed him around like it was her job. When he would leave her line of sight, she’d scream.

    I was really worried, but then friends came with their dog (we have two dogs of our own), and she acted the same way toward this new dog (who was much fluffier than ours). For now, I’ll chalk it up to “a thing,” knowing full well that I have my head buried in the sand.

    Those pictures are truly, truly adorable.

    • Lil Diva also has a fascination with dogs: she adores them in movies, photos and at distacnes greater than five feet. Closer than that, and she’s suddenly terrified.

      My daughter will occasionally wish to follow someone, but I don’t think it lasts long.

      My son will often follow packs of older boys, but he never gets affectionate with them. That I know of.

      Let me know how that whole “head buried in sand” thing works out for you…

  3. Annie says:

    So sweet. 🙂 Taz is in love with ME right now. He’s wearing me out. I’m the only one who can do anything for him. He’s my little shadow. It’s sweet and annoying at the same time.

    • I know exactly how you feel. I have been there.

      I am still there some days with Lil Diva.

      The day he no longer shadows you will be exhilarating, and make you want your little boy back.

      Unless you decided a 5th is in the cards… 🙂

  4. Monkey and a little girl had a weird connection when they were very young. They would sit together in their little classroom, play with LEGos — not really talking, just being near each other. It was sweet. At the end of each class, they clung to each other, not wanting the other to go.

    Eventually, she moved away. Monkey was devastated. He hadn’t made any room in his world for anyone else. I wonder if he’ll do that when be falls in love? Forget about everyone else?

    Great pix, Kel!

  5. Katie says:

    Jake likes to hold all the little girls’ hands as they walk between activities at his PDO and get them their lunches.

  6. Kid Id says:

    OMG. I could totally picture my daughter being the chaser in this scene!

  7. Kim says:

    Ack!!! Those pictures are amazingly CUTE!!!

  8. Oh dear, your boy has got it bad, huh? It’s very sweet.

    LD is a serial lover of the ladies. He appears to have an eye for the blondes. Typical.

    Friends of ours have a little girl who is a year or so younger than LD and they are forever going into the bedroom together and CLOSING THE DOOR. They are smitten kittens, thick as thieves, and we do worry about becoming grandparents well before our time.

    Teen years? Best not to even go there….

  9. Oh and the bathroom text? Hysterical!

  10. Vivian’s had a huge crush on a boy I love. It’s been going on for over 2 years now, even though they’re no longer in the same class (or even school). It’s mutual. V’s already declared she’ll marry him when she’s 30 and they’ll move in with us.

    Sigh.

  11. TheKirCorner says:

    that last photo= LADY KILLER for sure.

    I love that my boys already talk about their girlfriends, and they would much rather play with the girls…and talk to the girls, and be with the girls…it’s all good for me. Plus I like K and J (their favorite girlfriends) they will make good DILs 😉

Leave a Reply

