An Independence Day By-the-Numbers Breakdown: Part 1

It could have gone bad.

VERY bad.

Somehow the half a million volts aligned, twisting the four day holiday weekend into quite the ride with more ups than downs….

4th of July Weekend, By the Numbers: Part 1

4 – Days CG had off in a row.

1 – Statewide burn ban on personal and (almost all) professional fireworks for the 4th.

0 – Closets organized as planned.

6 – Hours spent Googling on Thursday and Friday in a vain attempt to find lodging for my “brilliant idea”: spend two days on the coast letting the kids play on the beach.

0 – Number of places I found capable of housing more than three people.

1 – Fire lit under CG’s butt (after my idea failed) to travel anywhere for the holiday.

2 – Hours spent convincing him if a beach (and fireworks) weren’t involved, there was no point going inland when plenty existed here. Minus the fireworks.

2.3 – Seconds it took to truly change his mind when he learned Arc Attack would be performing in lieu of fireworks at Cedar Park’s 4th of July festival. “That is way cooler than fireworks!”

10+ – Estimated number of out-of-the-blue meltdowns The Tackler had from Saturday through Monday. Some lasted at least thirty minutes. Losing at Trouble and being disciplined for not listening were the main causes, although several were totally random.

2 – Times The Tackler hit “red” on Saturday, forcing us to cancel any fun plans.

10 – Dollars spent on tiny plastic wading pool at Walmart.

How to water your lawn while entertaining your children.

100 – Minutes of fun Lil Diva and the Tackler had jumping and splashing in it and the two sprinklers we hooked up (Sunday morning: side benefit of watering the very dry areas of our lawn).

1 – Nap taken by The Tackler on Sunday. He literally passed out on the floor of his room.

I found it impressive how tangled he was in these items: no way to extricate him.

0 – Pairs of peed in underwear from unplanned naps – yes!

3.5 – Hours of insanely long nap Lil Diva took on Sunday because we had plans to meet up at a friend’s house.

2 – Outfits my poor host had to wear, as her little boy got sick – we’re still praying it was not contagious, though we mostly kept our distance.

My children love to hang out at my friends house.

1 – Set of plans canceled for Monday because of this…

To be continued tomorrow with how the 4th unfolded…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An Independence Day By-the-Numbers Breakdown: Part 1

  1. Annie says:

    Really great stuff 🙂 Love the pictures! Sounds like you had a good weekend. The Tackler’s napping stance is impressive. My little Taz had a stomach bug yesterday. I’m praying it’s just a toddler thing, and the rest of us are fairly immune. I’ll be praying you all stay well! Nothing worse than a puking child that has no concept of running to the toilet. ugh….

    • Praying for you it was only a “toddler thing” as well. I haven’t heard if it was something more serious yet from my friend either.

      Blissful ignorance? Or hopefully what we already had a few weeks ago…

      I wish I could take pictures at the pool, but they don’t allow it (and the current management actually enforces it)…

  2. LOl love this recap … and don’t forget to remind me of your blogoversary partay 😉

    • LOL… Ah yes. The post I’d hoped to be awesome and hilarious and instead was written AFTER the kids went to bed (insanely late – see tomorrow’s post) when I was also half dead.

      Having a July 5th blogoversary is just not a good date. I obviously wasn’t planning ahead when I picked that day to start blogging…

  3. Lance says:

    the picture are uh door uh bull

    sounds/looks like a fun 4th…so far

    • Thanks, Lance.

      I apologize if the blog is a bit heavy on kid photos at times – my parents and grandparents were my first readers and they gobble up digital photos like I do brownies.

      Plus some things you really do need a photo to show. I’m not a good enough writer to do certain moments justice.

      Wait until you hear about the 4th…..

  4. I’m SO happy for you with regards to the no-pee in underwear from unplanned naps.
    But really?
    0 couches peed on should make the list 😉

    And a hearty congratulations to you all…

  5. No couches were in danger during the time frame this blog encompassed. The carpet, cardboard box, his clothing, and baby play mat (which is a bitch to wash but so firmly entangled I couldn’t remove it from around him) were.

    The couch was grazed in the first nap incident the was a precursor to the puking incident, and ironically the only reason the couch was saved from barf (towel placed beneath him b/c he still seemed tired).

    Sometimes, I swear we have the bad moments, to ensure we don’t have the worse moments.

    So good to see you commenting here again. 🙂

    I hope your 5th also went without any couches covered in bodily fluids.

  6. Kim says:

    I LOVE when they fall asleep in twisted heaps on the floor!!!

  7. Those lawn/sprinkler photos are the perfect reminder that we must be out of this apartment by next summer! I loved that when I was little, and I’m certain Li’l D will love it equally. 🙂

    • I also loved sprinklers.

      The side benefit of watering my parched lawn in the spots the sprinkler system misses makes this option more and more attractive as our 100 degree heat and drought worsen. The plastic pool (which allowed the kids to get their splash on) was strategically dumped over an area in great need of water.

      What can I say? I love things that multitask.

  8. Pingback: Why Giant Tesla Coils Are Better than Fireworks: An ID4 By-the-Numbers Breakdown: Part 2 | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

