Top 10 Highlights and Lowlights of Yesterday

Top 10 Highlights (and Lowlights) of Yesterday

1.   First time in two weeks neither of my children were sick (or slept in) and I finally made a daytime workout class.

2.   My daughter continued her recent pattern of “I don’t want (insert person who needs to leave) to vanish from my presence!” by sobbing the minute I pulled into the gym parking lot, refusing to cease until after I dropped her off at the child care center. You would have thought I was torturing the poor girl.

3.    My son was still in purple so I took both kids to the indoor pool where he swam, and dove for rings, while Lil Diva crab walked, jumped, and giggled.

4.   The pool delayed nap time and Lil Diva’s nap was further delayed by a diaper filling need, which then infused her with “crapping energy” where she insisted on climbing on my bed and attacking the pillows instead of sleeping.

5.  My son wore himself out with the pool and was relaxing on the couch like he wanted to nap. I tried to convince him to put on a pull-up and failed, but was successful getting him to move to his bed.

6.  BOTH CHILDREN NAPPED AT THE SAME TIME! I was able to write in miraculous silence.

7.  My son peed himself awake for the second time in a week (thankfully, no puking was involved).

8.  Lil Diva was still asleep thanks to her late nap. And the sheets were due for washing anyway. And I’d already invested in a water proof mattress pad. And I was just really happy it wasn’t the couch and will happily take any suggestions on how to train deep sleepers not to pee their pants….

9.  My son sponteneously performed a Stevie Wonder-like “dance” to Cher’s “If I Could Turn Back Time” while we were out eating dinner. Lil Diva naturally joined in, both of them dissolving me into a laughing pile of Mommy goo from the off-the-scale adorable factor.

10.  The beaming smiles on his face, every time I praised his good behavior, when he “danced”, and when he informed me he was good for Daddy at the grocery store and received cake and blueberry “ice cream” (it’s really frozen yogurt) – they all brought a smile to my face. It’s the one infectious thing I love about having children.

So… a great day – as is often the case when he stays in purple.

I’m loving the pool more and more, although it still freaks me out a bit to be the sole adult (plus lifeguard(s) responsible for two kids…

I am so glad I’m not where I was a year ago

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 Highlights and Lowlights of Yesterday

  1. Annie says:

    #9 is awesome. I’m dancing too. 🙂 And #6 – priceless!

    I feel your pain on the bed wetting thing. I have a 6-year-old who sleeps like the dead and will often wake up (well-rested) in a cold wet spot. We have some success if we get him up around midnight to use the bathroom, but that just stinks! Still, we do it from time to time. I’ve been told that he will eventually grow out of it. It’s more of a physical/genetic predisposition. What a PAIN! You are not alone, my friend.

  2. mypajamadays says:

    Both of my kids were late bed wetters. They will out grow it, and oddly, it will depend on when Dad stopped wetting the bed. (You can actually blame this one on him.) We limited their fluids two hours before bed and made the last drink cranberry juice believe it or not. It stimulates the bladder to flush itself out. The only thing that saved my sanity was a stack of waterproof pads that lay OVER the sheets. If they wet in the middle of the night it was a piece of cake to pull it off and put on a dry one. Here’s where we bought ours: http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6773&cmSource=Search

    Good luck!

  3. Kim says:

    I wish we still got “Crapping Energy” as we got older…

Leave a Reply

