Fried by Tesla Coils and My One Year Blogoversary!

It’s almost midnight.

My blog is ONE!

On the 4th of July.

I’m toast.

I meant to write this post last week.

I’m a procrastinator.

Oops.

I’m currently riding a giant Tesla coil high (more on that in tomorrow’s post on how we celebrated the 4th of July.

I think I’m back in the 1980’s (you’ll see why tomorrow. It’s awesome. Trust me.)

Minus that whole “I have two children who just experienced their latest bedtime ever and it’s likely to bite us in the butt.”

I recently (Sunday night) switched my Writing with Chaos blog to WordPress.org – so I’ve been a bit lost in plugin craziness.

I wanted to celebrate by moving Dances with Chaos too… only the dot com address is taken.

I’d have to go to Dancing with Chaos.

It feels…. weird.

So I’m learning the ropes with my writing blog, but this one could soon follow.

Maybe.

I mean.. DANCING with Chaos? It’s not a finite verb like “dances” (data supplied by Bobbi, who knows grammar stuff I’ve forgotten).

I’d have to change a lot of urls, photos, and titles. My email wouldn’t match.

Am I crazy? Or is this a blogging right of passage?

Last week I asked what my readers wanted to do to celebrate, and the Gift of a Guest Post won the overwhelming majority. So if you’re interested in either guest posting here, or having me guest post for you, be sure to leave a comment saying so.

Wait. I’m not finished with you yet.

I’m bursting with curiosity about those who read me.

Share a link to YOUR blog in the comments, of a post you want me (and everyone else stopping by to say hi) to read. It can be from this week, or three years ago. I’m not picky. I will be visiting each one and leaving a comment.

Oh, I’m not done.

I want to hear the BIGGEST “What the frak?” moment you’ve either experienced or had the pleasure to hear about and go “Thank god it wasn’t me.”

Finally, if you’re a lurker, at least say hi and tell me what keeps you hiding in the background or why you read this blog (I am very guilty of lurking with many of you, because I had commenting from a mobile device; touchscreens are evil).

Is it my sarcastic wit? Is it because you’re related to me? Is it so you can say “Thank god I’m not there anymore!” or to remind you of the tiny moments so often forgotten?

Finally, to reward a few who were curious about me, I’ve filled out a partial fact sheet of “Me in 2011”. This is an identical form (a spare blank print out) to the one I filled out when I was 13– only the answers and handwriting have changed.

I took great pains to make my handwriting appear legible. Did it work?

Feel free to share any random facts (listed on this sheet) about yourself as well.

Thanks for making my blog such an awesome experience, sometimes the only thing adding sanity to my life.

So please, share as much (or as little) about the requested information above to help celebrate.

And if you’re on a mobile device while your children wrap themselves around your legs as they screech at the top of their lungs? You can at least hit “like” to let me know you stopped by. 🙂

Or tweet me your response.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fried by Tesla Coils and My One Year Blogoversary!

  1. Happy Blogoversary!! One year … wow. Congrats and I’m so glad you share your awesome style of chaos with us. I would love to throw my name in the hat to either write a guest post or have a guest post on Life from the Trenches! Why do I read your blog? Because I can SO relate. Also, I really love reading good writing. As someone new to the world of writing, I appreciate and learn from someone who writes consistently well. Oh, and my life is a tad crazy at the moment and I need to laugh frequently. Your blog provides me with much-needed hits of humor.

    Happy Day!
    Amy

    • I have never considered you new to the world of writing, my friend (and she who has been “pressed” not once, but twice). I love to read your words and find they often give me a great perspective.

      Also? I totally used you as an example of why will we not teach our son it is OK to pee by the road for at least several years when my husband (or maybe it was my friend) said, “Why not?”

      “Let me tell you about Molly…

  2. John says:

    I’ve been thinking about the “wordpress.org” move, myself . . . any chance you can post about the change?

    And there’s very good reason why my handwriting never appears online 🙂

    • I am currently having commenting technical difficulties.. Until then I thought it was going quite smooth..

      I’m certain I shall post about the move at some point – hopefully after the glitches are worked out.

      Then I get to try them all over again here. Maybe.

      I thought the handwriting comparison might be interesting, so I don’t leave you with only my 13 year old self’s handwriting. It’s changed a bit…. 🙂

  3. Hi! Happy Blogoversary!
    It must be so great to know that it has grown to what it is today and that you are embarking on making it bigger. Cudos to you.
    When I first started reading your blog it didnt take me long to know that I would so subscribe to it and be enjoying the posts coming my way. I can relate and it’s good to know that other moms have similar probs that I do.
    My blog is fairly young (only started in Feb 2011), but I’m finding it to be something I can be proud of. I would love to guest post or to have you come over for a guest post.
    I cant think of a particular post to list for you, but feel free to browse and comment where you feel like.
    Once again thanks for being awesome and for making new bloggers like myself get into the swing of things. 🙂

  4. Annie says:

    Happy Blogoversary! The wordpress.org change is exciting and it looks fabulous. I’m definitely going to have to do that eventually.
    My most recent WTFrak moment – Taz was scared to death of a $2 truck firework at home but clapped excitedly through 30 minutes of intense professional fireworks in the up close VIP section of viewing. WTFrak? Must have been the headphones I made him wear to protect his ears.
    Thanks for your friendship and support! You rock. 🙂

  5. Happy Blogoversary!

    1. I read you b/c you’re real and honest and human. And What the Frak makes me laugh. I love that you remain mostly positive, but aren’t afraid to tell it like it is, even when it’s not pretty.
    2. Best/wrost WT Frak = your trip to visit your parents and the luggage fiasco. I held my breath, I swear.
    3. Would love to have you guest post for me/ or me for you. Whichever. We’ll talk.
    4. Can you please write about your switch to wordpress? Am thinking of it myself, but feel overwhelmed, as I can’t even work blogger out properly. In the meanwhile, am there at: http://www.lifewithbellymonster.blogspot.com (There’s my plug. Read the PAGE marked, “Gentle Warrior, Gone)
    5. Coming here makes me happy: the day begins with dances and chaos. Perfect.

    Love,
    Belly

  6. Jonathan Mugan says:

    Happy anniversary for your blog (I can’t bring myself to say the word “blogoversary” for some reason). I just started on wordpress about a month ago. Going ok for me so far, but I had to pay them not to advertise on the site.

  7. Kristina says:

    Hey there gorgeous! I’ve been on WordPress all along so I’m not sure of techie stuff…I have my “techno-daddy” do all that since he got me started on here in the first place.

    I’m on my phone so this is an almost-lurk but just wanted to tell you that you are awesome!

  8. Okay – so I popped on for a quick peek and then saw this post – so now I MUST comment!

    Happy happy blogoversary!

    Oh my – I’ve been so very behind on blog reading…having the kids home from school for the summer is wonderful; but the thing is, they don’t want to be HOME.

    So I’m always off running them around to places (sometimes hanging there myself) like the beach and friends’ houses and other errands and it’s been great.

    But not conducive to keeping up with blog reading, commenting or (gasp) writing.

    Must catch up soon. But wanted to say, “Congratulations to you,” and that I will be back to answer questions and/or participate in the various ways you requested as befits a one-year Queen of the Blog.

    Dancing with Chaos, huh? It probably does feel weird. So did changing my last name. After being Julie Christianson for 27 years I was suddenly Julie Gardner just because I said, “I do.”

    But that weirdness only lasted about 48 hours and it was my lifelong surname.

    So. If you like Dancing with Chaos, go with it…it will feel like home in no time…
    probably.

  9. Happy Bloggy Anni! Can’t believe this baby’s only 1 year old. It feels like you’ve been blogging longer (that’s a compliment, by the way!).

    Love the new look. I think I’ll have to tread the .org move, but I’m scared.

    Yay for you and your fabulous words and photos!

  10. Elena Aitken says:

    Hey, happy blogaversary! (I don’t think I spelled that right) But hey…spelling’s not my thing.
    Anyway, congrats!
    Oh…and why haven’t you guest posted on the Wordbitches yet?
    What’s up with that?

    Congrats again on your amazing milestone. I love reading your blog although I SUCK at commenting. (Something to work on)

Leave a Reply

