What’s To Like About Me???

I was blog hopping around, revisiting many of those I keep missing, and stumbled upon Ciao Mom.

She had a challenge for today: List things you like about yourself – no self-deprecation allowed.

It’s a lot harder than it sounds.

So, without further ado:

Things I Like About Me Photobucket

1. My legs – they have always been my best feature.

2. My ability to laugh – even if everyone doesn’t always get it.

3.  My noise filtering ability – it allows me to mute out the insanely loud toddler toy as my son stabs the button umpteen times.

4. My stubbornness – while sometimes a curse, it often comes in handy: whether learning to ride a bike without owning one, or potty training my very willful three year old.

5. My inner Mommy Bear – it will roar when anyone I love is threatened.

6. My love of reading – even if it often leads to reading “hangovers.”

7. My photography – Sure I can’t remember what f-stop means, but somehow I’ve gotten quite good at photographing my children.

8. My straightforwardness – sometimes it rubs people the wrong way, but I speak my mind and how I feel. I will never back stab or say anything behind someone’s back that I will not say to their face.

9.  My ability to function on little sleep, at least for short periods of time.

10.  My capacity for love.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to What’s To Like About Me???

  1. God, how I wish I had that noise filtering one. The idiotic, repetitive sounds that those damn toys make pierce my brain and make me insane. It’s a good list all the way around, but that’s the most remarkable part. I envy you.

  2. I’m a more visual versus auditory learner: if I’m focused on something with my eyes (i.e. book, writing, child) I can filter out what I hear.

    Unless I have a headache. Then all bets are off.

    Still, you might want to avoid my house. I think this skill has allowed such annoying toys to flourish. And the cacophony two children can create versus one…. makes me really love this ability.

  3. Annie says:

    Really awesome. :). Such a great idea. My list would be very similar to yours except I’m not so fond of my legs. But I love my arms.

  4. Diane says:

    I am going to make a list of things I like about me too. For once, not of things I would like to change, things I could do better at, or of bad decisions I have made.To do this, I am going to have to locate the hyper critical bi#@h and make sure she is asleep. (HCB is one of the four distinct voices in my head, don’t worry, they don’t tell me what to do and I know they are not put there by a microchip implanted in me by the CIA. I am not crazy. Really. I am not.). I must be very quiet, if I wake her up I will never be able to complete this exercise. She will shoot me with one of her doubt loaded darts and make positive self reflection impossible. Shhhh…. okay, she is asleep. Here goes….

    1. I have a wickedly awesome sense of humor, which when I let it shine is a bright beautiful light that brings joy to me and anyone who happens to be listening.

    2. I have a big heart and I wear it on my sleeve for all to see, which gets me taken advantage of at times but it is worth it for all the times I can really help someone who needs help.

    3. I am a survivor. I have been homeless and hungry. I have lived in my car. I have done the couch tour. I have lost everything four times and fought my way through it every time and come out the stronger and better for it.

    4. I look damn good for thirty five.

    5. I can dance. A pox upon all who voted me worst dancer in the seventh grade slam books. I CAN DANCE.

    6. I have a gift for music and for writing that I am actually spending time developing.

    7. I forgive.

    8. I look for the best in people, and am always willing to give someone the benefit of the doubt. People can change.

    9. I am genuine.

    10. I am intelligent enough to realize that I know nothing and am always willing to consider a new idea or different point of view.

    Kelly, thank you, I needed that. I enjoy your writing. Keep it up, stay in touch. I do miss my family, I know I am,the black sheep, but I can always go to the salon and get my wool dyed…. =0)

    -Diane

    P.S.- I am familiar with chaos… I actually have to carry an epi pen full of it around with me because I am highly allergic to plans, and chaos id the only known antidote….. =0)

    • Great list, Diane.

      I haven’t forgotten about you. Hopefully we can meet up on our next visit (end of August I’m thinking). My mother barely hears from me on the phone as I usually have screaming children in the background…

  5. TheKirCorner says:

    All wonderful qualities in a wonderful woman!! Love the list!

  6. Love the list Kelly. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Lance says:

    Good job Kelly

    A few years ago I was going through a divorce and in therapy. My pro had me write a “love letter” to myself. Yes, it was as stupid and hard as you think. THat letter was really emo and all but it helped me get over some stuff. Two months ago to answer a writinng challenge, I had a write a love letter to myself. This time I didn’t take it as seriously: http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/so-into-you/

    Thanks for letting me learn more about you

  8. This is the first post I’ve read this morning – what a great way to start the day! I too, am impressed with you “noise-filtering” ability. And straightforwardness is a great asset – I appreciate it more than those who might say one thing one day, another the next.

    Mama Bear love = the best there is.

    • I think I inherited the noise filtering from my mother, who if reading a book, wouldn’t hear a nuclear bomb go off…..

      It’s funny how some people do like like straight shooters. They’d rather have someone willing to lay on the fluff. It weeds away a lot of possible “friends”.

  9. bleeburke says:

    I wish I had any type of noise filter. Lucky for that one, girl!

  10. John says:

    I had my first reading hangover from Harry Potter. I called it the muggle flu.

    I really, really, really hope that my kids learn to love to laugh from me. It’s my greatest strength. Easily.

    • Ok, I love that you called it the Muggle Flu. Truer words never spoken.

      I think I suffered a bit of that on the final book. The first five I read back to back over 5 days. I spent all day reading book 5, only stopping to eat.

      I had no children then…..

      Laughter is so important. Do it often and with them, and I’m sure they shall pick it up. The young age is perfect because their laugh is so infectious.

  11. Hi Kelly! You have noise filtering ability! That is a major super-power! I can’t do that. Even now, two guys are chatting in the background and I can hear every word. One just dropped a thing. And now he is apologizing. See how distracting that is? *Grrrr.*

    That said, my jugs are still really perky, and I’m over 40. 😉

    • Okay, don’t take this the wrong way, but totally envious of your jugs. Mine went from fine (B’s) to huge (pregnancy and nursing) to nonexistent (is there an A minus?).

      I don’t think I’d trade it for my noise filtering ability. Not for at least 10 years…

  12. kelly says:

    Noise filter- love it! I sometimes wish I had a “teen filter”, THAT would be awesome.

    I like #10 the best.

    Great list- I wrote one too…it was harder than I thought!

  13. Jackie says:

    Lovely list! And I’ve suffered from those book hangovers too… so worth it though!

  14. jackie says:

    Great list!! I like my legs too!

  15. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    Your friend had a great idea. I love your list. All awesome qualities. I’m going to make up my own list too. Ability to laugh and legs will be on mine too. 🙂

  16. Great list. I also found it a bit challenging. After reading your list, I realized I inadvertently left my stubbornness off of my list. Oh well. Stop by and see mine if you get a chance.
    BTW – Love your banner and button, your kids are really cute, and as you know, your photography is awesome. 🙂

  17. Straight forwardness and stubbornness….love those! What a fantastic list! Thanks so much for linking up!

  18. Mrs. Jen B says:

    Fabulous! I have a soft spot in my heart for people who refuse to backstab. It’s a very precious trait.

  19. Sigh. Legs are on my “worst list.” But back, neck, arms, heck – even boobs, all make my cut for physical stuff. I think empathy/compassion and the ability to laugh at myself are my best traits.

    Great post!

  20. Frelle says:

    I love your list, and I learned new things about you today! I love your capacity for love in particular 🙂

Leave a Reply

